We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grootbos Private Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Grootbos for 2 nights at the start of our African adventure....and what a great start!
Fantastic rooms with incredible views, and amazing staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and the activities offered were great.
The special dinner they put on for us on our second night to help celebrate our birthdays was fabulous.
A very memorable experience...thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Builthblue

It was our absolute pleasure having you to stay with us. I hope each birthday in the years to come will be as memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    36
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
98
218
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hill, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a long time coming. I know I should have done this as soon as we got back from our African Vacation/Safari end of September 2012. But as they say better late than never. Grootbos is a very lovely place, The forest Lodge was just awesome. Our suite was impeccable and the views were fantastic. To get to our suites is just like walking through the forest, so close to nature away from the hustle & bustle of the city.

The staff was really friendly and very helpful and aimed to please. They made sure we were having a wonderful time. There were some glitches during our stay regarding activites/excursions, but they made sure it was corrected right away.

We did activities such as hiking to the Klipgat cave, walking the beach, watch the beautiful sunset and of course the nature safari where you get to see the beautiful explosion of colors of the different species of the protea flowers. Our nature guide Jo created a beautiful bouquet of protea which is really awesome. We did whale watching both on air and on sea. Did some wine tasting at some nearby wineries and of course we planted a tree!

We truly had a memorable time at Grootbos given the chance we will go back and stay again.

Stuart & Nanette Duzan
Fountain Hills, Arizona USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Stuart and Nanette

I can't belive it's almost a year since you stayed with us! The whales have returned and once again, we are are enthralled as we watch them from the lodge leaping out of the water and come crashing down again into the depths of Walker Bay. I'm sure you have some fanastic memories of your flight to view these gentle giants. Jo continues to captivate us with her passion for the fynbos. She send warmest regards along with the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the wonderful Grootbos in early June for the weekend. We booked a "last minute special" deal where you basically get the room at half price if you book within 48 hours prior to the date. Best thing I have ever done was to book Grootbos last minute!! I'm not sure that the rooms are worth around $500 USD a night but definitely worth the $250 USD per night that we spent. The price is all inclusive and includes all activities and meals excluding tips & alcohol.

As soon as we got there on a cold Friday afternoon there were people waiting for us. They made us feel very special from the start welcoming us to the lodge and check us in. They gave us a warm drink and sat us down to discuss the activities for the weekend. We were quickly shown to our Garden lodge and my gosh is it beautiful. We walked into an african inspired room with the cosy fireplace already started for us. Everything about the lodge was wonderful and I knew that two nights here was just not going to be enough!

Dinner on the first night was good but not great or worthy of 5 stars. I felt the tom yum soup was quite lacking of flavor and didn't even slightly resemble the flavours of an authentic tom yum soup. The other courses were tasty but I don't remember the meals. The wine selection is quite extensive and we finished with a delicious cheese board.

Breakfast the next day was delicious and the spread was amazing. I could have sat and ate there for hours! Freshly baked croissants, muffins, hams & cheeses. I had the big hot breakfast and I swear I went to heaven and came back! The cappuccino however was terrible. For a 5 star establishment I highly recommend hiring a barista. All I got was a whole lot of foam and while this is a very minor detail a bad coffee ruins the 5 star experience at least for 5 minutes or so! This is the only real thing I can truly fault about Grootbos.

Our dinner on Saturday night was truly amazing. It was a tasting menu and my husband and I loved everything. Service was also wonderful.

On Sunday we did the horse riding and the beach picnic which we thoroughly enjoyed. What an amazing way to finish a wonderful weekend. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating to all our needs and we loved that about Grootbos. We also tried the spa which was great value.

We will definitely try and make it back to Grootbos! What an lovely weekend away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear foodwinelover99

As the seasons change, different elements of the lodges are highlighted. Of course in summer, guests spend many hours lazing around the pool areas looking at the magnificient views. You, however, came at my favourite time of the year. Yes, it was certainly chilly and I'm glad the warm welcome followed through with cosy fireplaces and wintery beverages. It's such a magical time to be on the reserve with flowers in full bloom all over- no better way to to see this than on the back of a horse.

Thank you for your comments on our coffee. I'll be sure to look into this inconsitency. Our Tom Yum soup is a firm favourite with our guests, hence us keeping it on the menu daily. The recipe is tweaked from time to time and I'm sure you won't be dissapointed when you visit us again for another last minute getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a truly wonderful weekend spent at Grootbos. The location is spectacular and the views of the coastline, ocean and fynbos as far as you can see are simply breathtaking. The service was outstanding – warm, friendly and attentive without being over-fussy or overbearing. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and the attitude that nothing was too much hassle. Our two small girls were given personal attention and shown the wonderful children’s facilities as well as a run-down on the activities they would be able to enjoy. We stayed at Garden Lodge which is the original lodge at Grootbos and is very child friendly – while the more modern and newly built Forest Lodge only allows children over the age of 12.

