We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT come here on a holiday! Groups be warned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Babylon Carriage House

Babylon Carriage House
21 Fire Island Ave, Babylon, NY 11702
(631) 422-5161
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 66 Restaurants in Babylon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Do NOT come here on a holiday! Groups be warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family went to Babylon Carriage house on Thanksgiving, and it was the most disappointing, aggravating experience. The entire meal took us 4.5 hours... namely because with the first two courses only half of our table received their food at a time. We had several elderly people with us and it was unbearable. The food seemed mass produced and not of the quality we've experienced at the restaurant. The turkey was not freshly cooked, and no vegetables were served. I am still bewildered at what happened at Thanksgiving. The poor waitstaff was mortified. At about hour 3 the manager came by to explain about a busted water main, but our problems started way before that unfortunate incident. The manager did not proactively offer to accommodate us in any way. When pressed, she offered a round of drinks. By that time we had had more than enough wine given the amount of time we were there. We ultimately pressed for a bill adjustment, but we should not have been put in that position of being offered nothing more than 'sorrys!' every 20 minutes. The kicker was at the end, when we learned that they were out of the one dessert everyone wanted. We could not bear to sit there any longer and asked for the desserts to go (since the manager would not remove costs per head to skip it altogether). She gave us a box of pre-packaged retail-bought cheesecake. So disappointing! So much for our experiment of going out to eat on a holiday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    17
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Carriage House is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is very good, always fresh, and the cost is very competitive. We just had a party there and they took care our entire party with professionalism. I had a great time and would do another party with the Carriage House in a heartbeat!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our server Ashley was excellent. I had the salmon stuffed with crab meat and it was delicious. The green salads are huge and can and can easily feed two people. The portions were more than adequate. There is a bar at the restaurant where you can sit and enjoy an adult beverage. There was a band playing at the bar the night I was there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice outside patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been here several times and have always enjoyed myself. They have a lively bar with karaoke on Thursday nights and a great priced bar menu. Thai calimari are incredible! Last year I had an informal Wedding reception for my daughter here and the staff, food & service were excellent. The weather was lovely and we were able to take advantage of the patio area as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went here for dinner with 2 other couples. I had been here before but was a first time for one of the couples. We had the calamari appetizer, which was delicious! My favorite dish is the Chilean Sea Bass with lobster risotto---All of us ordered it!!! It was amazing!!! All the staff are very welcoming and friendly---service was outstanding and we enjoyed our evening. Finished off with cappuccino and shared 3 desserts--all excellent. Quality is always great and I have never been disappointed with food at this restaurant!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babylon Carriage House also viewed

 

Been to Babylon Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babylon Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.