We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The frosting on the cake of a great 3 week vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Okavango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Okavango
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Nxaragha Island, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The frosting on the cake of a great 3 week vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After spending three weeks in Africa, Camp Okavango was our last stop; we kept saying how glad we were that it was our last, because had it been our first nothing else would have measured up. The staff was so welcoming, Loveness, Wamee, Action, John, Hannah...everyone went above and beyond any expectations we had. "Welcome to the minibar" is a moment I will never forget (I won't go into detail as I don't want to spoil the surprise for future guests). The food was fabulous, the walking safaris were exciting and refreshing after so many others on safari wagons. The canoe rides were so relaxing and beautiful, the birds amazing. There were so many delightful surprises that I don't want to mention...because everyone who goes will enjoy those memorable moments. Thank you to all !!!!

Room Tip: We were close to the lodge which was very convenient, but if you are on a honeymoon be certain to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

From the moment we were handed chilled face cloths as we got off the plane we could not have asked for a better experience. They met my special Gluten Free diet needs with delicious food at every meal. The combination of a boat tour, mokoro tour and walking safari allowed us to see and experience the delta in almost every way possible which provided for varied wildlife sightings, which were plentiful. The staff could not have been more attentive. On the boat ride to the island for our walking safari my boyfriend commented that he loved to fish. When we took the motor boat out later that day our guide Obed had fishing poles and bait waiting for us. The cook cleaned and prepared our catch for evening supper. Don’t miss the gift shop where much of the merchandise is made by the camp staff and very beautiful-I picked up some baskets for myself and bracelets as souvenirs for friends back home. This was the only camp we stayed at on our 2 week safari that also had live entertainment where the staff performed traditional songs and dances which really made us appreciate the culture and not just the animals we came to see. About 1 week after we arrived home we received a hand written post card from our guides and hosts wishing us well. That is the special kind of attention you will receive at Camp Okavango.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite---it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We took our good friends' advice, knowing they had done a lot of research, and followed in their footsteps to Camp Okavango. The walking safaris were wonderful and Moffett, our guide, was, we thought, absolutely brilliant. Knew the name of every bird and looked after us so well. Just being out on the river is a unique experience, and the daily sundowner drinks on the boat or an island just add to the magic. Food, service and accommodation are all first class. We loved every moment of Camp Okavango including the flights in and out of Maun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the Okavango Suite which was absolutely gorgeous, private, and extremely spacious – perfect choice for honeymooners or couples celebrating a special occasion. Flower petals adorned the large 4-poster bed, and we were given a lovely bottle of wine and a nice hand-written card congratulating us on our anniversary.

The camp is well set out with evening drinks around the campfire, and wonderful choral entertainment by the staff. Food is well cooked, tasty, and plentiful.

The Okavango Delta is a wetland in the Kalahari, and excursions into the lagoons by both motorboat and canoes reveal exotic birds, crocs, hippos, butterflies. The nature walk took us over plains, grasslands, and the wonderfully uncanny experience of tracking through reeds which towered over us, and seemingly stretched for miles.

Room Tip: The luxury tents are top class - but the Okavango Suite is really amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff, as everywhere in southern Africa, was very friendly and helpful. Food and accommodations were very good.

The Okavango Delta has some of the most beautiful sunsets in Africa.
Our trip by mokoro (canoe) was interesting with hundreds water lilies in different colors. We observed one of the younger elephants being chastised by its elders for not letting the giraffes drink from the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed with some friends at Camp Okavango on 29-30 September 2013. It was a great experience as we were there on the 30th, Botswana Independence day. Which meant we shared in the celebrations with the staff and they were all very proud of their country. There was so much joy & happiness, during our stay and one can see why the camp was awarded the "best Camp Choir award". It was a different safari experience, as it was on water (on a mokoro & outboard boat) and 1 foot safari. The sun-downer drinks on the water was magical. The Okavango Delta is a very powerful waterway and the strength of the currents are owe some, even at the end of the dry season. This is a different safari experience, but well worth it. The tented accommodation was good. John Jr. & Lydia the camp managers and all the staff must be congratulated for a job well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent number 10, which had a bush and water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Camp Okavango. Your comments regarding our staff in particular are deeply appreciated. This always goes a long way in ensuring that they are motivated and caring towards our valued guests.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Independence Day celebrations with us. As Batswana, we are incredibly proud of our country and our nation and being able to share that pride with you was a real pleasure.

We hope one day you will return to experience more of what the Okavango Delta has to offer and hopefully, in doing so, we will be able to welcome you back to Camp Okavango again.

With kindest regards - John, Lydia and the Camp O team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friends and I had a two night stay at Camp Okavango 9-10 September 2013. What a fantastic experience. We could not fault the accommodation, food and hospitality. A great place to stay with beautiful staff and different activities to what we experienced previously throughout Africa. Make sure when you do the canoe activity that you have your sun-downer drinks standing in the water not sitting in the canoe - really special !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Alison K

Many thanks for your very kind review of Camp Okavango. We appreciate so much that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the memories of the Okavango Delta and more specifically, Camp Okavango, will stay with you forever.

We hope that the opportunity will arise again where we can welcome you back for sundowners in the Okavango Delta.......standing!!

Kindest regards - Action, John, Lydia and the entire team at Camp Okavango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp Okavango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Okavango

Address: Nxaragha Island, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Specialty lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Okavango 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Okavango, due to its very unique location in the heart of the Okavango Delta, is one of the very few properties which can truly offer an authentic Okavango Delta water wilderness experience to prospective visitors. Camp Okavango is a stalwart of Botswana and Okavango Delta safari tradition. Camp Okavango is located on Nxaragha Island, which is surrounded by water all year round. This is a permanent water camp and the ideal location from which guests who truly want to experience the real Okavango Delta can do so. Accommodation is in classic tented rooms, all raised on teak decks above the ground and with en-suite bathrooms. There are 11 standard tented rooms and for those who demand a bit more in luxury and exclusivity, the Okavango Suite can also be booked. Activities are all guided and take the form of boat cruises, mokoro excursions and guided walking safaris on the network of islands within this incredible water ecosystem. Camp Okavango has its own airstrip and can easily be linked to a network of other safari properties by means of light aircraft transfers. Camp Okavango is Managed and staffed by an enthusiastic team of Botswana citizens, some of whom have been at Camp Okavango for more than 32 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Okavango Hotel Okavango Delta
Camp Okavango Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Okavango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camp Okavango to your Saves list