We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kwando Safari Camps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kwando Lagoon Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwando Lagoon Camp
Save
You added Kwando Lagoon Camp to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Kwando Reserve, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Kwando Safari Camps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We traveled the last two weeks in March during the green season to Botswana's Okavango Delta. Our destination was three camps owned and operated by Kwando Safaris. We booked our camps through Fish Eagle Safaris in Houston, TX. Bert Duplessis and his sons made the booking very easy and assisted with great knowledge of the Delta. We highly recommend his company and we hope to work with him again. We stayed at the Kwara, Lagoon, and Lebala camps. We cannot say enough good things about the camps, the guides, the trackers and the staff at all of the camps. They were all excellent. The accommodations were just what we had hoped for, rustic but yet comfortable with king size beds and large bathrooms. The food was plentiful, fresh and tasty. We came to the Delta for the wildlife and to experience the bush in all its amazing beauty. We saw herds of elephants, zebras, lions, cheetahs, giraffes, wild dogs, hippos, beautiful birds, and so many more animals. Every game drive took our breath away. We never saw other safari vehicles on our game drives which made us think we had this paradise all to ourselves. From mokoro outings, bush walks, boat trips on the Kwango river to the twice daily exciting game drives, we came away with an unforgettable African bush adventure. It will not be our last trip to the Delta.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    23
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
75
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

After a few hiccups, Lagoon turned out to be a good safari camp. Let me get the problematic stuff out of the way first. When our bush plane arrived at the Lagoon airstrip, no one from the camp was there to meet us. We needed to take off again in the plane and fly over the camp. Still no response, so we walked to an army camp just adjacent to the airstrip. They sent a truck to Lagoon and by that time, a truck was on the way from Lagoon to pick us up. The camp was very apologetic, and said the bush airline hadn't notified them of our arrival time. I am not really sure if the camp was at fault or the airline. We made it though.

After that false start, the only other negative thing was the camp ran out of some of the food it was serving for dinner the first night. We had a talk with camp management and after that, there was plenty of food at all our meals. The food was good, so all was well there.

Our room was great, comfortable and large. We had a tub overlooking the floodplain and both indoor and outdoor showers. This was called a tented camp, but the "tent" was on a permanent raised platform and the walls were solid built walls. Only the roof was canvas. The entire structure was great.

We saw a lot of game at Lagoon. The game drives were good and we were able to spend a lot of time searching for and watching the animals. It was a thrilling experience, and as this was our first safari experience, we were excited at each new sighting. Our guide was good, but we didn't feel he was giving it his all. We later found out he was going on his leave after 3 months straight at the camp. I think he was burned out and I don't think we got the best he had to offer. That said, we still had a great time. It was only later, after experiencing other guides at different camps, that we realized our guide was not doing his best.

Overall, I recommend Lagoon Camp. They did a good job of running the camp and almost everything worked like a well oiled machine. We had a great time there, and would not hesitate to return when we return to Africa. Even with the few negatives, this was a great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Second stop after Kwana on the delta. A different camp, but every bit as special. This was our first time in Botswana, and what a different safari. We'd realy enjoyed Kenya and Tanzania, but at Laggon you are really part of the surroundings. The guides and trackers are local born and bred and have a unique knowledg e and insught that connects you with the environment. You get so close to the wildlife, be it lions and, elephants or toads and terrapins, that you leave with better a understanding and even better memories than other safaris. The accomodation is first class without being daunting. I nearly downrated sleep thanks to the Elephants and hyenas.
Thanks to all the wonderful staff, especialy Sugah and Aaron, hope to see you again - when we've saved up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This camp has one of the most beautiful settings, right on a tranquil and beautiful lagoon on the Namibian (captivity strip) border. The camp is very beautiful and the rooms enormous and lovely, complete with roll topped bath with views over the lagoon :-)
Food was very good, staff were friendly and very helpful.
We had good sightings of lion, including the most gorgeous cubs, cheetah and wild dog as well as elephant, giraffe, zebra, impala etc.
Very nice camp, people and such a beautiful place with lots of great game.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my eighth safari and probably one of the best I've ever had. The amenities/rooms were very nice and while you were staying in a tent, the tent had a full lovely bathroom with a clawfoot tub and an indoor and outdoor shower. Having been in pretty remote places and on pretty remote safaris before, this may have been the most remote. Our tent was the last tent on the edge of the property so the walk was quite far when worried about hippos. We passed quite a few on the way to breakfast and from dinner but with our trusty guides, were never too worried. In the tents with all of the windows open it was like sleeping out in the bush, but in a nice comfortable bed- it was glorious.

We had a great group at the camp at that time, which makes a big difference, but our guides were very knowledgeable and accommodating. I was on a mission to see the wild dogs that this camp is known for; our guide made it a priority for us and we were able to see the large pack during our second to last game drive. Wild dogs are the only animal in SSA that I've never seen so it was very special to me and my friend I was traveling with.

We saw so many animals in such a short period of time here, it was amazing. The guides were very friendly, funny, and helpful and they definitely took care of us. I would definitely recommend this place and I will definitely return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in tent #9 and it was very far from the main lodge; this was fun sometimes and scary other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My first trip to Africa and Botswana but not my last! This camp is fabulous. Top notch accommodations (without feeling like it was excessive) and amazing wildlife and scenery. The camp staff are amazingly gracious, knowledgeable and helpful. They seem to anticipate our every need. The guides were superb; really they made the trip happen at every turn.

I visited two other Kwando (Kwara & Nxai Pan) camps and would recommend them very highly. In two weeks we saw 175 new bird species and hundreds and hundreds of big animals of all types. Our time in Kwando Lagoon was the perfect place to begin the adventure! Where else can you wake up with a hippo right outside your front door?!?

Gondwana Travel (Mark) provided exception service and expertise at every turn helping us arrange out two week itinerary in February 2014. I recommend them as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved this camp! The location was ideal--very remote. The camp was run very well. The guides were great. The game viewing was spectacular. The location is known for sightings of wild African Dogs and our guide knew we really wanted to see them--he made a tremendous effort to track them and we ended up finding them. We also saw a family of lions, a leopard and her cub, elephants giraffes, and much, much more. The camp manager was not as friendly as many others but everyone else was. The food was excellent and the accommodations really spacious and pretty. They had this weird thing about not washing underwear at this camp, that no one had heard of in other camps. The only thing to note is that the vehicles in this camp are completely open--no roof canvas or otherwise, so bring a hat. If you don;t have one you can purchase a very expensive baseball cap at the gift shop.

Room Tip: This camp is laid out with the dining/social area on one end and the rooms all spanning out in one d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kwando Lagoon Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwando Lagoon Camp

Address: Kwando Reserve, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kwando Lagoon Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kwando Lagoon Camp Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwando Lagoon Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.