We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience in a friendly camp in stunning surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savute Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Savute Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Savute Safari Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience in a friendly camp in stunning surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The managers MC and Michelle are great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was contemporary in style, spotless, with superb beds and a stunning view over the Savuti Channel. Food is home cooked in style; nothing over fussy but all simply delicious. Each member of staff approaches their role with pride and passion. The chef introduces the menu at each mealtime and the barman Score selects appropriate wines to complement the meal. Our guide Harrison was superb. He was humorous, enthusiastic, very knowledgable and seemed to have the eyesight of a hawk with binoculars. We were sorry to leave him. There is lots to see and the zebra migration is spectacular. With a lovely deck to enjoy lunch, dinner, afternoon relaxation or chatting around the fire pit all overlooking the Savuti channel there are endless delights... Elephants coming down to drink, kingfishers diving in the water and hippo visits to name a few. A friendly camp that would suit single travellers, couples or groups due to the welcoming family atmosphere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are delighted to see your feedback and have shared this with the staff at the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise sometime in the future. Kind regards, MC, Michelle and the Savute Safari Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
108
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Savuti was our fourth and final camp stay on a 3 week trip to Southern Africa in November, and we saved the best for last. Wonderful setting, outstanding staff, professional managers, superb wildlife viewing and expert guide all made the stay unforgettable. Tent/room was very spacious, electrical power, plenty of hot water, and deck right over the Savuti channel which started flowing again 2 years ago. Our guide - Metal - made a point to make each succeeding game drive more memorable than the one just finished. His knowledge of the bush, excellent communication skills, personable manner and willingness to provide remarkable wildlife encounters made this one of our best ever experiences. Would go back to Savuti Safari Lodge in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Can watch the elephants from every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
On behalf of the Management and Staff of Savute Safari Lodge, we thank you for your very kind words and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Metal will be very pleased with your comments as well - we know that he tries very hard to ensure that our guests and visitors to Savuti have an incredible experience. We look forward to your return. With warm regards - Savute Safari Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This beautiful lodge have a marvelous view over the river from most rooms. Plenty of elephants and other animals came down all day to drink. The staff were exceptional, warm, friendly and always with a smile and a nice word for every guest. The food was international cuisine and the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. I can only highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you felt and noticed the efforts of our team at Savute Safari Lodge. They will all be very happy to read what you have written about your stay. With much appreciation - Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First the good. The location of the lodge is beautiful on the Savute channel which is now filled with water and always populated with elephants. Secondly, the staff is incredible, warm, friendly, very helpful, and very well organized. The lodge facilities are nice and the lodge has solid walls and each bungalow is widely separated from its neighbors. Our guide, Metal, was one of the very best in 9 wildlife trips to Africa. However, the food is decidely mediocre especially for a lodge which charges more than the top private lodges surrounding Kruger. Also, there is only a guide for each vehicle and not a tracker is as common in the top SA lodges. Also we were there is late September, which was horribly hot- the temperature in the rooms was above 90 until after midnight and the fans and electricity stop at 10PM. We did see willd dogs which I had only seen once previously, but otherwise the wildlife experience was just average. In summary, not worth the extra money and effort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights as part of a 6 day trip through Botswana early September arranged by Desray from & Beyond.
We knew we were going to see a lot of elephants here but the shear numbers were staggering! However this wasn't just a place for elephant viewing though they are constantly on view from your room, the dining room, the pool, the paths etc etc. On the short drive from the airstrip to the lodge we were extremely fortunate to see a rather shy leopard skulking around the base of a tree just beside the road!
Our excellent guide Gee was able to show us a wide variety of animals during the 4 game drives he took us on. We sat and watched a pride of dozing lions at sunset the first day having already seen Giraffe, zebra, Impala, Kudo, Warthogs and of course Elephants. The next day a drive through the marshlands revealed yet another leopard, an extraordinary variety of birdlife (even a pair of Flamingo!) as well as Buffalo, a variety of antelope and sundowner drinks beside a 1000 year old Boabob with 3 inquistive Giraffe observing us from 80 metres as well sipped our G & Ts! A very recently dead elephant lying beside the peaceful Savute Chanel was discovered because of the Vultures sitting in wait in the surrounding trees.
The welcome, the food and the comfort of the rooms was top notch. TC, Michelle and Molemi do a fantastic job of running the lodge and the priviledge of watching the entire staff sing a few traditional songs for the guests was one of the highlights of our trip to Botswana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is so extraordinary to experience this level of luxury in such a remote, wild place that I can't understand any one finding fault. Just imagining how everything gets to the lodge is impressive.

We went self-drive and arrived a bit bedraggled but welcoming Michelle and M.C. and very friendly and efficient staff gave us drinks while our dusty luggage was disgorged. I agree with a previous reviewer - the staff made an extra effort to get us out on a game drive even though we had arrived a bit late. Plenty of game (listed in previous reviews) to the trained eye and the guides know how to track and find them.

The rooms are fabulous with views almost all around through strong flyscreens and sliding doors. But ladies - the best news. The modern uncluttered bathrooms have bathroom mirror lights that are really, really bright. We didn't have to go to dinner looking as if we'd just struggled up the river courtesy of H. Bogart Esq. on the African Queen. This lodge is a good place for husbands who want to be macho in the bush and ladies who want to look at a wild dog rather than look to like one.

Room Tip: The further away your room is from the main building the more important it is that you stick to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our incredible guide, Lynn, took us on a nine hour drive, including an hour breakdown, from Camp Moremi to Savute on really bad roads, and we have a lot of experience of bad roads. We broke down at the site of a dead elephant and got our first hyena pictures of the trip as well as lots of vultures.
There was little to see on the way, apart from the incredible damage caused by elephants, and we all thought it would have been much easier for everybody to fly between the two camps. Also, we arrived too late to do an afternoon game drive.
This newish lodge is situated near a waterhole but, since 2009, there is now a constant river flowing past the camp so there are incredible views from each room. The rooms are very good and the restaurant area overlooks an area of the river where elephants congregate day and night. Also, on our first evening, a small herd of buffalo also came to graze - seemingly quite rare. On the second evening a hippo wandered past.
The game drives were not too good until Lynn got us to a fresh kill by three wild dogs and this saved the day.
All the staff were very good as was the food.
The site of the lodge and the rooms make this a must see place

Room Tip: Anywhere is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savute Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savute Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.