We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Okavango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Okavango
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Nxaragha Island, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Midlands UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We travelled here from Chobe having encountered great herds of animals and we were glad to have been there first as wildlife was not as plentiful here.
We were warmly greeted on our arrival at the grass airstrip and the Camp was beautiful, green and lush.
Accommodation is in tents which are beautifully equipped and extremely comfortable. We could hear the hippos at night and had a genet climbing on our roof at night but never felt threatened by anything!
Our first afternoon was taken up with a traditional mokoro canoe ride which was really relaxing and this is when we met Toffee our Guide who was great - very knowledgeable and welcoming. He was to be our Guide for the rest of our stay and found us elephants when on our walking safari as well as an injured Kudu. Apart from crocodiles and baboons in the camp we saw little else. There were birds of all shapes and sizes too.
Even though we did not see much we left Camp Okavango feeling very relaxed and well looked after by Robin, Mona, John Jr, Loveness, IT and the team.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

On arrival at Camp O it was like being in a tropical garden, it was so peaceful and green. Set right on the water you had the most amazing views.
You do not come to Camp O to see the big 5, you come to take mekoro trips along the Delta channels and walk in the bush. I saw lots of wildlife including hippos, crocodiles, warthogs, various buck and lots and lots of birds. The guides here were so amazing and I had so much fun. It was so relaxing being at Camp O and you get to really experience the beauty of the area and it is a welcome break from game drives. Camp O is best combined with a “dry” camp so you can do game drives as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Horo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at Camp Okavango. We flew in from Kasane and met at the sand airstrip by John Senior, a guide who has been there since the camp started in the 1980's. We met the whole staff and were taken to our tent room built on a teak platform with ensuite bathroom. The beds were beautifully made up, and mosquiot nest hung above them. There was a private deck overlooking trees and shrubs, and there were hyenas in the night! Guests are picked up by their guides from their rooms at night for dinner and returned later, and the(large) animal tracks each morning explained why. Food was very good and served buffet style. Drinks are part of the tarrif and were perfectly adequate. After dinner it is fire place at the boma for chats and nightcaps. sundowners are served each afternoon with a tipple of your choice.
The point of difference at this camp is that the safaris are on foot, after a short boat ride to an island. John is an outstanding guide in this regard. We can now distinguish all kinds of poo from all kinds of animals and also their tracks. On our walks we saw giraffes, elephants, warthogs, antelope, impalla and a zillion birds. Exhilarating. We were tried every night and happy to get up ini the chilling cold each morning for more adventure. John Junior, Mona and their crew were fantastic hosts. This place has history and class.

Room Tip: Charge your camera up during the day. Power goes off around ten leaving battery power.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and me did enjoy the friendliness of the staff and the great choir they have . Not many wild animals, It's not the best place to stay if you want to see Lions/predators. Definitely a good place instead if you want to spend a fee days in absolute relax

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Not the most exciting or best quality camp option in Bostwana but a great staff that are friendly.
While not a spot for seeing big game it does offer a relaxing trip on the delta by canoe and chance to walk . The camp is really in need of a refurbishment in the rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the whole experience, mokoro trip (with midges), really enjoyed the two walking safaris and got quite close to elephants etc. Our guides were excellent, very knowledgable and friendly. The tented accommodation was very good and great food - saw lots of wonderful birdlife in and around the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I've written reviews of the other two camps I visited, Savute Safari Lodge and Laroo La Tau, but when it comes to Camp O. some additional perspective is necessary. It is the home of John Carter, a Bayai (northern Botswana) tribal elder, a living legend who has trained more trackers and guides than anyone else in Southern Africa. Born and raised on Muji island, nearby Nxaragha Island and Camp O., John Carter as a young man polled a makoro (that now hangs above the rafters in the dining lodge) for six days each way to get sick children to the nearest doctor, in Maun. When Queen Moremi of the Bayai tribe finally decided to turn the Bayai tribal lands over to the government for an animal refuge and park in return for a hospital, a school and housing for the tribe, it was John Carter who worked with the California millionairess who obtained the concession from the Botswana government to create Camp O. So he was present before the beginning, at the beginning, and his proteges continue as guides and trackers for the nexy generation. Priority #1: Try to meet John. Priority #2: Meet Robin and Mona, the British and Dutch, respectively, co-managers of Camp O., and two of the most delightful and just plain good people on this earth. Priority #3: Meet and at all times stay close to Toffee. Toffee is not even from Botswana; he's from Namibia. He has a sense of humor that just will not quit. Yes, he's highly knowledgeable about flora and fauna. Yes, he's a great guide. But if you want to smile about life, laugh at fate, and see beauty in everything, stay close to Toffee. Finally, Priority #4: Get to know Obid. Get to know what is truly important to him. It will take patience and work. Do it. Obid is bright, articulate, and antithetical to John Carter's 20th century view of Africa. Obid is the 21st century view. Obid is why Africa, not China, is the future.
PS: Yes, there are animals and birds and beautiful bayous. But that's not what Camp O. is about. Camp O. is about you. And Africa. Joseph Harned, Miramar Beach, Florida

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp Okavango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Okavango

Address: Nxaragha Island, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Specialty lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Okavango 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Okavango, due to its very unique location in the heart of the Okavango Delta, is one of the very few properties which can truly offer an authentic Okavango Delta water wilderness experience to prospective visitors. Camp Okavango is a stalwart of Botswana and Okavango Delta safari tradition. Camp Okavango is located on Nxaragha Island, which is surrounded by water all year round. This is a permanent water camp and the ideal location from which guests who truly want to experience the real Okavango Delta can do so. Accommodation is in classic tented rooms, all raised on teak decks above the ground and with en-suite bathrooms. There are 11 standard tented rooms and for those who demand a bit more in luxury and exclusivity, the Okavango Suite can also be booked. Activities are all guided and take the form of boat cruises, mokoro excursions and guided walking safaris on the network of islands within this incredible water ecosystem. Camp Okavango has its own airstrip and can easily be linked to a network of other safari properties by means of light aircraft transfers. Camp Okavango is Managed and staffed by an enthusiastic team of Botswana citizens, some of whom have been at Camp Okavango for more than 32 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Okavango Hotel Okavango Delta
Camp Okavango Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Okavango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camp Okavango to your Saves list