We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Kids & Adults alike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grootbos Private Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for Kids & Adults alike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a really pleasant surprise. Its a bit of the beaten track of the Garden Route but well worth the journey. The location is lovely - tucked into the side of the mountain overlooking the ocean, it immediately invokes a feeling of relaxation and calm.

There is a programme of activities which are great and allow you to do as much or as little as you choose. Equally the pool is lovely just to sit and read if thats what you fancy or go down to the stables and enjoy a horse ride or play with the animals.

The two things that set this place apart from other eco lodges are firstly their attitude towards children - a fully equipped playroom, staff eager to play games with them, the lovely lady in the stables encouraging them to visit anytime etc and secondly the food - included in the price is a degustation menu each night and the food is quite exceptional.

We had two lodges and whilst they are perhaps not the most luxurious, they are well equipped and homely and very clean and the fires lit on a cooler evening was a nice touch. It was a really lovely stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    36
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
98
219
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently ended our year end holiday with a 4 night stay at Grootbos! What a wonderful find! The food s outstanding, friendly service in the most stunning setting. Garden Lodge is very kiddie friendly and the staff went out of their way to make our 6 year old feel right at home. I am thrilled that Grootbos s on our doorstep, so we will be sure to return for a long weekend very soon. The only constructive criticism that I had, was the mattress felt a bit "tired".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful way to start off our holiday season ... spent 3 evenings at Grootbos beginning of December 2012, and what a lovely time we had, again! This was our second visit, and will definitely return here in the near future.
Beautiful views, lovely personnel, fantastic food, lots of activities to choose from, spacious rooms with lots of everything one would need. All rooms have fantastic privacy and our room had a really nice view. Loungers on the deck to just have your favourite drink and just relax with a good book ...
Went horse riding, for a nice long walk through the forest, saw some great bird species ... and had a really good rest.
We heartily recommend a visit to Grootbos, and don't just stay for 2 nights, stay longer if possible, it is well worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms situated east of the main building, access through the forest to these rooms, really beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel part that we have booked was the forrest lodge - this consists of cabins which are very quite and well equiped. Close fire makes the evening atmosphere :) Staff is ok. Meal quality is good, too. Cleanliness could be increased.
Friendly staff - I needed a stick for a walk to the coast line, due to an operation - and got it before we started the tour.

The Spa is very new, the staff (german couple) is very friendly, very professional and very good! This is a must for your stay at Grootbos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Grootbos and I hope it won't be our last - what a spectacular place! Everything was superb, from the fantastic private lodges, to the excellent dining experiences, not to mention the amazingly attentive and friendly staff. The pool area has a wonderful view and is a great place to spend a few hours in the sun. The plant and wild flower safari was very interesting and Kristoff, our Ranger, really knew his stuff and really made the experience fun. The coastal drive with Anneka was also really nice although, unfortunately, we were a bit late in the season to see the whales but Anneka made it interesting nonetheless. The standard of the food at Grootbos was quite stunning and a delight to experience, as well as being served by lovely, friendly staff - a real credit to Grootbos - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First off, Grootbos is a beautiful place particularly the forest lodge where we stayed, the boat trip they arranged was excellent and we saw the entire big marine 5. However my husband got sick during the 2 nights we stayed there and they were not entirely helpful - for example they did not even have paracetemol available nor was there any suggestion of where I or perhaps a staff member (which happened n our next hotel) could get them from. The receptionist staff was very helpful with organising activities, but didn't even bother to say goodbye to us. The waiting staff were a mixed bag, some were fantastic and friendly but others were just on the right side of surly, something for a 5 star property you would not expect. Also one morning we were having breakfast and the owner decided to move all the furniture round as there was only us there, it just was not the sort of experience you would expect from a 5 star resort. I must also admit that the food while good was not of the quality I was expecting (maybe we had been spoilt on safari) but it was very salty and staff would forget thngs like bringing bread, or even toast with our scrambled eggs at breakfast. The room however was beautiful and the view even more so - due to the lack of service however I will not be returning

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been fortunate enough to stay in many five star places around the world and I can honestly say that Grootbos has the best combination of superb staff, great food, beauty and comfort. Our children (7 and 5 years) had such a fantastic time ,they were made to feel really special and none of us wanted to leave. They particularly loved their goodnight treats on their pillows everynight and the popcorn boxes with movies in the evening while we enjoyed our 5 courses ! This place is a rare find indeed. We did the walks, 4x4 trip, horse riding and marine big 5 boat trip, all excellent and well worthwhile. The fynbos and milkwoods are beautiful and we'll have to come back to see them in a different season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Address: R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.