We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Place with Superb Service and Wildlife Viewing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leroo La Tau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leroo La Tau
Save
You added Leroo La Tau to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Place with Superb Service and Wildlife Viewing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Like many other reviewers, Leroo La Tau was our last stop on our Botswana safari tour. We were there for two nights (and wished it was longer).



LOCATION: 
The lodge is located on an elevated position above the river with spectacular views of the surrounding area.


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was superb. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome. A special mention must be made regarding Juan and Priscilla. Not only was the service they provided professional and knowledgable, but it was delivered in a very personable manner that truly made you feel like a guest at their "home".

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the modern amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance. Each one overlooks the river and are spaced out appropriately to provide privacy. At night you can hear the hippos wandering around.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was excellent. The food tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and they baked a special birthday cake for her.

SAFARI: There is an abundance of game viewing in the area. You are transported by boat to where the safari vehicles are kept where you then drive around the riverbank and surrounding area.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends or family.

Please see some of my photos as well as they can provide some additional insight into Leroo La Tau.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms with spectacular views over the river and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our final stop on our Botswana trip, and well worth the wait. The lodge is up on a cliff overlooking the Boteti River and the Kalahari Desert, and the cabins have walls of glass facing the River, for 24/7 views of wildlife coming in for a drink. We saw herds of elephant, zebra, wildebeest, giraffe, and the occasional hippo just by looking out the window. Almost didn't need to go on any of the safaris, but we did, and enjoyed those as well. Particularly liked the "night safari," as this was the only place we were able to leave our cabins after dark. Staff is friendly, accommodating, and welcoming, and the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: There is no way to choose a bad cabin here. However, the walk is longer from the outer cabins to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks you very much for the time you have taken to review your experience with us at Leroo La Tau. We are indeed delighted that the unique location and "different" experience of Leroo La Tau provided a memorable and enjoyable stay.

With warm safari greetings - Juan, Priscilla, Nelson and the team at Leroo La Tau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orleans,mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our last stop on an 18 day adventure throughout Botswana and what a pleasant surprise. Pricilla, Juan and all their staff made us feel like family and the wildlife and scenery were exceptional. The food was so good, I brought the recepie of one of the home baked cookies back with me. Everyone planning a vacation within Botswana should make sure Leroo La Tau is a must on their list. The Makgadikgadi Pan salt flats are something out of Star Trek, and worth the trip alone. My wife and I hope to go back someday and revisit the area with Leroo La Tau at the top of our list.

Room Tip: The entire lodge, including our accommodations were wonderful, with a view from the balcony of a var...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
It goes without saying that your room is ready and waiting for your return visit to Leroo La Tau. Many thanks for your very kind review of your stay with s. We loved having you as our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed the Makgadikgadi experience with us.

With warm safari greetings - Juan, Priscilla and the entire team at Leroo La Tau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went here as our final lodge in Botswana and it continued to great service and friendly staff we had encountered throughout - friendly, welcoming and a great personal touch come as standard and they have customer service down to a tee. The guides are absolutley fantastic at their jobs using their tracking skills to find all sorts of wildlife, the really care about the experience they provide their guests and are as disappointed as you if they dont find what they are looking fot - thankfully, good things come to those who wait and they usually do find what they are looking for - we had some phenomenal wildlife experiences and no game drive is the same. Thank you Leroo La Tau for such a lovely stay and Calvin for superb game drives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We have just shared your wonderful review with our colleagues and everyone is jealous at the fact that you got to see the elusive Brown Hyena on your recent visit to Leroo La Tau. Many thanks for your kind words - we are very happy that your stay with us at Leroo La Tau was such a success. Hopefully we look forward to your return visit some day?? With kind regards, Juan, Priscilla, Nelson, Calvin and the Leroo La Tau team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Leroo La Tau is a gem. This was our first African safari, so we didn't know exactly what to expect . But from the moment we were meet by our guide, Captain, at the airport, we felt like honored guests. The setting of the lodge is magnificent, on a bluff over looking the river. Hundreds of zebras and wildebeests would gallop down the opposite bank in the midday heat - the largest herds we saw anywhere during our week-long jaunt. The rooms all having stunning views of the river. The staff could not have been kinder or friendlier, and we will always remember their singing and dancing before dinner! The skill of the guides in locating a lioness and her two cubs was superb, and the whole experience was magical. Leroo La Tau won this year's trophy for the best Desert&Delta lodge, but were too modest to mention it themselves (we found out at another camp). I cannot imagine a better introduction to the glories of an African safari.

