We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Service is impeccable, rooms are gorgeous, spacious and very private. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English person in Wales!
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This is clearly on the USA "Botswana To Do List" and the clientelle were quite demanding. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient, the food was fantastic, and the wine flowed freely. Twice daily game drives with other activities available. Superb views from the main area; not all the cabins had good views. Spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

We arrived at Chobe Chilwero for a three-night stay in mid-May. This was our fourth camp on a 16-day safari getaway. Previously we had been at Stanley's Camp, Chief's Camp, and Jao Camp all excellent places to stay.
We were greeted by the management staff, given a delicious cold drink, oriented to our new location and taken to our large, well-appointed room #12. The room had a very big bath area with both a tub and shower (there was an outdoor shower as well in our ample backyard). The bedroom had great closet spaces, drawers, safe and refrigerator with plenty of lighting throughout. We also had a small, roofed patio out front which could be used for midday meals, or drinks. The main building and dining area is splendidly decorated with carvings of crocodile on wooden columns; large and colorful snakes vertically placed on the walls, authentic, carved, dark wooden doors, etc.
All of the meals were superb and the kitchen, wait staff were very attentive to our needs.
Mushie, our guide was an expert tracker and boatsman--you can do wonderful cruises on the Zambezi River during the day and at dusk. We saw elephants, crocodiles, many hippos and elephants, all kinds of colorful water fowl. At camp there are striped mongoose and more birds.
They had recently put up a four foot high electric fence to keep the larger animals out of the areas frequented by guests (this is for safety purposes since elephants and hippos can be sometimes unpredictable in their behaviors--even dangerous). We were surprised that there we no monkeys present; although cute and funny the vervets can be a nuisance at times and the baboons can also be dangerous (they have very long, sharp teeth).
Mr. Patrick is a big, jolly fellow amongst the management staff and he will do almost anything you request within reason--he was a joy! Any time we had a "problem" like
charging our digital camera batteries, the staff immediately fixed it. Great guest service!
On our last night a local dance troupe gave us a 30 minute performance which was outstanding--I hope you get to see it.
For our 25th anniversary the kitchen made a large cake which was shared by all of our new friends (10 total) dining with us---a very nice touch!
There is a nearby town where you can shop for snacks, curios, essentials, etc. although Chobe has a nicely stocked gift shop as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

the rooms are extremely large, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is accomodating.
If you get a room by the pool area you can use your blackberry. They also have internet in the lobby, but it can be very slow.
The food was really good and the views unbeatable. We had deer walking through our yard in the am. There are 2 showers per room, one indoor, one outdoor and a great tub.
I would stay here again. Didn't really like the Park area for the animals as much as other places as there were a ton of people and you can't go off road, but still nice.
oh and the spa is great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

After beeing in other camps we got the impression that Chobe chilwero have something that others doesn't have.
The view is one of those.
The food was the best we ever tried in Botswana.
The manager at that time was really cooperative, always trying to get in contact with the guests to know if everything was fine.
The room was ok, very big and clean. I personally prefer those kind of luxurios camps where you sleeps on tenth instead that inside those bungalows. My wife for example loved the room in Chobe chilwero.

The only thing I was not too happy was the park.... compare to others this was really crowded.....

If in the future we will go to Botswana again we will definetly stop in Chobe Chilwero, but probably just because of the hotel itself.

  • Liked — The food, the view and the attention of the manager
  • Disliked — The park...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

My family (me, wife, two sons 14 & 10) had a three day stay at Chobe Chilwero recently. We couldn't have been happier. The accommodations were great, food outstanding. But the staff really makes the place. Our guide (KB) was friendly, informative and particularly good with the boys. You can tell he loves what he does.

The game drives were more than we expected. We saw everything we wanted to and then some. The river cruise is a nice bonus.

We combined this stay with a few days in the Okavango Delta. I definitely recommend that.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannanshire,Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband & I have recently returned from a trip to Botswana, Victoria Falls & South Africa. Whilst in Botswana we stayed at Chobe Chilwero and we absolutely loved it. The accommodation, the food, the wine, the service and the safari were first class and we would thorougly recommend it.

It was slightly different from other safaris we have been on, in that there weren't such early starts. You were woken at 6.30am with coffee / tea brought to your lodge followed by breakfast in the main lounge before heading off at 7.30am. It was good to get a bit of a lie in!

We went at the end of March, the weather was great and there were plenty of animals to see.

We have fallen in love with Botswana & would love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great deal of thought has gone into making Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. Guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for.The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous, there are also huge herds of buffalo living in the towering teak forests that are characteristic of the area. Each room has two showers - one inside and one outside. The freestanding tubs in the bathrooms are big and comfortable. Each cottage has its own private garden where guests can sip cocktails after a day of game viewing, or why not enjoy your very own private dinner served under the African sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.