We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savute Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Savute Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Savute Safari Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here in mid August 2012 for 3 nights. The camp is close to the airstrip. It has a more planned feel compared with the other places we went in Africa. It is surrounded by a large electrified fence to keep out the elephants.

Unfortunately at lunch there are lots of animals: squirrels, mongoose, hornbills trying to take food. We saw one squirrel open and lick a honey container-repeatedly.

The lodges are very big and have numerous power outlets, flush toilets and 24h hot shower which is gas heated. Ours, lodge 12, had dodgy hot water and we had to get it sorted twice in one day. Otherwise the rooms are excellent, if not becoming a little dated.


Dinner is interesting. There is a manmade salt water spring next to the river which attracts lots of elephants. The unfortunate thing is that the smell of this water and all the animals is very strong at dinner time and for me anyway, a little off putting.

But the game trails here are very good. Our guide was Lucky, he is freelance and you are unlikely to have him but he was excellent. We saw the usual suspects; elephants, lions, impalas, tonnes of guinea fowl, leopard, giraffes. This was also the only place we saw wild dogs, which are endangered. The game reserve is very big and during the time we were there, very sandy/dusty.

Please take something warm if you're traveling there in August because it's very cold at night and on the morning drives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
108
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

First of all thank you to the staff and our guide Metali, you all ensured a great stay.

The lodge is set right on the channel with all the rooms overlooking the water along with the countless elephants that flock to the water everyday. The rooms are nice and spacious and the grounds and are great little shady oasis. We thoroughly enjoyed the game drives seeing a number of amazing animals, the highlight being a complete leopard family all in the one spot.

Thank you agains for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

What should we say: In the middle of nowhere and paradise! Bright state- of- the- art- rooms, excellent game drives down to third bridge and vicinity as well (cheetah, lionesses and all the usual suspects), leopard hunting for guinea fowls in the camp, wild dogs two times, watching elefants at the waterhole right from the dining area almost all day long, great food- thanks to Michelle, her co- manager- husband and all the rest of the staff these were two days we´ll remember whole life long. Don´t miss it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

You have some doubts by arriving because the entrance of the domain is not very welcoming but you have only to pass the door of the lodge to feel the ambiance of Savute Of course the wonderful staff represent a big part of this amazing atmoshere. But the meals served on the wooden terrace at only some few meters of the elephants, bathing and drinkink in the Savute river, are real moments of ecstasy. At night, candles and campfire make these moments even stronger. We'll keep this image in our memory for a long time... Thank you to Captain our guide so kind and so patient and a very warm thanking to Michelle and MC the 2 managers of the lodge who were adorable with our son Tom and make everything to make you stay in Savute as pleasant as possible.Although MC has to improve his football for the next time ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was the second stop on our Botswana journey. The first had been a camp in the Okavango Delta, which we had absolutely enjoyed and which we have given a top rating.

The Savute Safari Lodge is different in a number of ways - it is a totally different experience - and it also deserves a top rating.

When we arrived, after being met at the airstrip, we went through the formalities of completing the few pieces of paperwork while enjoying the welcome drinks. As we were doing this we were distracted by the large number of elephants in clear view in front of the lodge, which overlooks the Savute River. Absolutely stunning!

The lodge is a comfortable establishment and the rooms, while they might like to call them "tents", are everything one could ask for.

The food was great and the service at the lodge excellent. The game drive vehicles were probably the most comfortable we had in our four camps/lodges in Botswana and I must agree with an earlier comment, they were the only ones with a decent amount of legroom. They also have a have a roof for sun protection (the sun during the day can be fierce, even to an Australian who has grown up with strong sun).

The general organisation and planning is totally around providing the experience that the guests came for - to the extent that guests departing in the late morning were taken on the morning game drive (where we encountered a pride of lions feeding on an elephant kill) and collected for transfer to the airstrip by a vehicle that met us during the game drive. It would have been so easy to tell those guests that time factors didn't permit them to be on the game drive - but that doesn't happen here!

And finally, what did we come here for? The game viewing was great and the game drives well organised. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you go to Botswana it would be a shame to miss out on Savute Safari camp.
The lodge is situated on a river bank and you can see elephants and other wildlife coming to drink at the river and at the waterholes as well. You can watch this spectacle 24/7 from your verandah our from the public areas.
Michelle and MC and the other staff were doing a great job. We will always remember Score the bar tender as well.
Our guide Baba did his utmost best to find us a lion but a leopard on that drive was OK for us as well. We saw lions on 2 other occasions. One drive we got stuck in the sand but MC came with another jeep to pull us out so that was fun too.
We would recommend staying 3 nights because there’s so much to see and don’t forget to visit the rock paintings. It’s a little climb up a hill to see them but you also get a nice view of the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Service is wonderful from the minute you land at the airport. Our guide Gee knew so much interesting information, Michelle, MC & BK welcomed us, and after a tour & welcome drink took us to our room. We had room 1 which turned out to be the best as we watched a leopard and an elephant face-off for an hour or so (BK had come running to tell us so that we wouldn't miss it). every night dozens of elephants come to the watering hole, which is only a stone's throw from where you eat dinner (great food for all meals). Scor the barman is almost blind but he can make any drink known to man; he as been with the safari company for 30 years.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savute Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savute Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.