We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chobe Game Lodge - Our first Safari in Botswana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Save
You added Chobe Game Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chobe Game Lodge - Our first Safari in Botswana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Chobe Game Lodge was our first Lodge that we stayed at for our trip to Botswana.
A magnificent oasis alongside the Chobe River, with a great boardwalk to view the surroundings.
Beautiful timber creating a warm luxurious feel. The food plentiful. Rooms lovely
Maggie greeted us with so much warmth, we immediately felt at home. We were treated to a romantic poolside dinner for two, which was another personal touch.
Madibu was our guide and she did a wonderful job, allowing us to see all that we could see.
The wildlife was amazing, from giraffes necking to the wonderful prides of lions, leopard, zebra, giraffe. the list goes on and on. An amazing first experience. WOW!!
Thankyou for a lovely, wonderful experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are delighted to hear you loved your stay! We passed on the message to Modibu and of course to Maggie at Guest Relations. We love the new boardwalk too and with it leading to the viewing deck at the far end of the property it has had some exceptional animal sightings recently including lion and wild dog! Our facebook page has some of the recent sightings and news on there. We really appreciate the review and glad you enjoyed the dinner – we do our best to give every guest a personal touch in some way and we hope you can visit us again one day. Warm regards from all the Chobe Game Lodge team here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    99
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
85
217
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Arriving from Livingstone after a morning drive we entered Chobe Game Reserve. From the outset we saw wild animals upfront and personal. This was only a flavor of our following three day stay in Chobe Game Lodge. It came well recommended and thoroughly lived up to it's expectations. A very warm welcome from our hostess Maggie followed by an excellent lunch we set off on our first afternoon game drive. Our driver was completely adept at mastering the very difficult teraine as it was the dry season. We were extremely lucky to see a leopard within 30 minutes. This set the standard for the following twice daily drives. Back at the lodge the staff at every level were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and on the last night were treated to an African barbecue. Our rooms were of a very high standard and the free laundry service was great. We met the manager of the Lodge who took time to show us the viewing timber walkway and explain the many animals we encountered. Ten out of ten for Chobe Game Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello from Chobe and thank you so much for sharing your Chobe Game Lodge experience on Tripadvisor. The game viewing in Chobe National Park is quite special and its always great to see the elusive leopard. We’ve seen him around quite a lot at the moment which is great! We’re very happy you enjoyed the boma evening and the great new boardwalk and viewing decks by the river (amazingly it is actually made using recycled plastic as part of our new Ecotourism rating – the highest rating available in Botswana). We will pass the message on to Maggie and the team and from all of us here thank you for coming to Chobe Game Lodge and we hope to welcome you back some time! All the best, Chobe Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our stay at Chobe Game Lodge was amazing! The first thing I would have to say about this place is you'll never go hungry. They offer so many meals and snacks and have so many options. The lunch menu is a full menu with starters, salads, a main course and dessert. The wait staff was also very attentive. They change things up every day serving you dinners and lunches either by the deck, in the main restaurant or even setting up private dinners. Our game drives were also such a great experience. Our tour guide Lynn was so amazing. She went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time and saw everything we wanted. She was even able to find one of the rare Leopards in the park for us! She made our experience truly wonderful. I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi there and thank you so much for this lovely feedback. We do pride ourselves on what a great team we have here at Chobe Game Lodge and we do our best to keep it unique and exciting for our guests when it comes to dining and other experiences. We appreciate the feedback about Lynne and will pass it on – we are the only lodge with an All-Female Guiding team and very proud of some of the guiding talent here. Many thanks again and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Chobe Game Lodge. Warm Regards, Chobe Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Chobe Game Lodge two weeks ago with friends from England. What a treat for them (and us) to see so much game just driving TO the lodge which is about 30 minutes into the park from the entrance gate.

All rooms have private verandah's from which to view the river and there is a long extended decking amongst the trees and above the river bank so when you have had your fill of grrrr type bush driving (we went self-drive) you can relax with a drink and quietly watch the animals come to the water. This decking is undervalued by some previous reviewers because they fail to mention that visitors stand a chance of seeing some of the many nocturnal animals and birds, especially owls, that we all otherwise miss due to park rules which do not allow vehicles to drive around during hours of darkness. Some of the smaller animals seek refuge from predators by drinking near the lodge so can sometimes be visible from the decking.

One evening the dinner was served on the raised grass terrace not far from the water's edge and two buffalo, which had crossed the river from Namibia, chomped grass and kept beady eyes on us, sitting safely out of reach. It was a good reminder of how close we sat to nature.

The river cruise gave us a different view of all the animals as they came down to drink and Paul, our guide that evening, could even give the Japanese guests the name of every animal and bird in their own language as they saw them. Though they appeared impressed it wasn't translated back later into a tip - I couldn't help noticing!

The rooms are well equipped with real coffee, reading lights, air-conditioners and very comfortable beds and all sorts of luxurious dressing gowns and wotnot.

