We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selinda Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selinda Camp
Save
You added Selinda Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Selinda Spillway | Selinda Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Selinda camp was by far our favourite camp that we stayed in Africa. Everything was excellent, the rooms/tents, the food and the guiding was perfect (Donald). Excellent rooms - all a view over the wetlands, with every facility you could want. Food was great - much of it cooked on the open fire. The guiding was superb - vehicles were comfortable and Donald was very good at understanding what we wanted to see...whether it was sitting with sundowner drinks watching hippos fighting in a waterhole as the sun set, or chasing wild dogs as fast as the vehicle could negotiate the scrub as the killed an impala. Only regret was that we didn't book for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having traveled extensively in Africa, and having already been on a number of other safaris in Botswana, South Africa, Malawi, Zimbabwe, and Tanzania, I arrived at Selinda already a tad spoiled. But this place--Selinda Camp--is in a category of its own, and a world of its own. No other camp will drop you so deeply into the heart of the bush while providing such comfort, peace, and relaxation. I was utterly astounded by the richness and diversity of wildlife, from big game like lions and elephants and leopards, to a spectacle of birds and flowers. The food is all-natural, and fits the whole feel of the place, which is a woody, rustic tribute to the safari camps of old, but with this truly understated grandeur. Remarkable staff make you feel like you're sharing this experience of a lifetime with family, and all too soon, this marvelous bit of Botswana becomes a part of you. Don't waste your time and money on Kruger or the Serengeti. Honestly, Selinda Camp is the biggest bang for your buck anywhere on the continent.

Room Tip: If you get a chance to stay in one of the tented camps, DO IT! Far more authentic and puts you right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This camp was luxurious, nice accommodation, food, game drives and really friendly staff!!
Our guide was the best!! (Dicks!!) This was my favorite place on this holiday, i will remember this place the rest of my life!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our favourite camp. The right side of luxurious without being over the top. The view from our tent was utterly breathtaking. The management team, especially Lizzie and Dave, were very friendly and welcoming. The food was of a phenomenally high standard, as was the guiding. Koop, our guide, worked very hard and helped us to experience some terrific wildlife viewing.

For example, on our final morning we watched dogs with pups, hyenas fighting over a carcass, three buffalo crossing the spillway, a leopard eating a buffalo calf and also found a leopard up a tree.

A delightful experience, we cannot recommend this camp more highly and I strongly suspect that one day we will return, which is unusual for us as we never go to the same country twice let alone the same location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent three days at Selinda Camp. The team at Selinda and our guide Cubs made our stay unforgetable. The accomodation, the games drives, our private dinner were simply superb, food and wine were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the warm and friendly welcome of the Selinda team. The highlight of our stay was the boat trip with the sundowner near the hippos and the elephat herd. We highly recommend Selinda! Birgit and Chris

Room Tip: You have a great view form tent no. 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We - my wife and I - have spent two days (1 and 2.10.2013) in Selinda Camp, part of a journey for our 40 th marriage anniversary. These two days were outstanding for the very personal and friendly welcome, the quality of the accomodations, the splendid food and wines (I remember a superb Pinotage 2008 served at dinner in the wine cellar), the magnificient surroundings and the abundant fauna, presented by an excellent guide (Donald). We felt all over our stay as if we were good old friends in a friends' home. Four nights would have been more appropriate!

Eric and Catherine Deckers
Belgium

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Africa and Botswana are amazing, but the Guides really make the difference on these camp visits. As mentioned by other, Dicks and Mots, who we went out, did a superb job of getting to observe the balance of nature. With tracking expertise and intuition, we were able to see many of the animals in their habitat, fleeing or chasing as their nature, on each of our outings. All the while with fine accommodations and excellent food and wine, we came home each night with stories we are still retelling. All of our Botswana site were very good, but this one stands out for its experience and richness.

Room Tip: Tents one and two are apart from the others and a little more private, but all are set up equally in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selinda Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selinda Camp

Address: Selinda Spillway | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Selinda Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selinda Camp looks out onto the Selinda Spillway, a unique seasonal waterway that links the Okavango Delta with the wildlife-rich floodplains of the Linyanti marshes. Selinda Camp's nine spacious tents (including a family unit) are tucked away into the natural vegetation with wonderful views of palm-studded floodplains. Each tent has an en-suite bathroom and veranda. The main area is attractive, cool and under thatch and comprises dining, lounge and bar areas with spectacular views. Set apart from the main area is the photo and art gallery next to the camp's 500-bottle wine cellar, open-air deck, plunge pool and traditional campfire area. The Selinda Spillway winds its way through the Selinda Reserve and forms a magnet for the wildlife of the region. The area is thus an all-year-round wildlife viewing destination with large concentrations of elephant, buffalo, antelope, lechwe, giraffe, zebra, kudu, cheetah, wild dog, lion and leopard, with excellent birding of over 300 species in both the marshes and the dry country. Morning and afternoon-into-night game drives in custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers with Guided nature walks, boating and seasonal fly-fishing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selinda Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Selinda Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selinda Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.