We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kanana is a must visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanana Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanana Camp
Save
You added Kanana Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kanana is a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The entire staff at Kanana is superb. Every member of the staff engages you to build a relationship; at no moment do you feel like this is a commercial transaction. That is an incredible gift in the world we live in today. Mark and Georgi are terrific managers and the multi-talented staff are responsive to your every need. The guides - Amos, Isaac, Owner are the ones we met and worked with - are incredible on both the land and water safaris. The wildlife is amazing - seeing a mother Blue Wildebeest lick off the amniotic sac off her newborn and help it struggle to stand for the first time, watching the power of a male elephant in musk, being fortunate enough to observe the rarely seen Sitatunga, both male and female AND get great photographs. Be sure to travel in a Mokora through the delta to experience the life in and around the water up close. If you are a birder, Kanana is a must. The heronry is spectacular and given our visit just at the beginning of summer we were able to see babies still in the nest of the Marabou and Yellow-billed Storks, the Sacred Ibis, and watch 100's of Egrets and Herons flying in to nest for the night. Be sure to go on a night run as well. You will definitely see something special - hippos foraging out of the water, jackals (we got to watch two pups play), hyenas, etc. And you may well see an elephant on the edge of camp after dinner. You will hear
wonderful animal sounds as you are falling asleep and wake up to a chorus of bird life that will
be in your memory bank for life.

Room Tip: All eight of the luxury tents have great views out over the water. If you like to be further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Individual detached 'chalet style' fixed tents on raised platforms (There are just 8 of these) Comfortable beds, hot indoor modern shower and his and hers sinks!!
You are woken at 5.30 with a gentle 'hello' and a cup of coffee/tea to give you half an hour to wake before breakfast which includes cooked to order eggs.
'Surprise' dinner in the bush on the first night was wonderful, beautifully laid out with candles. The catering staff then proceed to sing to you (as they do each night before the meal). When at the lodge there is a lovely boma where you can have a drink before dinner - the food is absolutely superb and as a vegetarian and my husband a non-fish eater we were catered for handsomely.
Our guide Isaac was fabulous- nothing was too much trouble, we tracked lions only yards away, travelled in a Mokoro through the delta which as with all trips culminated in the ever-enjoyable sundowner.
I can't rate this camp and its staff highly enough, there is absolutely nothing I can find to fault and I am very pernickety. Staying here you would not be disappointed.
The light aircraft transfer across the delta to reach the camp was superb with marvellous views and photograph opportunities.

Room Tip: Room 1 is closest to reception, so close for the early brekkie but as there are only 8 it doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was very comfortable, the food great, the staff very friendly and helpful, but the wildlife was just amazing. We would recommend the mokoro trips and the bird life at the heronry is spectacular. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we had a great experience. Special mention for the manager who was first rate!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the most wonderful camp and the best by far which we visited. From the management of Mark and Georgi to all the wonderful staff and guides. Everyone was happy and had smiles on their faces. They remembered our names and treated us like precious guests. they sang at dinner and were continually joyful. We particularly liked the way Mark and Georgi worked as a team with all the other staff. At dinner they served drinks and food to the guests and guides who sat with us at the table. A great testament to the way they run the camp. Our wonderful guide Isaac was the best we came across in Botswana. He had great knowledge of wildlife, could imitate birdsong to get birds to come, had a wonderful sense of humour and was a brilliant singer!! Superstar! Many thanks to the whole team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the end of our safari in Botswana. We had a wonderful reception on arrival and were so well looked after by Mark, Georgie and their delightful team who work really hard to give you the best of everything. We liked the way Mark particularly involves himself in chatting to the guests and always offers useful information. The Setswana dinner was especially delicious and we had some amusing discussions with fellow guests. The game viewing was quiet but was compensated by the amazing visit to the heronry and well done, Amos, for guiding us so well through the shallow water. All aspects highly recommended.
Antony & Barbara Hill

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arosa, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

After going from camp to camp in Chobe,Moremi, Kwando, Kwahi it was bliss arriving at Kanana where we were met by the delightful Mark and Georgie. A lovely warm welcome only to be followed what was to to be a fabulous relaxing ending to our safari experience.
We did not expect to see big game being on the delta but did see a beautiful pack of 7 wild dogs who were in fantastic condition. They were amazing.
The best bit for me was the Mokoro trip with Kenny who certainly knew his birds.That was great. Saw beautiful Malachite kingfishers,also the woodland kingfishers and plenty of pied kingfishers.
The whole team at Kanana were exeptional, great management with very warm friendly staff.
Top marks. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All equal I guess,very good accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Kanana was our first camp (2 nights) but wish it had been longer. Although all three camps at which we stayed were first rate, Kanana had that something special. Mark was an excellent host, our guide Kenny was the best, and the whole camp staff help provide a happy homely atmosphere amidst this luxury lodge. With such a variety of activites (boat ride to the heronry, mokoro ride where I learnt how to make a water lily necklace, and of course the informative, expert led bush drives by Kenny, Kanana cannot fail to impress. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanana Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanana Camp

Address: Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanana Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanana is a tented camp built among spectacular shade trees of ebony, knob thorn acacia and the sausage species. Eight spacious, well appointed tents with en-suite facilities are situated on raised decking and front onto the floodplains. The dining and sitting areas are raised on decking and encircle an ancient fig tree. Kanana offers; walking, mokoro excursions, fishing and both day and night game drives as well as motorboat expedition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kanana Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Kanana Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanana Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.