We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Stanley's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Save
You added Sanctuary Stanley's Camp to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   NG32 Game Reserve, Okavango Delta, Botswana, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Four of us stayed for four nights at this lovely Okavango camp, which is set in an amazing area that is one moment desert, the next, swamp. We were welcomed by singing staff members, and it set the tone for what was to come. The game viewing was excellent, and all kinds of animals strolled through the camp. One night we were surrounded by elephants, breaking down trees around our tent and harrumphing. I spent a morning "Living with Elephants", which was a wonderful experience. I have a great video of being kissed by a very affectionate elephant!
The manager, guides and staff were all knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers are furthest from the main lodge. Not a problem if you don't mind a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for is great review!

We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at Stanley's Camp, our staff were very pleased with your comments.

Thank you for your recommendation - this is very much appreciated and we do hope you return one day for the fabulous game viewing as well as another kiss from an affectionate elephant.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Stanley's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
43
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Stanley's camp in October and has the most amazing time. While the tents are not huge in size they are very comfortable and in the most amazing setting. What makes your stay at Stanley's so memorable is the attention to detail - lovely touches in the room like a local story about the animals left on your bedside table each night, coffee beans laid out in beautiful patterns on the bed each day, things like that. The food is excellent and the staff just wonderful - they can't do enough for you. Our guide, On, was a real gentle giant of a man who could sniff out game! We saw lions - male, female and cubs - leopards, elephants, buffalo, giraffes, zebras, all kinds of deer, a python one day, and much, much more. Each morning a table was set out in the bush for morning coffee and each evening for sundowners. Sheer bliss. The only disappointment was the lunch box we were given. It contained the driest bread and smallest piece of cheese I've ever had in a sandwich - what a shame when everything else was so wonderful.

Room Tip: All are wonderful but if I was pushed probably not too close to the lodge house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had such an amazing time at Sanctuary Stanley’s camp and thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. On was very happy that you had such a great game viewing experience and that you appreciated he’s efforts.

A shame indeed and terribly sorry about the packed lunch, this is not acceptable and has been taken up with management to rectify immediately.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again one day soon.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine ca
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been to Africa twice and stayed in many camps. So we feel able to review Stanley objectively. We would never go back. The tent was okay but the hygiene was not. Some of the staff was noticeably not clean from their smell. We never experienced this. I got food poisoning and threw up for two days. We know exactly when and how I got it. Our guide did not really try to speak to us and we spotted more animals than he did. At all the other camps we got tons of information about flora and fauna, not here. Although the management was very friendly we feel they are either too young or too inexperienced to run the lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Erica,

We are extremely sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at Sanctuary Stanley’s Camp.

We take your concerns very seriously and this will be taken up with Management and addressed accordingly. Our aim is to delight our guests and your experience is not representative of the standards we set ourselves in looking after our guests, past feedback from guests and reviews on Tripadvisor are testimony to this.

We hope you accept our apologies and thank you again for your honest feedback as it helps in our efforts to constantly improve our service to future guests.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 3 weeks on safari in East and southern Africa, and saw many camps, from 3 to 5 stars. Stanley's Camp had a unique blend of expert guides, excellent cuisine and perfect location for wildlife viewing -- in the middle of the Okavango Delta.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the tents with a lower number, say 1 - 4, because it's a shorter and safer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Exotic location with attentive, knowledgable staff.
See the Big Five between gourmet meals
Sundown cocktails in the Bush and personal elephant interaction
An infinity pool over the Okavango Delta
..........................................

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My huband, 22 year old daughter and I stayed at Stanley's camp from Aug 21, 2013 to Aug 24, 2013. We had 2 lovely tents next to each other. Our experience was simply wonderful. We had fantastic guides and trackers. Thank you TT and KB.The food and service was exceptional.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Walking with the elephants was certainly a highlite, getting close to these wonderful creatures, cared for by Gord and Sandi Groves.
The safarri experiences were very exciting and we saw so many animals. Highly recommend this camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

During our 3 weeks we stayed a 4 lodges and this was on of the best. I always enjoy the tent lodges the best even without a/c, this one is small, great feel, not like a resort lodge. We were the large group of 10 and it was great to be in a small camp. The newly wed camp managers were so helpful and the chef and staff were what I judged the other camp from. Romping through the water in the guide trucks and enjoying "sundowners" with the guides was a real treat.. The ability to see all the animals up close is something to remember, worth every dollar. I paid for our trip using american express so I was disappointed to see that when I added activities at the camp I was told that that card could not be used. I had to use a visa which added a 3 percent fee. Bad form from A and K
considering this was a high end travel company.. not the best value.

Room Tip: tents closer to the lodge are nice, less of a walk on sandy walkway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Stanley's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp

Address: NG32 Game Reserve, Okavango Delta, Botswana, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Stanley's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a safari in style that takes you back to the era of 19th century explorers. Set amid ebony and sausage trees on a 260,000-acre private concession within the Okavango Delta, eight classic canvas tents look out over the floodplains and are furnished with elegant African antiques. Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is the home of our unique elephant interaction activity in partnership with the 'Living with Elephants' foundation. Explore Africa on foot from an elephant's perspective as you observe and interact with our three orphaned elephants, before enjoying a picnic lunch in their company. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Stanley`s Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.