We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Mill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Mill Inn to your Saves list
The Red Mill Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Syracuse St, Baldwinsville, NY 13027   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed at the Red Mill Inn on Nov.9, 2007. What a quaint inn! The inn was converted in the last two years from a mill. All the rooms have a view of the waterway. Rooms were quaint and well appointed. We ran a few miles in the morning around the town of Baldwinsville and ate at the Locks 24 restaurant which is a five minute walk from Red Mill.

  • Liked — Water views. Quaintness.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

What a great little hotel! Check in fast and easy. They have a small room off the lobby where comfortable seating is available, a movie is playing, you have unlimited selection of free tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Free internet as well! The bathrooms near the lobby area are amazing.

I travelled with my mother and grandmother. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but we were able to freshen up and fill up on tea before we went shopping!

Rooms: Fantastic! Clean, very very spacious. Bathroom is excellent. Home-made soaps / shampoo / conditioner were provided - all excellent.

Free Breakfast: Excellent! Everything was fresh. Toast, bagels, other pastries, oatmeal, tea, coffee, water, OJ. Jams, butter, and cream cheese included.

Service: Very good! Staff were helpful and very pleasant.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

What a great place to stay. The rooms were very nice and at pricing that competes with local Hotels this was a very nice change of pace. I could watch the boats coming throught the canal in the morning. I am not sure why anyone would stay anywhere else if they have to stay in the B'ville or Fairgrounds area of Syracuse. Try it you will really like it.

  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We can't say enough good things about The Red Mill Inn! It is so unique. The beams that supported the old mill are still in place throughout the inn and add to its character. We were in the heat wave last week staying with my cousin in Baldwinsville. He lives in an historic home that is not air-conditioned. So we decided to give The Red Mill Inn a try and were shocked to find such a beautiful and accomodating hotel in this quaint village! As an added bonus, a continental breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our room looked right over the Seneca River. What a view! Absolutely wonderful place to stay!!!
If you are looking for a place to have lunch, walk across the street to The Canal Cafe. What a wonderful spot that is too! Dawn will fix you right up!

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the decor
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to negotiate a better price than the one on the internet
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Mill Inn

Address: 4 Syracuse St, Baldwinsville, NY 13027
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Baldwinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the Central New York area be sure to visit The Red Mill Inn, a historic facility featuring 32 guest rooms and event space for up to 150 people. The management and staff are committed to sharing a memorable lodging experience with our quests and providing top-of-the-line service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Red Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Mill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.