Room Tip: ask for rooms closest to the lodge - the walk in the sand can be a little taxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Indeed Leroo La Tau is the current holder of the fabled Elephant Trophy! It stands proudly on our bar. This trophy, the envy of all the Desert & Delta Safaris camps and lodges, is a symbol of our customer service delivered to our guests during the course of 2012. We are very determined to try and keep it here for another year.!! Many thanks for your very great review of your stay with us. Your kind words will be shared with our team of dedicated people here. This is a huge reward for us. With warm safari greetings - Leroo La Tau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Leroo La Tau Lodge is a Desert and Delta Safari camp in the Makgadikgadi Pans area and when we were there it was unusually green and quite a bit of water. A very lovely African longhouse with a center dining area and pool and firepit area overlooking the Boteti River with tons of game.
Room #1 is the farthest away-about a ten minute walk on a sandy path overlooking the river with glassed windows, dressing area w/armoire and separate bath and shower and double sinks. You could hear hippos chirping throughout the night and see them in front of the room in the morning. You can also see lots of game across the river-There was a massive zebra migration there at the time. The food was wonderful and they catered well to vegetarians. Lovely appetizers during the sundowner. Very good wine choices. Gift shop was pretty extensive with good choice of books, jewelry, carvings and clothing. Our guides Bujos and Harrison were very knowledgible and helpful and gave us a wonderful African experience. as well as the staff of Hannah, Loveness. Lettie , Robin and Mona who took excellent care of us while we were there. Truly a magical place!

Room Tip: Room #1 although a little farter away enables you to bond with hippos plus gives your legs a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of Leroo La Tau. We are very pleased that your stay with us was a memorable one. Our team at Leroo La Tau are going to be very happy to read your kind words. With many thanks and kind regards - Rob, Monna, Bujos and the Leroo La Tau team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at this wonderful safari lodge, every minute being pampered by a genuinely warm and welcoming staff. The rooms are beautiful with decks high over the Boteti River, the desert location simply stunning, and the game drives exceeded our expectations. There is nothing like seeing herds of zebra and wildebeest in the pink glow of a setting African sun. We enjoyed every minute in spite of the fact that the driving was through deep sand is a bit rough on the body. You will soon forget that discomfort with a lovely sundowner and a scrumptious meal served under the twinkling stars.
The all day trip (included in the three night itinerary) to the Nxai pans and the famous baobab trees was a highlight of our stay there.
Thank you Priscilla, Juan, Patrick, Nelson and the rest of the multi- talented staff who made our stay there our favorite lodge of the three Desert/Delta lodges at which we stayed and all of which were exceptional!. They really know how to do it right!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
What more can we say......????? Thanks so very much for this wonderful review!! You are now truly an experienced Desert & Delta Safaris traveler. We are glad that you loved the experience, bumpy roads and all!! We look forward to your return one day! Kind regards, Juan, Priscilla, Nelson, Patrick and the team at LLT!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leroo La Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leroo La Tau

Address: Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leroo La Tau 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leroo La Tau, reopened in 2008 under new ownership, rises majestically above the dry Boteti Riverbed which stretches across the western border of the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The park, populated by up to 30,000 zebra and wildebeest closely accompanied by predators, offers guests the chance to experience the exhilaration of seeing large concentrations of game and the resultant predator interaction.The lodge comprises 12 thatched chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms. The main lodge building is surrounded by an expansive wooden deck with a plunge pool, where guests can immerse themselves in the ultimate wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leroo La Tau Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leroo La Tau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.