We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grootbos Private Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Where Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited Grootbos in August this year. This place is a nature pearl. It is astonishingly beautiful especially around the Forest Lodges. Although we had travelled 5 continents, this perhaps is the most beautiful places we have been. We never saw so many kinds of flowers and plants in one single place. One could just sit around for a few hours appreciating the serenity at the backdrop of Walker Bay. Forest Lodges are for adults, hence we stayed in Garden Lodges. Despite of which, we went to Forest Lodges for lunch and dinner from time to time. The trail from Garden Lodge to Forest Lodge was amazing as if we were walking on flower beds. We did a lot in our three-day stay: shark cage diving, whale watching, horse riding, beach picnic, fauna/bird walk, 4x4 flower and plant safari, service trip to local community, and we planted a Family Tree! The food and service quality was good. This place is natural and the garden lodges are built around the hill. There are a lot of uneven steps to walk from the common area to lodges. Two of us twisted our ankles and I actually twisted twice. This was the slight flaw in our perfect stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the Forest Lodges if you are not visiting with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    36
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
98
218
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Truly excellent, tranquil location offering superb tasting menus a host of organised activities and well appointed accommodation in a great setting overlooking Walker Bay. Well informed and friendly staff make this an idyllic location for those wanting to get away from city life.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a 4 night stay for three girlfriends wanting to enjoy a short vacation. We were picked up in Cape Town and transferred to Grootbos by road transfer. The drive took just over 2 hours by the N2. We arrived at Grootbos Forest Lodge and after a short check in we were taken to our cottage. The room was very spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the beach from the hillside. We spent 4 days trying to fit in all of the inclusive activities that they offer and succeeded by scheduling one activity in the morning and one in the afternoon. The spa at Forest Lodge had opened the day we arrived and we took advantage of it several times. Ana and Mirko are great massage therapists and the setting is very peaceful listening to the birds!

All of the staff at Grootbos did an outstanding job and were very attentive but I would like to give a special thank you to Christoff, our guide and Sean, the manager for making our stay enjoyable and memorable! Christoff is full of so much knowledge of the areas plants and animals and his passion for the job is refreshing! Sean was quick to correct a couple of glitches we had during our stay in order to make our trip the best it could be and we appreciated his commitment to customer service. The only suggestion to make Grootbos even better would be to make beverages included in the price like they do at many safari lodges. Charging for water, wine, beer and soft drinks seemed a bit unnecessary. All in all, a lovely place to spend a few days whale watching and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful place this is. We stayed for 5 nights. The cottages are perfect with a fab wood burner. The food is superb and wine excellent. We did some wonderful things including whale watching and horse riding. A special pace

Room Tip: Make the most of all the activities and the beach horse ride is great if you like riding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Grootbos Garden Lodge as part of our 20-day family tour of SA's Garden and Wine routes in Sept-Oct. 2012; the Lodge is lovely, with winding pathways among meticulously maintained gardens of local fynbos and other flora, leading to the lodge and the suites; the Family Suite was beautiful and accommodated us 5 very comfortably; the suite's balcony was huge, with sweeping views of lush fynbos leading down to the sea on the horizon: very satisfying just to sit, look and relax; in addition: excellent food; an animal petting corner with rabbits, a pig and wandering hens and ducks (perfect for our 8-yr old); riding horses (though, sadly, the weather was against us and so we were soaking wet when we returned); kind and attentive staff; good spa (had a revitalizing full-body there); in short: a rewarding experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Grootbos Forest Lodge at the beginning of our holiday and we impressed by the quality of the accommodation, the friendliness of the staff, the impressive local produce at mealtimes and the activities on offer. The nature walks, 4x4 drives to explore the flora, beach cave excursion, coastal whale watching, social responsibility tours and horseriding were such fun and thank you to our guide Jo for putting up with our sense of humour! We also did a whale watch cruise and saw several of the gentle giants up close. Three nights is just too short and we'd love to return at some stage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sad we only stayed two nights! This place is just amazing, a luxury lodge set in 2500 hectors of luscious landscape filled with many indigenous species of plants. Its serene and tranquil just the place to rest and unwind. We stayed at Forest Lodge (modern sister to Garden Lodge) the lounge, bar and dining areas are beautifully decorated, its so easy to sit here and just stare out the window for hours over Walker Bay below. We were welcomed by Kevin (and two glasses of bubbly) who took us through all the activities that are included in your stay (horse riding, beach walks, sunset cruise and whale watching etc) and the ones that are not. The food here is delicious, delicately prepared and served with a smile. It was such a treat and a lovely way to end our three week honeymoon trip.

Room Tip: Room 29 one bed suite with two bathrooms and a lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Address: R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.