The cottages are spread out amongst the ancient Milkwood trees and reached by pathways surrounded by beautiful indigenous gardens and full of colourful birdlife. Exploring was magical and fun for our girls. Our cottage had its own private deck with yet another panoramic view. Seeing as it was just starting to rain, the staff immediately lit the fire in our lounge which set the scene for a wonderful cosy afternoon. The bathroom with its double shower also had a view of the Milkwood trees from a large picture window, and the sunken bath in its own separate bathroom was surrounded by windows overlooking the milkwood trees and the view beyond. Perfectly private and wonderfully relaxing.

The dining was a highlight – not only for the food itself – but because our girls (ages 5 and 7) were immediately welcomed into the children’s lounge and playroom where they were supervised and able to enjoy their dinner, watch a movie on the big screen and play games. This allowed us to enjoy a leisurely and quiet dinner and to really savour the excellent 5-course meal. We dine out fairly frequently – and both my husband and I commented that the meals at Grootbos were amongst the best we had eaten. Breakfast and lunch were also excellent – and again the children were well catered for and looked after.

During our stay we were looked after by a wonderful guide who took us on the 4x4 Flower Safari as well as a Guided Beach Walk. Both excursions were excellent – interesting, informative and tailored to our needs. There were plenty of other activities on offer as well if we had had more time. Our girls loved the pony riding as well as visiting the stables with its bunnies, chickens and other animals. As it is whale season, there were some excellent whale sightings. Two whales were in a small bay just off the rocks – they were even calling to each other – which was a first experience for us.

We were very sad to say goodbye to Grootbos at the end of the weekend – and our girls begged to stay longer. Our stay exceeded our expectations from service to dining to the setting and the activities we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Clair

Thank you so much for visiting us. I'm thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a good time and that despite the occasional rain, you enjoyed spending time in your cosy cottage taking in the dramatic view. I'll be sure to pass on your message to all the staff and we hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to spend a week at Grootbos and even though the weather did not allow as much outdoor activity as one would have hoped we never experienced a dull moment. On arrival the fantastic porters delivered our bags to our rooms. We then departed on a beautiful sunset fynbos tour which was worth every bit of cold weather we had to endure. During our stay we also had a tour to the caves, did some horse riding (great to do at sunset) and viewed the fantastic corporate social investment projects managed by Grootbos. Wonderful work being done there so hats of to you guys.
Our rooms were fantastic. After dinner we were welcomed to the rooms with a cracking fire place waiting to be enjoyed. And you cannot enjoy the view from behind the glass windows so early morning coffee was consumed on the deck outside - splendid!! Grootbos is definately a wonderful place to visit. It offers romance, leisure, relaxation and of course the wonderful mystic of nature. The fynbos and the wonderful array of birds is any birdwatchers paradise not to mention the flora. And whale watching is a must, whether from the deck of your room or a coastal walk or by boat...
There is a wonderul nursery on site and I would suggest that you make a turn as there is some wonderful species available to purchase.
Grootbos team: from room service, to porters, to reception, to kitchen to management - Thank you all. Nothing was too much effort for you when a request was put in. Nothing was impossible and you always accomodated us with a warm smile. You guys are worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Nicolette

Thank you for your kinds words. We so enjoyed having you and hope to see you back again with your family too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Maybe my expectations were too high after reading all the reviews of Grootbos, but being South African and having experienced so many different game lodges, I was slightly disappointed with Grootbos.

It has fantastic views, perfect sunsets and wonderful food. Staff is very well trained and friendly. I loved the botanical nature walk.

Due to the rooms all facing straight into the setting sun it tends to get very hot in the rooms in the afternoon (even though there is an aircon) and the furniture & linen is sun bleached / worn.

I was also slightly surprised that Grootbos was the wrong side of the R43 (a main road) from the beach, as I got the impression from photos that it borders directly on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Grootbos. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food, the surrounding and the hospitality that you received from our staff. You mentioned the magnificient view too. We've purposefully positioned all the rooms to take full advantage of this as it also allows for the best sunset vistas in the early evening. As a result though, the sun does stream into the room in the late afternoon. I do hope you made use of the wide doors to let in the cool sea breeze or the airconditioner to cool things down over this period.

We are in the process of completing a full soft refurbishment of all the rooms and part of this programme will include the sanding and re-sealing of the floors.

Thank you too for your comment on the location. Our newly launched website includes a variety of introductory videos that should aleviate the incorrect impression that you received.

I do hope we will see you again. Keep an eye on the website for last minute specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Grootbos is a stunningly beautiful destination. The professional, gracious, attentiveness of the entire staff, complements the magnificent luxurious accommodations and delectable meals served at the restaurant. It is masterfully designed to take full advantage of the sweeping views of th ePreserve, a wildflower jungle and Walker Bay which is the Whale Watching and Great White Shark Viewing Capitol of the World. The Grootbos Nature Preserve is vast and beautiful, it can be experienced by hiking, on horseback or with experienced guides on a 4 x 4 Safari. It's a
Magical Setting and we are planning to return.

.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Address: R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.