We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Caverns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whites City Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whites City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whites City Resort
Save
You added Whites City Resort to your Saves list
17 Carlsbad Caverns Highway, Whites City, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
rochester, new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Close to Caverns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

The hotel is close to the caverns, and so is sort of stuck out in the middle of no where. It was clean, but had no refrig. or microwave. The restaurant is ok - somewhat limited menu. We stayed there 4 nights and were pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    4
    9
    3
See reviews for
9
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Chose hotel as it was nearest to Carlsbad Caverns, but should have stayed in Carlsbad. Room was dark and cleanliness suspect. Signs along road advertised shop and other facilities, none of which were available. Staff insisted on a $20 deposit against damages to room despite us paying cash in full before occupation. As we are a couple in out 60's and unlikely to trash the place we took exception to this. Alcohol was unavailable as a management policy so a glass of wine in the evening necessitated a 20 mile trip to Carlsbad to purchase.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at White's City Resort over Thanksgiving. When we arrived, the room we were given had not been cleaned and made up. Same for the second room. The room we finally wound up in was in a poor state of repair. The was water damage in the bathroom and stains and spots on the walls. Also sound travelled much too easily through the walls, as we found when a family arrived late in the evening and took the room next to us. Their screaming children sounded like they were in our room. While White's City is close to the park, it is not close to good food, so we had to drive into Carlsbad every night anyway.

With that said, if you want to be close to the caverns and Guadalupe Mountain, and you don't mind a down a dirty room with few amenities, this is a fine choice, but don't take your lady with you. There is a small cafe attached that we did not eat at, and apparently a restaurant that was not open when we were there. Maybe if that was open you could save the trip into Carlsbad for dinner. The cafe at the caverns has fine lunch fare.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

The place was a dump. The hotel was overall dirty and old. The room had cobwebs on the walls and ceilings. The walls also seemed blank and dull, needing wall paper or paintings, but overall needed some decor. The staff seemed as if they didn't care about their guests and have "given up". The water park seemed way out of budget and needing more staff. Going down either water slide was very uncomfortable. The arcade across the street along with a gift shop was permanently closed. White City is pretty much a ghost town in the making. The only good thing was the restaurant. The food there tasted great and the waiters/waitresses were nice. Overall, I would stay in Carlsbad and just drive 20 miles to the caverns.

  • Liked — Close to Carlsbad Caverns
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, Staff, Water Park
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

The hotel is old and it shows. Not very many amenities. The infrastructure has aged and has not been kept up. You are paying strickly for the location...which is right outside the entrance to Carlsbad Cavers. I would go to Carlsbad and stay in a chain hotel instead.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old and the owners obviously don't care enough to modernize the property
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed in Whites City a few years ago. Didn't remember much about the room. I remember that our daughter played for a while at the "water park", we slept, ate the free breakfast and left. We were there to visit the caverns and this was convenient.
This time it was no longer a Best Western and is now listed as the Whites City Resort. The price was $103 for a double room with breakfast. The room was filthy. The toilet had urine on the rim-obviously had not been cleaned properly in sometime. There were hairs on the floor and shower walls. The towel rack and been pulled out at some point and someone had stuffed a paper towel in the hole rather than repair it. The bathtub had jets. Most of the plastic jets were broken and I was pretty sure that it would have been unsafe to use had they worked. When I unmade the bed there was a hair on the pillow. And to add insult, none of the ice machines worked! The only reason I didn't push to leave was that I had been at Boy Scout camp for a week and just didn't care about anything but sleep.
The breakfast was passable and the service was fine, but we will never stay in Whites City again. We'd rather stay in a clean room and drive 20 miles.

  • Liked — The water park was a diversion for my son and the proximity to Carlsbad Caverns was nice.
  • Disliked — The place was dirty and run down. And VERY expensive.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whites City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites City Resort

Address: 17 Carlsbad Caverns Highway, Whites City, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Whites City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Number of rooms: 195
Also Known As:
Whites City Hotel Whites City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whites City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.