We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at Halona, Zuni” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Halona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zuni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Halona
Save
You added Inn at Halona to your Saves list
23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Zuni B&B and Inns
Franklin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Inn at Halona, Zuni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a great bed and breakfast for anyone who loves something different. The rooms in the old section are small. My sister and I stayed in Room 21, the bathroom is not connected to the room. It is about 10 steps down a hallway, but it is not shared. The shower is very small. Rooms are decorated with many paintings, pottery, books and other artifacts. In the older section, there is a balcony with loungers and a table to relax, view the stars or just enjoy the neighborhood. We did not realize that in the newer section where breakfast is served that there is a living room also that you can enjoy - it is also decorated with great art, quite colorful and genuine southwest.
The blue pancakes are not disappointing - they were absolutely the best pancakes I have ever had.
Staff was wonderful - friendly and willing to engage if you are willing. The owner, Roger is a wonderful man who was kind and very interesting.
Shopping in Zuni was the best - I most definitely spent more than I planned, but I will enjoy all of my wonderful jewelry for years to come.
I would definitely visit the Inn at Halona again and again.

Room Tip: Room 21 is large enough to accommodate two beds or can be pushed together to make one. It had nice c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jan (I suppose i am not breaching a TA policy here!),

Thank you so much for forwarding us your wonderful comments; you are being very kind to the inn at Halona and its staff, but, most importantly - and that seems to be a main characteristic of reviews here - you are informative for the benefit of other Guests here.
Our policy here is that we prefer for travelers to know about the Inn, including its distinctive details especially, before they venture into the 40 x 2 miles detour off Interstate 40 which is necessary to reach Zuni. We are arguably a colorful establishment in many ways - lots of beautiful, authentic art from community members (past and present: we exhibit art purchased from local, now reputed artists, which they had produced during their grade school years… Always a thrill to see such individuals bring clients to the Inn to see their "early works"!)
But some of our rooms are smaller, as well as some of our amenities. This after all is a B&B!

I am certainly happy you managed to do some shopping while in Zuni. REMINDER: this is also THE place to be able to seek and meet actual artists who produce the famous Zuni jewelry, pottery, carvings. We like to mention this to pour Guests because the Zuni folks are very friendly and always amenable to meeting visitors who have purchased items they made, or who come to the village with articles they have had for a long time (perhaps even inherited!), and are desirous to find out more about (for example, about the persons who made such items, and we facilitate such encounters).

Looking forward to be able to welcome you to our community and the Inn at Halona again again!

- Roger T. / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
30
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Driving into the Zuni pueblo is pretty depressing and we really couldn't find the Inn. Turns out it is behind the grocery store of the same name and that is where you register. Must admit Rogere the proprietor couldn't have been any more accommodating. We had an upstairs room, similar to an attic. Breakfast is included and made by a Zuni woman. Choices are very abundant and delicious. It is good to be prepared for what it is before you get there.

Room Tip: Go online at halona.com The rooms are very well described
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for making honest comments about our village and of course the Inn at Halona. We appreciate your actual compliments in regard to the manner in which we welcome our Guests to this rather not so easy community to visit. We are like to be thought of as nice folks, easy to meet / learn about, and eager to welcome adventurous visitors to our community!

Yes, contemplating Zuni for the first time can be an unsettling experience; it is a typical rural community, also with no special regard to urban adornments such as lawns, yard fencing or external appearance of homes and immediate periphery. It does give off an impression of neglect and abandonment, somewhat also consistent with the fact that we are a rather low average income community, AND with a lack of a standard concept of titled "property value" (due the the "reservation status" of the land), which basically does not encourage maintenance of outdoor areas. Efforts are currently made on improving the way in which the village will present itself in the future. Major refuse has been cleared off yards and otherwise unoccupied plots: many dozens of old rusty cars have been carted away. Improved municipal services - such as a fully equipped transfer station - are participating in the effort. Periodic community cleanups are eagerly participated in by local folks. "It's happening" as the saying goes!