And if it happens to rain - there is a full-sized snooker table to enjoy. Imagine that - in the middle of the bush! What a pleasure.

Room Tip: If you have recently broken your ankle/have a cranky knee ask for a room not too far from the bars a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you so much for taking the time to share your favourite experiences at Chobe Game Lodge. We remember the evening with the two-large male buffalos eating grass by the far-deck at dinner. Not long ago we had a whole breeding herd of elephant wandered right under the deck and along the river past the lodge during dinner. Wonderful! The river safari cruises at this time of year are very special too with deep red sunsets and large numbers of animals down by the river! Thank you so much and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Warm Regards from the Chobe Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Truly magnificent. We arrived at the park and immediately saw herds of elephants, giraffes, zebras and even a leopard on the hunt. This was so impressive to see. We had stayed at Kruger before arriving here, but this was unbelievable! The Lodge was every level of comfort you can have. The rooms very clean and the beds super comfy!
The meals also were very satisfying.
A typical day at the lodge is a safari each morning, waking up at 5AM, but before leaving coffee, muffins and croissants are waiting for you before hitting the morning drive. Upon returning to the lodge a beautiful breakfast is served. You relax, lunch, tea, then maybe a river cruise on the Chobe river, and then again on an evening safari, dinner and before retiring you could take a walk along their beautiful deck where elephants, hippos and maybe lions can be heard.
What I enjoyed most at the Chobe National Park was seeing the herds of elephants, the pod of hippos, the dazzle of zebras, a tower of giraffes, herds of water buffalos and much more.
This was our last stop in Africa and even though we had a fantastic trip, we did save the best for last.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about the delights of Chobe Game Lodge. We’re certainly blessed with a wonderful location inside the park so we can enjoy the exceptional game viewing and safari experiences to be had here! And yes…watching the enormous herds of elephants down at the river from the new boardwalk and deck is a spectacular site. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back one day. All the best, Chobe Game Lodge team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Chobe Game Lodge is much bigger than the normal lodges and camps in Botswana which usually have around 12 rooms so it was like moving into a luxury hotel rather than the four camps we had experienced - which were still very good. That said the service and food at Chobe was very good and our guide, Lynn, organised a delightful private farewell dinner for the six people in our party. Rooms were very good and the river cruises with Lynn were relaxing yet informative.
One letdown for a lodge of this standard - Internet was charged which was ridiculous as the daily charge is already high. Then we found that reception was sporadic and never available in our room. We did get a refund but, after 8 days with nil reception in Botswana, it would have been good to get up to date.

Room Tip: Low number rooms are much closer to the main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam, we really appreciate your feedback and review. We’ve worked a lot on our menu and creating new dining venues around the lodge and we’re very glad you enjoyed it. We certainly know that after 8 days in the wonderful remote bush of Botswana it is good to connect to the web and guests really do enjoy sharing news with friends and family. Unfortunately since early September there have been problems with the internet connection which is a satellite set-up. The technicians have been working on it and it appears the connection is vastly improved. We are monitoring it carefully and we do sincerely apologise for the unreliable connection you encountered. All our staff will advise guests to let them know if there is any issue with the connection and they will help or refund as necessary. Warm regards from Chobe and thank you very much for staying with us. Best Wishes, Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was the last stop on our Groupon Trip. 30 minutes after crossing the Zimbabwe and Botswana border, you turn off the paved road onto a very rutted dirt/sand road and drive for another 30 minutes. I was saying to myself - "what have I done". But on the route in we saw in 30 minutes Elephants, Giraffes, Sable Antelope, Impala, Warthog. Then we came to a small sign an turned a corner and WOW a true 5 star resort in the middle of nowhere. Greeted by fountains and attentive staff, cool towels and drinks. Maggie greeted us and gave us a complete rundown of the facilities. Right on the Chobe River, all rooms with views. Large rooms with king beds, lovely linens, stocked minifridge. All meals and drinks included in price - except "premium alcohol and champagne". They had a full stock of wine, hard liquor, beer and sparkling wines all included in the package, we lacked for nothing. We had our meals on one of several decks on the river, meals cooked on the deck, in the restaurant and on our last night a surprise intimate dinner for 2 on a private patio - we were lead there by luminaries - just for us. Sam was our waiter, assigned to us for our stay. Excellent!. Judy was our game drive tour guide - very good. Stopping any time we wanted to for pictures or breaks. Wine and mixed drinks with snacks served on each game drive. She has excellent eyes for spotting game. Unexpected treat was complimentary laundry service .. great after 11 days traveling. We never made it to high but heard that it was great. Just an excellent lodge for accommodations, service, views, food, game drives, so many lounges to relax in or meet new friends. I think we had a excellent deal from Groupon on this booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Wow - we really appreciate your review. Such a great time of year and it was such a pleasure to have you with us. Maggie and Sam will be very pleased and feel free to follow Chobe Game Lodge on our facebook page. Many thanks again and warm regards from all of us here at the lodge, Chobe Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.