We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will always remember pom pom fondly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pom Pom Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pom Pom Camp
Save
You added Pom Pom Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“will always remember pom pom fondly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Where do we start? Upon arrival we were greeted by MAX who we instantly befriended. He drove us through the bush across the makeshift wooden bridge where we were greeted with a song and a tour of the facilities. We were in the family tent which is only a tent by definition (because it has canvas walls) it was lovely. It has a toilet and bathroom, separate room for the kids and is situated right next to the hippo lagoon. We enjoyed the communal atmosphere sharing meals with the other guests and going out on safari, we met some lovely people. The mokoro (dug out canoes) trip across the lagoon was peaceful and and gave us a hippo's eye view of the delta and what is has to offer. All safari's were well worth it, we saw so many different animals we couldn't remember them all. Our guides were very knowledgable and some of the most kind and friendly people we had ever met. We didn't want to leave. The food is really good and there is lots of it. They always made sure that we didn't go without, even on safari, we would always stop for a cup of tea and a snack. We always felt safe there even though it is not a fenced camp. The staff always keep and eye on you and walked us to out tents in the evenings. Our teenage boys loved every minute of Pom Pom and really got a true appreciation for the African bush and its people. We would highly recommend this to anyone, it is the most beautiful place on earth.

Room Tip: they are all good - don't panic when you hear animals outside in the night. Enjoy the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    24
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
78
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bavel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

everything was fantastic: very warm welcome, surroundings, tents with the hippo sound at night, dining area and dinner together with staff and guides, game drives, mokoro. Just go and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our excellent guides, Max and Titus, made our 3-day stay at Pom Pom in June 2011, a once-in-a-lifetime treasure for our family of three. They were knowledgeable, courteous, open, fun, and anxious to share their beautiful country and its bounty with us. We saw every animal possible and even had some adventures. Max's tracking and ultimate sighting of two male lions walking majestically through the yellow grass--one on each side of our vehicle--is something we will never ever forget. We loved the tents along the lagoon, listening to the sounds of hippos chomping on the grasses in the night and monkeys playing in the trees during the afternoon quiet times. We were certainly well-fed: an early light breakfast with the other guests (about 12 of them), then tea (red bush tea for me!) and muffins mid-morning on the game drive or mokoro ride, large late-morning brunch, high tea at 3:30, sundowners and snacks to celebrate the always-spectacular Botswana sunset on the evening game drive, and then a lovely dinner at the long dinner table with all the guests and a few guides, followed by drinks and stories around the fire pit. Perfection. I think often of this special place and these special people. I wouldn't change a thing, and I'd go back in a minute if I could.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is an outstanding place to watch game. Our guide, Partner was so good, everything we said we'd like to see he delivered! The main camp building catches what little breeze there is and overlooks a lagoon complete with hippos and bell frogs which provide the soundtrack to your stay.
The food is really excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful.
The tents are a little past their best, but the beds were excellent and the outside shower really pleasant after a hot game drive.
We loved it and had perhaps the best views of Leopard we've ever seen (our 10th safari holiday)
Brian and his team do a great job.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The tents were just that, tents on concrete slabs. We had the luxury of encountering a family of spiders in the curtains/skirts of my bed. The zippers were kaput.
Next to my tent was an electric device, making lot of noise at night. I switched it off. During the game drive the vehicle broke down. Next vehicle had the wrong suspension, made loud cracking noises, chasing the animals away. The engine of one of the boats broke down. People floated against a group of hippos. The propeller of our boat could not cope with the reed. Every 10 min. the ranger had to stop, he had to remove the reed.
680 dollars per person/per night
Over priced, I think.
Food was good.
Sundowners were beautiful
there must be better camps in the delta.
Regards
Schliek.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The delta just before the rains come in abundance... water levels quite low, but we were able to have a mix of mokoro trips with the 4x4 drives. The camp is right in the middle of the delta with elephants and hippo wandering through in the night - a little unnerving, but so different to UK. You aren't allowed to walk back to your tents alone.... just in case (but there are places in London you wouldn't wander round on your own - it's just sensible precautions. The camp is traditional - no fans in the tents, which can make the nights warm - but all the team work hard to make your stay informative and very welcoming. The guides are great - Partner in particular, but Titus too, so much knowledge. The animals aren't there on a plate, so you do have to track them down and Partner delivered - leopards and lions, plus alot more! A great African experience!
The communal meals are very interesting as we swapped stories over some really good food - plentiful, tasty and varied - shame about the diet!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Pom Pom is the most exceptional and beautiful camp. Staff and guides are totally professional, educational and enthusiastic about the country and wildlife. Guides and trackers never failed to deliver - lion, leopard, cheetah, elephant and much much more. My first safari - there I was standing in the middle of Africa, drinking wine, watching the most amazing sunset whilst standing in elephant dung. An absolutely surreal moment. Camp Manager Brian was extremely attentive and always there, willing to entertain and chat. I would not hesitate to recommend Pom Pom to anyone looking for a small, intimate tented camp and the most wonderful African experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pom Pom Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pom Pom Camp

Address: Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pom Pom Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pom Pom Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Pom Pom Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pom Pom Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.