We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO MONKEY BUSINESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris
Save
You added Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   P.O. Box 550 | Maun, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“NO MONKEY BUSINESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Kwara camp set in the Delta offers a variety of game spotting, on land and from the water. The staff work tirelessly to ensure you see what you came for, the game. We were already in camp when word went out a leopard had been spotted. It was one of the best leopard sightings I have ever seen. The tented 'bungalows' are fabulously appointed and the bed 'dressed' in a variety of designs .... makes you smile even more when returning from a game drive. The outdoor shower is private as is the tented room. The guide was knowledgable, articulate and worked tirelessly to give us what we wanted. When our plane was delayed he immediately took us, unasked, on another drive ensuring that not a second of our time at Kwara was wasted. The chef produced delicious meals for the gluten, dairy, nut and meat free guests. Nothing was too much trouble. By the way, the local baboons can open the sliding doors to the rooms - best keep them locked.

Room Tip: All are private, well appointed and fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kwara offers a first class safari experience, on the assumption you want lions, cheetah kills, much tracking and off road driving..... in other words, a brilliant Wild Africa experience! If you are more interested in the vintage of the dinner wines and make of the china, pay twice as much and go elsewhere. The Camp itself is super, traditional and large tents, with great views, across hippos, elephants etc. the food , staff and especially the Guides and a real asset, Trackers are superb. Botswana is however not Florida or the South of France....if your only concern is luxury rooms and silver service go to the Tarmac of Kruger or to a camp in Botswana that maximises the camp at the expense of the safari experience....feel free to rush back for wine tasting if you want... I go to Botswana for the best safari experience in Africa.

Room Tip: Just remember the camp is open to all visitors, including hippo and elephant visitors! If nervous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my second stop on a 10-day / 3-lodge safari, and I spent two nights at Kwara Camp. This camp belongs to Kwando, who own several other properties around Botswana and aim to offer an authentic bush experience with a big focus on game viewing, which is why their vehicles have no rooftop canopy and there is a tracker in the vehicle (seated on the hood), in addition to the guide.

In total I had six game drives and the wildlife sightings were high in quality but very low in quantity.

During one night drive, we had a once in a lifetime sighting of three young lions playing around with a curled-up pangolin, which eventually disappeared into the night. Even my guide (Alex) said this was only the second time in his life he saw a wild pangolin, and the first time was in 2008!

We also had a great sighting of a male lion resting one evening, and got up close without bothering the animal at all. A hyena was also seen during one of the night drives.

For the rest sightings were rather disappointing. We tracked the three male resident cheetahs for hours several times but never saw them. Also, no sign of a leopard near or far. I did not see any wild dogs while I was at Kwara, but a group that stayed one more day and who I met again at Lebala Camp reported that they saw a big pack of wild dogs the day after I left, and even followed them as they tried hunting impala.

To my great surprise, even the more common game was present in far fewer numbers at Kwara than at my other two camps (Sango and Lebala). But please consider that I only stayed for two nights, these are free roaming animals and I was just probably unlucky, because this area is renown for excellent wildlife. But as always, luck plays a huge part in what you will, or will not, see.

The camp itself is nice, located right by the river (great views from the main area, observation deck and the tents). The tents are spacious, nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom is also appropriate for a safari, and the outdoor shower was great. My only complaint would be the actual tents, which are quite old and it shows. Not that this bothered me in particular, but at the prices you pay, you can expect better tents. For your reference, I think I paid exactly the same price at another Kwando property (Lebala) where the tent was of a much higher standard.

Food was always good and plentiful, with a simple breakfast served before the morning drive and more elaborate buffet lunches and dinners later in the evening.

Hospitality at Kwara is 5 stars, everyone I encountered was great from the camp manger to the ladies who clean the rooms. A big shout out also goes to my guide Alex and the tracker Master – they really worked very hard to get the best sightings for us and the fact that we didn’t see much is certainly not their fault. If we did not see many animals, it probably means they had just moved to much more remote areas of the reserve while I was visiting.

I booked this safari through Safari Specialists (Botswana) and made two more stops, namely at Sango Safari Camp and Lebala Camp. You can read those reviews too here on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a holiday in Botswana and Zambia one of the camps we visited was Kwara in the Kwando Concession. There are eight tents. The food was extremely good considering the remoteness of this camp (reached by its own airstrip) The guides and spotters were excellent. The Camp Manager was thoughtful in the extreme. The camp hostess was really attentive. Each time you go out on a game drive, the camp hostess is waiting to greet you back again, by magic (probably the radio from the car) We saw lions, cheetahs, many elephants, giraffes, zebras, hyenas, jackals, a pack of wild dogs and a myriad other wildlife. We were soon in the routine of early first breakfast round the camp fire at 6am, 2nd breakfast during the game drive, lunch at the camp, mid afternoon food at the camp, afternoon game drive until 8 or 8.30pm which included sundowners and marvelling at the stars in the southern sky, dinner on return and bed at 9.15/9.30pm.

Room Tip: Tent No, 8 known as the honeymoon tent has a bath in the bathroom as well as a shower. The en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Where to begin..... All needs taken care of, room beautifully laid out elephant, impala and hippo outside your door. Great guides, great sundowners, all the staff polite and friendly. Masses of the big five, the birds are out of this world!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed three nights at Kwara and enjoyed all the activities on offer. The tent was very comfortable although we had a few minor issues with the hot water . The problems were, however, sorted out promptly. The only criticism of our tent was that there was very little shade over it compared to the others and as a consequence during the hot afternoons we were unable to rest due to the heat. We had a great guide,Master and a great tracker, Master. They got a long well and were extremely knowledgeable and interesting. A lot of laughs were had by all in our vehicle. We particularly enjoyed the afternoon boat cruise and the mokoro outing followed by a walking safari. A highlight was seeing four male lions at very close range and we were lucky to see a varied range of animals. There was plenty of good quality food and lovely camp staff to look after our every need.Not total luxury but an overall exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a tent with shade during the hot months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ever sit ten feet away from five male lions on a dark starry night and hear them roar? It is a part of out trip I will never forget. My heart was pounding several times during our time at Kwara Camp. The camp staff was great the sightings were outstanding. The Delta creates a lush green setting which was not what we were used to during our 3 week trip. We were close enough to see the water drip from the lions as they took a drink! Master and KB were a great trackers and guides. We had many upclose experiences with lions, elephants, and of course the resident hippos. One evening we had an airboat ride to watch the sun set while we watched thousands of birds land on a local island. We also had a canoe ride while we were poled passed the hippo in the laggon. The walk with Master to see the termite hills upclose was a great extra of the trip. We loved this place! The tents were comfortable, and the staff was very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris

Address: P.O. Box 550 | Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris Hotel Okavango Delta
Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwara Camp - Kwando Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.