We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Save
You added Chobe Game Lodge to your Saves list
Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Carnation, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Chobe Game Lodge - we thought it was the best!! They kept you busy with morning and late afternoon game drives and the mid-afternoon boat excursion. Loved that they kept us with one guide throughout our stay. Food and service were excellent - hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    86
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
72
197
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife, older son and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Chobe Game Lodge located within the Chobe National Park in Botswana which is a definite advantage for game viewing especially early in the morning.

The rooms were clean and roomy, the food excellent, and the game drives always exciting. There were warthogs wandering around the property during the day which makes for a very unique picture! The hotel staff and guides are friendly and very accommodating to your requests. Chobe Game Lodge rates right up there with the luxury resorts in Kruger National Park in South Africa.

I would highly recommend Chobe Game Lodge to families, couples or individuals who desire a luxury game lodge experience in Chobe National Park. The third party transportation with Wild Horizons to and from the Victoria Falls or Livingston Airports is excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Chobe Game Lodge is described in Lonely Planet as the Pinnacle of Luxury in Botswana. We were therefore expecting real 5 star standards and very much looking forward to our stay. However, the lodge was built in the 1970s and whilst it has been well maintained, the rooms are far from being 5 star. They are small, dated and need an urgent refurbishment. Nevertheless, the views over the Chobe River and beyond make up for this. It is also the only lodge located within the Chobe National Park with all rooms overlooking the river front - absolutely stunning sunsets!

The lodge is sold on an all inclusive basis and offers superb value for money for that reason - we did not have to put our hands in our pockets once and got great service, good food and good quality wine (as well as copious G&Ts!). You also get 3 activities included each day which are either a game drive or river cruise. This was my third safari experience (others in South Africa) and it was by far the best. The variety of game is superb and the guides very knowledgeable and friendly.

Would definitely recommend but don't expect 5 Star Luxury. The views, service and game drives will more than make up for this though!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

It was while now back in April 2006 but stayed here for one night and one night only . What a fantastic lodge it was so beautiful . We did a tour round south africa, botswana and zimbabwe ( spell check ) .
This hotel was best thing about our stay altho Cape town is fab place but the wildlife here . I did get chased by monkey's through the lodge but my fault as trid to feed them lol the staff thought it was so funny when I jumped on reception desk screaming hehe . The staff are fab so friendly .
The animals around you are great we sat for ages just watching the monkeys by the pool . Be warned thought keep your things out of there sight as they stole lipstick from womans handbag ( very enteratining though ) . The warthogs around lodge are gorgeous too.
You can hear the hippos in the river . And the sunsets are amazing we all sat quietly and watched a big orange sun fade into the river just amazing.
The food was excellent . Buffet slection huge al my favourite types of things pasta's , salads, rice so much choice.
Then you sit outside with lanterns, and sounds of the river and enjoy with good company
fantastic.

Chobe game is beautiful we saw quite a few animals . My mind is getting bit blured as we did two games when out there but anything anyone wants to ask feel free and I will check my dates and answer .

I love africa the wildlife, the people, the culture, the scenary just amazing.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here- it was superb. The rooms were well appointed, incuding big fluffy bath robes and a free mini bar. Laundry was returned the same day.
There were 2 land rover trips and a river trip available each day, led by very knowledgeable guides, and we saw lots of game, in spite of it being the rainy season. The grounds of the lodge are extremely well kept, and were visited by families of mongooses and warthogs. The pool was good, although there was not much time to use it if you went on all the game viewing trips as we did.
The food was plentiful, although it was sometimes difficult to see what you were eating at dinner- it was dimly lit to avoid problems with insects.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Elephants and hippos galore, what a great place Chobe river is when the sun goes down. you can really get up close to the big game either via Chobe River or on a game drive. lots of other game to see as well as a huge variety of birds.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

I really enjoyed my overall stay in Chobe. The resort was very nice and clean. The customer service was also really nice. I am rating it a little bit lower due to the fact that I was very uncomfortable with the food. The meals there are all inclusive and in the form of a buffet. Most of the time they had one main meal that they served and a good selection salads and fruits. Unfortunately, I am allergic to shrimp and shelfish. I was very unconfortable that they cooked my food on the same grill (without cleaning it) as they did food that included shelfish. I also didn't like that they did not have a TV in the room.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Disliked — No TV
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.