We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen's Dinette

Glen's Dinette
23 E Main St, Babylon, NY 11702-3507
631-669-4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Babylon
Restaurant details
Lindenhurst, New York
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Gem of a diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I come in here a few times a month. Nice ambiance. The food is never an issue. They have a counter, tables and a room to the side. I like to come in and sit by the window with my iPad. Wifi is strong, coffee is hot. I recommend the hash and eggs. Hard to go wrong with this joint.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good eats fair price and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We love the old fashioned atmosphere and the Blue Monkey Pancakes. To die for. Always a hit. Also try the "Idaho", its a huge pile of breakfast potatoes with eggs cheese and bacon on top. OOOHH YEA!!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In a Hurry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped in with my wife and daughter for quick breastfast and was totally disappointed. the waitress did not listen to what we wanted, theplates were old and scratched.ketchup bottles on the tables were dirty.and the coffe was cold.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Could Use Some Customer Service But Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my first visit to the restaurant. I liked the way the counter area was set up for quick service and separate from the main dining area. Good atmosphere.

There was no real host but the waitresses did help seat you as soon as possible. The place was not busy for a mid Saturday morning. Seating was quickly available at 9:30 AM. They have milk on the table rather than cream for your coffee although they bring it when asked. Speaking of asking, words like "I will be glad to get that for you" would be a big improvement here. A 'good morning' or 'how can I help you' would be huge. There is no attitude that prevails but a good one would be well received. I did not feel like they cared if I returned. I had to ask for refill on coffee rather than having it brought by.

As for the food. It was good although the people I was with were served at separate times, weird way to serve food. You would think it would all come to the table at the same time. The food was very warm but not served hot. The food was cooked right. The omelet was oddly prepared.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The 1950's return as you enter Glens. Be prepared to wait, but you will be rewarded with good food and large portions.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen's Dinette also viewed

Babylon, Long Island
 
Babylon, Long Island
 

Been to Glen's Dinette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen's Dinette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.