We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful camp, wonderful staff, superlative game viewing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chitabe Lediba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitabe Lediba
Save
You added Chitabe Lediba to your Saves list
Botswana, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful camp, wonderful staff, superlative game viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our first camp in Botswana and what a beginning to our trip!
Within the first 40 minutes driving from the sirstrip we had seen elephants, lion, giraffe, leopard and much much more! I could hardly believe my eyes! The amazing game viewing continued thoughout our time here and was the best we experienced anywhere in Botswana or Namibia.
The camp is lovely, relaxing and beautiful, tented rooms gorgeous, staff friendly, professional and very nice, the food was excellent and last but not least - our guide Anthony was absolutely fantastic.
We had a wonderful time here and just like some other reviewers - I would rarely say that I would return somewhere but we fully intend to return to Botswana and Chitabe will be on the top of our list of camps.
Just awesome, wish I was there now!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Chitabe Lediba was our second safari destination on this trip. Thinking it was still winter, we didn't realize that their summer was fast approaching. Each day of our four day stay reached a very uncomfortable 95 degrees (F) between 11:30 -3:30pm. The only way to get a bit of comfort was a cool shower. The fans in the room, only really helped at night when we went to sleep. After all the reading we did, thinking we were totally prepared, the intense heat was unexpected. Wound up sleeping in a T-shirt as everything else would have been uncomfortable. That being said, we found the accommodations and general service provided, quite acceptable.
Saying we slept in tents is really an understatement. They are very sturdy, well appointed accommodations with ample space and a larger than expected bathroom/dressing area.

The food was very good and we were able to get plenty to drink due to the intense heat. We were surprised one evening by having the staff set up a romantic dinner with lanterns all around our deck by the "tent". A lovely touch, however, the elephants were a few feet away and we didn't feel totally comfortable eating dinner with the elephants so close. We also had a lovely lunch set up in the bush where we met up with two other groups from Chitabe.

Note that there is no communication with the outside world and when there was a change in our Air Botswana flight, it was difficult to get word to our pre-arranged ride from OR Tambo to our hotel in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, France
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Chitabe Lediba was our last camp of a 16 day trip and yes it was very luxurious, seemed more like a premier camp than a classic camp. Game viewing here is excellent too. Lots of predators and we actually found a dead giraffe that had died just minutes before we found it. It was a very sad experience, but it died of old age so it was a natural part of the cycle of life. What it meant though is that there would be lots of action here over the next few days and we were right. The next morning Bateleur eagles were eating the eyes and a hyena had begun feasting on the inside abdominal area. As the carcass began to decompose the odor traveled and in the night we heard the lions roaring all night long and well into the morning. They had found the giraffe and were feeding on it. When done they moved aside for a nap and in came the jackal for a taste. It was awesome to witness. We also saw a female leopard with her impala kill which she fed on for days, we witnessed her feeding on it, then hiding it, then napping. We followed the Chitabe pride of lions while they hunted. We also saw 3 other leopards here 2 different ones on the hunt and 1 in a tree napping on our way to the airstrip. We also witnessed a baboon fight - they were fighting over a female, and then we saw who won, as he strolled off with his girl afterwards. Meals, tea and sundowners were always fabulous. One important note is that Chitabe Lediba has lost its' resident wild dog pack for now. There was once a pack of 31, but it split up and then the remaining pack lost its' alpha female - killed by lion, so there were then only 10 left, and now there are currently only 4 dogs left, no one knows what happened to the other 6. The remaining 4 have not been seen for a couple of months.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Like the previous review were at the camp when the weather was very cold and it did affect our overall enjoyment. There is no heat in the tents so the nights and mornings are very uncomfortable. There are showers but as previously indicated no hair dryers so if you have long hair you have to wait until it air drys which again is very uncomfortable given the cold temperatures. We found the staff and service to be very average, they certainly do not fuss over you and you are left to fend for yourself a lot, including making your own coffee, finding your own cutlery, unwrapping food that has been set out, asking for hot water bottles to use at night, and it goes on. Given what you are paying to stay at the camp, these things should be taken care of. Overall we found the service and camp to be very amature and reminded us of what we experienced when we camped as kids. Having said that, the concession has terrific game viewing and our guide Mo was exceptional. The camp seemed to lack any sort of overall management and the staff seemed to do as they pleased which often was the bare minimum. We had reasonable expectations when we arrived and as far as game viewing they were more then met as far as our enjoyment of the camp itself we were left disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First a warning: if you are going to Chitabe in July take long underwear and lots of warm clothing! It was really cold and winds made it feel even icier, especially during early morning game drives. (One day it was 38 degrees when we started out on the drive. That evening in the open dining area it was 42 degrees. Most of us took blankets on drives in addition to the ponchos and "bushbabies"/hot water bottles supplied by the camp.) The camp is lovely but the weather really did affect guests' enjoyment, unfortunately. Don't know if this is an aberration but if you go during this time, find out! The drive to Chitabe Lediba camp is about 30 minutes from the airstrip. The little sister to the larger Chitabe camp, Chitabe Lediba (which means small stream) is located on the Chitabe Concession in the southeast of the Okavango Delta. It borders the Moremi Game Reserve and sits between two rivers. The habitat is mixed with Ilala palms, flood plains,savanna and acacia woodlands. The five-tent camp like many others is built on elevated wooden decks set among trees. The "Meru" style tents have peaked plasticized canvas roofs. The rooms have twin beds (put together), ensuite facilities, as well as indoor/outdoor showers. Floors are hardwood and there are two large porcelain above countertop sinks as well as big, fluffy towels in the bathroom (separated from the sleeping quarters by a large wooden partition with storage shelves and closets, lots of suitcase space and safe on the bath side. They offer a wide range of natural Earth brand amenities. As expected, there is no wifi or hairdryers. The room is very nicely decorated, with interesting African pots, animal photos, maps and art. There is abundant hot (almost boiling) water which was a lifesaver with the biting cold we experienced during my stay. The dining area and bar is thatched and built on raised platforms to allow viewing of the grassland outside. Animals go by with regularity, especially eles. There is also a troop of occasionally raucous baboons who appear to make this something of a permanent home. There is a pool and curio shop. There is a lot of wildlife in the area: eles, buffalo, leopard, giraffe, zebra, lions, cheetah, many impalas, reedbuck, bushbuck, red lechwe, kudu. Night drives also allow viewing of such nocturnal animals; we were delighted to see a genet and a civet cat. The area is rich with bird life and we saw a wide variety, including the endangered ground hornbill. hooded vultures, martial and bateleur eagles, wattled cranes, hoopoes etc. Though Chitabe's logo is a wild dog, none had been spotted for several months when I visited (July 2012). That was a big disappointment. Managers are local and my guide Luke, a six-year veteran who had worked his way up from waiter, was a great animal tracker!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

