We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grootbos Private Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Five star for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been fortunate enough to stay in many five star places around the world and I can honestly say that Grootbos has the best combination of superb staff, great food, beauty and comfort. Our children (7 and 5 years) had such a fantastic time ,they were made to feel really special and none of us wanted to leave. They particularly loved their goodnight treats on their pillows everynight and the popcorn boxes with movies in the evening while we enjoyed our 5 courses ! This place is a rare find indeed. We did the walks, 4x4 trip, horse riding and marine big 5 boat trip, all excellent and well worthwhile. The fynbos and milkwoods are beautiful and we'll have to come back to see them in a different season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    36
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
98
218
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Grootbos.One could just sit around for a few hours appreciating the serenity at the backdrop of Walker Bay.

I must add and say the service, treatment, location, accommodation excellent indeed. Not forgetting the World-class 5 course meals - out of this world.

There's so much to do: whale watching, horse riding, beach picnic, fauna/bird walk, 4x4 flower and plant safari, service trip to local community.

I still think price is bit too much. However look out for the specials :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We travelled to Grootbos from Hout Bay for our break. A wonderful surprise awaited us and what a welcome! Without exception the staff were excellent and the food and accommodation out of this world. Included in our "treat" were 5 excursions; whale viewing, fynbos 4 x 4, horse riding, wine tasting and bush walk. All our guides were local and most of them had been trained on site in the Foundation's educational establishment. A number of local students were lucky enough to travel to the Eden Project in Cornwall, about which they were proud and as a result increased their knowledge of the biomes which they were happy to share with us. The,food was definitely "cordon bleu" and the accompanying local wines complemented beautfully. Our cottage was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. One night it was chilly and on our return from dinner the woodburning stove in the lounge was blazing away. Also the underfloor heating was on. They thought of everything! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited Grootbos in August this year. This place is a nature pearl. It is astonishingly beautiful especially around the Forest Lodges. Although we had travelled 5 continents, this perhaps is the most beautiful places we have been. We never saw so many kinds of flowers and plants in one single place. One could just sit around for a few hours appreciating the serenity at the backdrop of Walker Bay. Forest Lodges are for adults, hence we stayed in Garden Lodges. Despite of which, we went to Forest Lodges for lunch and dinner from time to time. The trail from Garden Lodge to Forest Lodge was amazing as if we were walking on flower beds. We did a lot in our three-day stay: shark cage diving, whale watching, horse riding, beach picnic, fauna/bird walk, 4x4 flower and plant safari, service trip to local community, and we planted a Family Tree! The food and service quality was good. This place is natural and the garden lodges are built around the hill. There are a lot of uneven steps to walk from the common area to lodges. Two of us twisted our ankles and I actually twisted twice. This was the slight flaw in our perfect stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the Forest Lodges if you are not visiting with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Truly excellent, tranquil location offering superb tasting menus a host of organised activities and well appointed accommodation in a great setting overlooking Walker Bay. Well informed and friendly staff make this an idyllic location for those wanting to get away from city life.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a 4 night stay for three girlfriends wanting to enjoy a short vacation. We were picked up in Cape Town and transferred to Grootbos by road transfer. The drive took just over 2 hours by the N2. We arrived at Grootbos Forest Lodge and after a short check in we were taken to our cottage. The room was very spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the beach from the hillside. We spent 4 days trying to fit in all of the inclusive activities that they offer and succeeded by scheduling one activity in the morning and one in the afternoon. The spa at Forest Lodge had opened the day we arrived and we took advantage of it several times. Ana and Mirko are great massage therapists and the setting is very peaceful listening to the birds!

All of the staff at Grootbos did an outstanding job and were very attentive but I would like to give a special thank you to Christoff, our guide and Sean, the manager for making our stay enjoyable and memorable! Christoff is full of so much knowledge of the areas plants and animals and his passion for the job is refreshing! Sean was quick to correct a couple of glitches we had during our stay in order to make our trip the best it could be and we appreciated his commitment to customer service. The only suggestion to make Grootbos even better would be to make beverages included in the price like they do at many safari lodges. Charging for water, wine, beer and soft drinks seemed a bit unnecessary. All in all, a lovely place to spend a few days whale watching and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful place this is. We stayed for 5 nights. The cottages are perfect with a fab wood burner. The food is superb and wine excellent. We did some wonderful things including whale watching and horse riding. A special pace

Room Tip: Make the most of all the activities and the beach horse ride is great if you like riding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Address: R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.