We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable camp in wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kwando Lagoon Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwando Lagoon Camp
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Kwando Reserve, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable camp in wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We (a family of five adults) were delighted with our stay here. The location is stunning. The camp is pleasant - comfortable without frills. The food was adequate. The footpaths need attention - especially for cabins last in line. The facilities for battery charging are inadequate. The big plusses here were the staff, notably our guide (Paul) and tracker (James) who worked wonders as a team. Our encounters with a wide variety of wildlife, large and tiny, were memorable. We selected Lagoon with high hopes of getting close to dogs and witnessing action. We were not disappointed. But we were treated to many other special moments, each one a bonus. Our fellow guests throughout our stay were mostly delightful, knowledgeable companions. What more can one hope for?

In summary, we had many hours with dogs including an amazing experience when for thirty minutes dogs, hyenas and lions fought, lunging and jumping back and forward, barking, howling and roaring. Our guides had not previously witnessed a scrimmage like this. We watched a lazy leopard on and off over several days. We were delighted to come across honey badgers and mongoose.

We saw a range of herbivores from the roan antelope to elephants and hippos up close, and much beside. We became surrounded by a herd of around fifteen hundred buffalo creating so much dust that it was difficult to breath. And we were excited, maybe even surprised by number of bird species, ostrich included. Great value, but a couple of things around the camp could be brushed up to good effect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very luxurious tent - with indoor shower and outdoor one, plus a bath (which however takes a very long time to fill), set by a lagoon with wonderful wildlife which offer a permanent spectacle. The place however does not feel managed: what is the point of asking you what you want for breakfast or drinks for example and then simply offer you what is always there - i.e. luke warm coffee, muffins, but no fresh fruits nor yoghurt, nor orange juice. Also always brunch at lunch-time, i.e. eggs, sausages, baked beans ... fortunately there was salad and cheese, but the bowl of fresh fruits was only making rare apparitions.
The guides are knowledgeable but not proactive in pointing and naming birds, happy to concentrate on the plentiful large mammals, which is disappointing too.
It leaves one with a sense of a missed opportunity to be an outstanding place, and would gain in better, more attentive management.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my second visit to Lagoon camp and again I wasn't disappointed. I saw the resident wild dog pack no less than 5 times in 3 days. The highlight of my stay was a confrontation of between six adult males eating a big male kudu, the pack of nine wild dogs, and 4 hyenas. It was witnessed by no less than 60 vultures. The wild dogs were attracted to the smell of the dead kudu, and a female lion roared and charged the dogs. They rapidly ran away and sent the hyenas flying. It was an incredible display.
I also saw a leopard in a tree as well as plenty of elephants. I can never forget how one elephant stuck another with it's tusks to get it moving. Matt's guiding and Elmo's spotting were both superb. I'll never forget how another member traveling in our vehicle lost his camera bag and Matt managed to drive back and find it despite the fact it was rapidly getting dark.
The tents were just as comfortable as before. Obi and Peter were the managers and they were both very kind and always available. The food was excellent and served in huge quantities.
All of the staff was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lagoon is an exceptional camp that offers an amazing experience. I have stayed many times and this review concerns my second great visit in 2013. The Guides, Trackers, Staff and Management could not work harder and they together provide a perfect safari experience. You need to remember Lagoon is not a Florida hotel or similar, nor will the dinner discussion be about the London or New York Stock Market, rather the talk is all about a great and life changing collective experience in one of the most beautiful and exciting holiday destinations in the world. There are camps in Botswana that are more about wine tasting and pamper sessions where as, Lagoon
Is about the real and natural world and having the time of your life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second camp during our visit to Botswana and we had another great three days. The rooms were superb (if a little large for the amount of luggage we took), the staff were really warm and friendly, working really hard. Considering the conditions, the food was good. The wildlife was excellent with the high spot being a leopard just half an hour before we had to leave the reserve and catch a flight to our next destination. Thanks Matt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Game viewing was fantastic, but service at camp was awful. Food was beyond horrible, and staff were less than helpful during the entire visit. Meals were served buffet style but felt more like a military camp, with guides ushering guests back to their room well before 9. The Linyanti is a great place to visit but look into other camp options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Lagoon Camp in June 2013 with seven others on a 14 day Botswana adventure. This included four camps. Lagoon was the best of a wonderful experience. The facilities are first class and very comfortable. Food is good. Vehicles and drives were very rewarding, and our guides were very accommodating and knowledgable (Preston and Paul). We had two exciting drives focused on a wild dog pack, which was fascinating. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The individual cottages all sit on the banks of the river so they are all good. Higher numbers means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kwando Lagoon Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwando Lagoon Camp

Address: Kwando Reserve, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kwando Lagoon Camp 3.5*
Also Known As:
Kwando Lagoon Camp Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwando Lagoon Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kwando Lagoon Camp to your Saves list