We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Savuti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Savuti
Save
You added Camp Savuti to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Savuti Marsh, Chobe National Park, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Magical!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Savuti is just a magical place. The tents are beautiful and very large. The only negative was an ant problem that was really bad. They were in the pipes and so they were crawling all over the faucets and shower, but the can of Doom provided took care of it. Otherwise the tent was amazing! Beautiful wood floors, ceiling fan and mosquito netting in bed. The porch overlooks the Savuti channel and it provides perfect viewing for the elephants that cross every day. Make sure to ask for a thermos in delivered with your wake-up in the morning so you can have the tea or coffee from the tea tray in your room.
The food was amazing, if they have the cheese bread eat it and eat a lot of it! Monday nights is the dinner in the Boma with a wonderful performance by the staff. Warning, no silverware allowed and the men eat first. But the mess is so worth it! The food was really good.
The staff was so sweet! Smiles on every face and they were equally as interested in us as we were in them. So many interesting conversations. It was during a siesta conversation at the bar when Keene asked me if I had ever seen an elephant. When I said not in person, she replied "On Televison?" I told her that I had seen them live in the Zoo, and then something incredible happened, she said she had heard of a zoo but asked me to explain it. Why would she know a zoo? The entire conversation happened as we watched a herd of elephants cross the channel and then have some lunch on the trees in front of us. Magical.
The landscape was an awesome mix of water and open plains. We saw a pride of 16 with an amazing large male lion. 2 leopards mating was a rare and incredible sight. They can off road so we were able to follow the them for about an hour. Hippos and more elephants than you could dream of. One day we chose to go fishing instead of a game drive. The purpose was not to see game but instead to see birds, frogs and so forth and also to get a different perspective. It was really fun and their was something incredible about having sundowners while watching an amazing sunset over the Savuti channel.
Stay at Savuti, it is really a magical place. We wish we could have spent more time here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is a luxurious , well appointed (all needs are catered for), beautifully decorated camp. All ‘tents’ face the Savuti river and it is wonderful lying in bed or sitting on your terrace watching the birds and elephants coming down to the water. From the first choir-led greeting by the staff, everything is geared to making the guests happy and comfortable.
Game drives were well-organised (although game was quite sparse), meals well plentiful and good.
However the opulence of the rooms hides a few maintenance issues- Broken tiles in the shower, broken rattan on chairs, holes in the tent roofs. This did not detract from a wonderful stay in African paradise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odijk
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Nice camp, helpful staff, good facilities, very nice campsite.

Keep in mind that animals roam this place at night, so you cant visit the bathroom at nights.

Very nicely located in the middle of Chobe. You cant compare the area around Savuti with the Chobe Riverfront. its much nicer around Savuti. We saw so many elephants and so closeby, that sometimes it was even scary. I think in one day alone we saw over 300 elephants, loads of vultures hogs, wildebees, you name it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We loved savuti. It is just the wonderful, calm place you want to have in botswana. staff is friendly and the camp sites are well situated over the area. showers and restrooms are clean and always more efficient. we find it a pity that with increasing of services and comodities always more and more people come to play indiana jones while they are the kind of guests that should stay in a lodge. keep the place basic and calm!!! that is the kind of place many people seek.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Savuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Savuti

Address: Savuti Marsh, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camp Savuti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAMP SAVUTI“WHERE YOU SURELY EXPERIENCE THE BEST”Camp Savuti is an intimate 10 bedded tented camp. With one tent being the honey moon suite for newly weds. Each luxurious tent boosts of an en-suite bathtub, an open shower for sheer African sky exposure and an air conditioning system which cools you down from the welcoming heat of Africa.All 5 spacious tents sit on a platform and have a large balcony overlooking the Savuti channel providing a marvel of peaceful tranquality and memories to always remember.ACTIVITIESActivities include spectacular game drives into the Savuti marsh, forming an unbelievable life basket of all animals of wings, horns and paws.You will also enjoy watching famous giant elephants coming to drink on a steady gait and the spectacular birdlife and the ever overwhelming sightings of cats and dogs of the wild. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Savuti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.