We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chitabe camp, September 2013, 3 nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chitabe Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitabe Camp
Save
You added Chitabe Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Bordering Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Chitabe camp, September 2013, 3 nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrive at Chitabe hearing the traditional welcome song, while to my left and too close for comfort was an elephant munching on some leaves. Our room was very comfortable, the farthest one from the lodge. From the veranda we were sorrounded by nature. Some hornbills were pecking at the window, seen tehir own reflexion and trying to start a fight. Every noon, a band of baboons decided to make the roof of our tent their playground and I filmed the canvas shaking under the onslaught of mainly very young baboons sliding on the sides. There were some high openings covered in chicken wire for ventilation close to the roof, and sometimes one of them would perch there and look at us inside wondering. There was an elephant that roamed at night, we could hear the crunching of leaves so near, and sometimes if he got too close, the tent would shake a little, but we never worried. Our guide Phinley, was superb. As I was very interested in photography, and carrying 4 cameras with lenses frfom 24-70 to 500mm he always managed to place the vehicle so the light and the shot were great. I wanted very badly to see leopards, as in myh previous visit to Tanzania I aonly caught a glimpse of one. Rather late one evening we heard one had been sighted, a mother with 2 cubs, and we headed for the area. Only a certain number of vehicles are allowed on one site so there were already 3 vehicles, with I believe is the max. Courtesy imposes to the first vehicle that arrived to retire and be replaced by ours, and we got to take a number of pictures with flash. But Phinley agreed to start very early the next day, and we located in the general area the mother and cubs with the breaking light. We were alone and got to take great pictures including one of the cubs eating from a kill that was carefully hidden in the vegetation. The food was excellent, the staff extremely friendly. We saw an incredible variety fo wildlife. I am enclosing a picture of an elephand brosing outside my tent.
Great experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Chitabe. Phinley is indeed, “superb”. He is such a knowledgeable and experienced guide and has been with Chitabe for 15 years. We are happy that you were able to get great sightings of leopards and no doubt some great photographs as well.
Kind regards, the Chitabe Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall a beautiful camp in a great location. Staff was very good although the camp manager was not as visible relative to other Wilderness Safari camps we have visited. Thought breakfast was a bit weak on selection rest of meals very good. We had one room issue, the shower drain did not drain adequately and water goes on to wooden floor. We pointed this out to the camp staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Duma Tau and Little Vumbura before spending two nights at Chitabe. I found the other two properties to be more luxurious and had better food, and the service was definitely much better at the other two camps. However, I am still giving Chitabe five-stars because the animal viewing was just amazing and I wouldn't have wanted to miss Chitabe. Upon our arrival, we saw a pride of lions on our way from the airstrip to camp. We also saw: a cheetah on the hunt, a porcupine, a lion eating a buffalo, leopard, hippos, two very curious hyaena pups etc... There was an elephant hanging out right next to the dining room. We were in Africa to see wildlife and the animal viewing at Chitabe was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Terrific camp with comfortable accommodations and attentive staff. We saw an incredible amount of wildlife. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful and the food, fabulous! Great cooking! Clean rooms and we had a nice view of the landscape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at three different lodges around the Okavango Delta and Chitabe was my all around favorite. The scenery in this area isn't the best, but who cares when you are looking at all the wildlife! We saw just about everything we wanted to see except a cheetah, and even then, we were close - we tracked one for many hours but couldn't find it. When it comes to game viewing, Chitabe set the bar high for our other camps. The staff were all very friendly and eager to help. We thoroughly enjoyed the traditional Botswana dance and meal around the fire. I would (and have) recommend Chitabe Camp to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Africa & Botswana. The first camp we stayed in was Chitabe in the Moremi Reserve. The camp is beautiful with 8 tents which are very private. Rooms are spacious, well-appointed. and very private so you can make good use of the outdoor shower--just be careful with the baboons! The staff is very friendly and our guide (Anton) was super!! Food is delicious! We have nothing but praise for this camp. The game drives were outstanding; we stayed for 3 nights and every game drive was filled with new sights. This was a great start to our trip. Would definitely return to this camp!

Room Tip: All tents are beautiful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup, GA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our entire experience at Chitabe was first-class. Our guide, Ots, worked so hard, and the wildlife we were able to see in a few short days was unbelievable. The physical camp is beautiful....very clean & the staff was all very welcoming and helpful. A spectacular lunch in the bush was so special and such a great surprise for us. The coordination between Wilderness Safari Camps was so appreciated. We never lost any time in our transfers, with both morning & evening game drives daily. It worked like a finely tuned machine!! Thanks to all the people who keep this amazing camp running....you really know your stuff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chitabe Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitabe Camp

Address: Bordering Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chitabe Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The archetypal Okavango game-viewing destination. Raised on decks on a beautiful tree island in the south-east of the Okavango, Chitabe Camp looks out across a Delta floodplain that is transformed during winter from dry rushes to lush oasis, one of only a few distinct habitats in this diverse concession. Back in camp, the thatched dining and lounge area provide beautiful views, while each tent exudes its own personality, aided by superb fine art wildlife photographs. A pool provides cool sanctuary in the heat of the day. Highlights On this classic safari experience, game drives take in the different habitats - the variety of these ensures that there is an equal diversity of wildlife, including big game such as elephant and buffalo, but also a range of plains game species like wildebeest, tsessebe and lechwe in numbers that support healthy lion, leopard and hyaena numbers, as well as regular visits by wild dog and cheetah. The camp is composed 8 Tents: Spacious en-suite Meru-type tents, individually styled; outdoor shower; double vanity basins. Experiences include: Day and night game drives • Guided walks (on request) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitabe Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Chitabe Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chitabe Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.