However, I must also say that I am always still quite surprised with the fact that inasmuch as the outdoors in our community are not paid a lot of attention to, it becomes quickly obvious to the visitor able to step into a Zuni home, that ALL the efforts at home appointment and decoration… Take place indoors: many family mementos and photos are displayed throughout, along with samples of arts and crafts products made by family members.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The Inn was an option given by a couple getting married in Ramah, NM. It looked interesting from the website but nothing prepared us for the wonderful level of hospitality. We arrived late and everything was closed but a local couple saw that we were lost and took us to the Innkeeper's Residence. We thought the room we had rented was on the first floor and when we found out it was on the second floor with no elevator we were going to leave as two of us had mobility issues and we had a lot of equipment and luggage. Roget, the wonderful Innkeeper, said he would get everything in the room and we would not have to lift a thing. So, we reluctantly decided to stay because it was late. Once we saw the room and heard a little of the history, we were so glad we stayed! It was one of the highlights of our trip. All of us would recommend it highly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Another interesting story about how to finally get to the Inn at Halona! Again, WARNING: for those travelers who use GPS devices to find us, I have to again indicate that some of the mapsets used in some GPS units or smartphone apps, locate the Inn at Halona far away from its actual position, i.e. either about 8 miles south of where we are (down the road actually leading to the Inn, past a cemetery!) OR a few miles West on State Highway 53 (past the town's incarceration facilities!) which bisects Zuni. We are actually located South from the only four-way stop sign intersection in the village on State Highway 53; a quarter mile from that intersection on Pia Mesa Road, look for the building in front of you with the large sign spelling "HALONA PLAZA" (the name of our food store adjoining the Inn) and enter it to find the Inn's reception office.
If all else fails, the local Police Department is known to spot and accompany stranded travelers to the Inn: it makes for interesting convoys!

I am glad you were able to appreciate your brief trip to Zuni, and eventually willing to negotiate our staircase to Room 21 without having to lug cumbersome luggage up the steps. As i mention usually in such circumstances, we are accustomed to the "Dutch style" stairs (narrow steps, rather steep overall, but with comfortable railing on both sides!) NOTE: it might be hard to insert an elevator within the tightly built historical premises housing the Inn, so we'll just keep assisting Guests in the best manner we can!

- Roger T / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

In the heart of the Zuni Pueblo you are treated to great food and very friendly welcome and visit. Old house well updated run by a Dutch family that has been at the Zuni Pueblo for over 100 years. And you can tell that the Zuni embrace them!!

Room Tip: if need to avoid the stairs just indicate that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank thou so much for visiting us AGAIN, on the occasion of this nice but also informative review.
Yes indeed, in the heart of Zuni Pueblo, a situation travelers will not encounter often (if ever) in regard to lodging near or (in our case)within a Native community.
We have actually two buildings involving segments of various ages (starting ca. 1904), and generations of the Dutch family mentioned in the review have indeed succeeded one another to keep our businesses improving and still going.

And it all also comes with Guests being able to meet community members, visit with them (and even their families!) and often be shown about various community activities (arts and crafts making being one of them).
Low impact tourism is what we practice here, with few amenities and opportunities for divertissement, but high potential for learning about everyday life in a Native community.

Well, yes "the Zuni [people] embrace them"…Seems that way, as we have strived to harmoniously co-exist with the rest of the community, respect Zuni's ways, not interfere with those elements of lifestyle that are Zuni proper, and yet feel very much a part of the village's destiny.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here very last minute as we didnt want to drive anymore. Thank goodness they had vacancy because Halona is so quaint and welcoming. We really enjoyed ourselves and it was such a treat to stay in a gorgeous room. We had the large downstairs room with a fireplace, sitting area and large bathroom. NO complaints at all, I brought my own pillows:-) The breakfast was amazing! I ordered too much but ate it all up, the blue corn pancakes are a must!!! I'd def stay here again no questions asked. The Zuni area is beautiful, unfortunately we couldnt stay longer, we visited the visitor center and did a quick drive tour of the area (they gave us a map).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to jot down this informative review. A big part of the satisfaction we get here from reading such material, is in that it informs other travelers of what to expect when coming to Zuni (often also, what NOT to expect!) and the Inn at Halona, and of how to make the best out of a likely short passage through our community. All that BEFORE such new visitors ever get here.
We try to reach travelers en route to Zuni any way we can (for example, via additional information about our amenities emailed to them upon request: after all, we are a 40 x 2 miles detour from the Interstate 40 that bisects the State of New Mexico! And we do count on the honest, pointedly informative reviews posted on this wonderful site: Trip Advisor reviewers are all very articulate, discriminating and talented in placing emphasis upon the most significant aspects of the locales and amenities they review!

