We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Glad We Found It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carney's Tavern

Carney's Tavern
17 Main Street, Ballston Lake, NY 12019
518-952-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Carney's Tavern has reopened under new ownership. Rising Star Chef Michael Pallozzi invites you to see the renovations that were made to the historic building as well as the menu. Classic favorites such as French Onion soup, Veal Parmeasan as well Prime Rib specials. Surely there is something for everyone!
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So Glad We Found It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here for the first time this evening. (Saturday) What a pleasant surprise. My first impression as I walked in the door was an acoustical guitarist singing some ballads and a nicely decorated quaint old establishment. The food we ordered was delicious and our waitress was very friendly and efficient. The entire visit for dinner was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    10
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On a recent visit with my mom KW and I were treated to dinner at Carney's Tavern. A nice young man was playing the guitar in the bar and we sat in the historic dinning room. We started with mussels and shrimp cocktail. KW and I split the scallops which were cooked to perfection. Mom had the poor mans surf and turf without the surf. The service was impeccable, the food delicious and creative. I was particularly impressed with the attentive staff, they way they worked together and the Chef Mike Pallozzi coming around to each table to great guests and engage level of satisfaction. One table was curious about a special on the menu of a type of fish, the Chef brought out a chart to educate them as to where in Hawaii it came from. Very impressive, nice to know there's a great place to dine when I see mom!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant is fast becoming our Sunday night family restaurant. There is something on the menu to appeal to all three generations and the food is great. The chef has come out, on each of our visits, to chat. The homemade pasta is so good and the fried pickles are amazing.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great local place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had dinner on a Saturday night and really enjoyed our meals. The selections were great. Not just a pub menu. We were surprised by the upscale menu and they delivered!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carney's = Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great food, terrific bar staff, enjoyable music entertainment, fun place to hang out! Will return often!
I had the crab cake special a couple of times, delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carney's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Carney's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carney's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.