We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious camp and great sightings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
Save
You added Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge to your Saves list
Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Two, Pay for One
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious camp and great sightings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Savute Elephant Camp for 3 days on a family safari and loved every minute. The guides were wonderful—management and staff fantastic. We loved going out on 2 game drives a day, with sightings of leopard, lions, Hippos, Giraffe and more! The camp has a watering hole right outside the pool where the elephants love to hang out all day—it was great to watch. One of the best things was the cuisine. We found it to be the best of any camp we visited, and loved the "tapas" lunch. The rooms were as luxurious as expected. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This camp has everything you would expect from a luxury safari camp: comfortable tents, delicious food, excellent service and, most importantly, very good wildlife sightings. We actually saw a wild dog feasting on a kill (which is a rare sighting at the best of times) from the comfort of our own veranda. However, what really set this camp apart for my wife and me was the enthusiasim of the manager, Isbjoern, who got visibly excited every time we told him about the wildlife we saw during our day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed with my boyfriend for 2 nights in each of the OE camps and we liked the Savute camp the most - it is smaller than the other camps, the setting is beautiful, the drives were probably the most eventful here and the relief management couple (Isbjorn and Charlotte) certainly the best of all - very dedicated to the job and really attentive to each guest.Our guide was Mighty who showed us some incredible wildlife. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

For my first trip to Africa and my first Safari experience, I chose the Orient Express Safari camps - all located between two huge wildlife regions in the Northern area of Botswana - the Okavango Delta/ Moremi Game Reserve and the Chobe National Park. Though the other two camps in the Orient Express chain were wonderful and provided accommodations above and beyond what one would expect 'on Safari' I was particularly taken with Savute Elephant Camp. The camp managers, Isbjörn and Charlotte, were the perfect hosts and both were charming, gracious and so incredibly knowledgeable about the camp and the Safari experience I was about to embark on. Traveling alone, I never felt excluded from the group and was in fact fortunate to meet some fantastic couples from all over the world. From the spectacular Savute Channel setting to the lux 'tented cabins' as well as the exhilarating game drives that took place twice a day...everything at the camp is a feast for the senses. Some of my favorite memories: Watching the elephants come down to the channel for their daily mid-fternoon 'mud bath' while having my delicious lunch on the outdoor deck of the main lodge; the 'boma' celebration under the stars with newly made friends and a traditional style meal to die for; the fascinating stories and bush knowledge of our host Isbjörn and our guide/tracker 'Rogers'; watching a small pride of lions after having gorged themselves on a recent kill; tracking and finally discovering a young leopard that had eluded us all morning; being greeted at every sunrise with hot coffee and 'rusk' before setting off on the days adventures; an afternoon spent on my private viewing deck, curled up on the comfy wicker chair with a cold lemonade and my 'safari journal'; the intoxicating smell of wild sage in the air; 'Ollie's' infectious smile and humor; and finally, the extraordinarily beautiful and gracious women of the camp who saw to our every need...Savute Elephant Camp truly was "two perfect days in Paradise!"

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the lodge. However, for best viewing of the elephants during their daily b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We decided to have a bush holiday and do it in style, so we chose the Orient-Express chain again. Wow - we were definitely not disappointed. From the time we arrived at the airport in Maun to the time we departed, we were pampered. We were met at the airport with cold handtowels and conducted through to the connecting flight, (which was a bit bumpy due to it being a small aircraft and midday thermals ) Once at camp all the staff from Management down came to greet us and, after a receiving a refreshing welcome drink and a introductory briefing, we were escorted to our fantastic tent style rooms. From then on we were hosted by our expert guide and everything ran like clockwork. Game drives are guaranteed to give you excellent game sightings without appearing to be 'canned'. Food is excellent, bar is well stocked with good South African wines and all well known spirits and the Camp was well appointed ( with a pool for those hot afternoons). What was really enjoyable is that the staff were all professional and friendly. If you want to go on a safari, then this is the way to do it

Room Tip: Any room is a good room by virtue of the excellent camp layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the moment we got off the aircraft we were blown away by the place. Our tour guide Watch was AMAZING and made for the most unforgettable trip. All the staff are so friendly and happy to assist. The rooms leave you wanting for nothing and the wildlife at the front is just a bonus. All the food we had was also great. The game drives each day got better and better and we ticked every box we could have hoped for. I have no doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A special spot for a traveler. Flying into the camp, there were elephants crossing the runway. exciting!!! What a welcome. Accommodations are amazingly perfect...really! Delicious food and wonderful beverages. Staff is friendly and helpful. Having a private lunch on our own deck was glorious, and napping with a thunderstorm and open windows was memorable. Not a lot of elephants due to recents rains but we saw everything else....leopards, lions, you name it! We saw it! Robert, our guide, was the most knowledgable of the guides of our 6 different safaris on this trip. We hated leaving Savute and will hopefully return.

Room Tip: Pick any room...........you'll love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the very heart of a wildlife reserve, Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge is authentic and truly wild - the perfect place to feel the pulse of Botswana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Elephant Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.