It was hard to arrive at Chitibe Lediba and immediately give it its just compliments after departing from the over stimulation of another 5 star camp where we wished there weren't so much staff fussing over us. Fellow guests told us, in an assuring way, that Chitabe was different and we would love it, but they couldn’t explain why or how.

Here is what it was. Chitabe Lediba has less people fussing over you. There was a quiet simplicity to this camp, not as ornate. I decided to skip a few safaris as I was exhausted from a few previous camps and I enjoyed the quiet. Our guide, Gordon, was sweet and more mature in age compared to other guides at other camps, when I did go out, he was a great animal tracker. Also, the managers were Africans and the staff in general were more relaxed.

It was a more intimate camp with just 5 'tents'; an extension to the original camp a minute away with 9 or so tents. Chitabe Lediba had recent renovations and I would choose this camp over the main one. The style was definitely more relaxed and wound down a notch or 3.

The 'tented' (tent is such a severe understatement) accommodations were impeccable, appointed with a more contemporary furnishings. The outdoor shower overlooking the savanna was an experience in itself.
The beds were comfortable and the temperature of the room was perfect for a good nights sleep. I loved the pool as well as the show that the Baboons put on in the 'loo with a view'.

I loved this low key place because of the staff, the 'tent', the pool and the entertainment we had watching the baboons wreak havoc in ‘the loo with a view’.

Chitabe Lediba was a refreshing 10 in my eyes.

Room Tip: We really liked our 'tent'. It was on the side where there was only 2, ours was the 2nd. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was our favourite camp out of the 4 camps that we stayed in. Rooms are great -spacious, clean , classy and no bugs. It has a nice indoor and outdoor shower. Staff are v friendly and the food is v tasty. Terrific range of wildlife in the area - we saw leopard, lions, elephants, warthogs, etc plus many colourful birds. Great overall experience - would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chitabe Lediba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitabe Lediba

Address: Botswana, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Chitabe Lediba is a perfect game viewing base for families or small groups. A lediba is a lagoon that has become a waterhole, where a variety of wildlife comes to drink. Chitabe Lediba's dining area, lounge, and pool all overlook just such a vista. The sister camp of Chitabe, it lies on the other side of the same tree island and echoes many of its sibling's qualities. The same well-appointed canvas tents are raised on decks with uniquely styled interiors, but the smaller nature of the camp offers a more intimate experience, ideal for small groups or families. Highlights: Chitabe Lediba sports that classic Okavango Delta scenery, from palm-dotted floodplains to open savannah and woodlands. This mix of Okavango (water) and Kalahari (land) makes for an excellent home to an abundant array of herbivores: giraffe, buffalo, red lechwe, tsessebe, impala and elephant, which in turn support the larger predators: lion, leopard, spotted hyaena, cheetah and the rare and charismatic wild dog. The Camp is composed of 4 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Spacious en-suite Meru-type tents, individually styled; outdoor shower with a view; family units withadjoining en-suite bedrooms. Experiences Include: Day and night game drives and Guided walks (on request) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitabe Lediba Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chitabe Lediba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.