It is indeed fortunate that you were lucky to get a "last minute" reservation, since we seems to be a bit busier this year: people are "hitting the road" (perhaps taking more trips within the US?), eager to have a great time away from the problems of the world & undertake what remains sush an iconic American pastime: the "road trip".

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A top overall rating because: (1) the wonderful hospitality of the owner and (2) what may be the best breakfast offered by a B & B---the blue pancakes are incredibly good. We were in room 22, a small room filled with interesting memorabilia (both Zuni and Southwestern in nature) and a very small bathroom---but everything was provided to meet our needs and comfort. A fun place to stay.

Room Tip: You order breakfast from a menu the night before---be certain to order the blue pancakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

"Cozy and venerable"

"VENERABLE
Adjective
respected, venerated, revered, honored, esteemed, hallowed, august, distinguished, eminent, great, grand."

A great honor to be bestowed such a honorific attribute, even though we'll cautiously bask in just a few of the above extended meanings… Got to remain humble!
Those 3 words in your opening commentary: much better, more concise than what I can do in describing things, but so meaningful.
Thank you, thank you!

And frankly, the more i think about it, the more i (impartially of course!) do agree that our breakfast is quite simple but good. And cooked right near the serving area to boot!

Yes, lots of memorabilia about Zuni, and lots more coming: it is hard to keep from purchasing more arts and crafts items here (and NOT just katchinas!) Christmas time consists of just waiting for local craftspeople to come by with their creations… And fit them into lists of gifts to make.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent a night with Roger and his staff at the Inn. Visit was a good as reservation process before our trip back out to New Mexico. We had an upstairs room that normally has twin beds but staff accomodated us by putting beds together. It(they) were very comfortable and room was cozy. Breakfast was yummy. Forgot Iphone charger in room and Roger is sending it back to me. The Inn is worth a visit for anyone who appreciates this type of traveling arrangement. All Tribes Trading Post down the main road back to Gallup was best shopping experience for Indian art and jewelry we expereinced on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

In a way, it is quite memorable when Guests forget some belongings at the Inn; it does help us remember some finer details about their visits here… And, yes, we do rush in getting forgotten items back their owners. In this case, TWO iPhone charger cables were left behind at the Inn on the same day, in different rooms; yours, fitted to a newer type of iDevice, and with a new, Apple end connector, was mailed back to the wrong party. Right type of cable on its way to you!

Your recommendation that "the Inn is worth a visit for anyone who appreciates this type of traveling arrangement" is most welcome and accurate; in fact, we strive to provide travelers interested in coming though Zuni and the Inn at Halona, with precise information as to what our amenities look like and what the community has to offer (and does not offer, especially in the way of tourist specific services).
To future travelers to Zuni and the Inn at Halona: please email us such requests for additional information so as to be better "prepared" for your stay at the Inn at Halona and your visit to Zuni, and especially its people!

Indeed, staying at Bed and Breakfast Inns is always a special experience, never a casual event; we pride ourselves in attracting very interesting travelers (i.e. very specially motivated ones who make the 40 x 2 miles detour off the Interstate 40 often just out of curiosity!), full of life and stories, and willing to kindly share them with fellow travelers and listen to others' tales and travel recommendations.
And Zuni & the Inn at Halona seem to be ideal grounds for such neutral, low stress encounters between travelers of all stripes.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Halona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Halona

Address: 23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327
Location: United States > New Mexico > Zuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Halona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.