We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Western Cape getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grootbos Private Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Umdloti Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
“Ideal Western Cape getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The stay at GrootBos was most definitely a high light of our travel to the Western Cape.
Not only was the accommodation well appointed and extremely comfortable, the food was a memorable culinary experience.

We found the staff to be extremely attentative and obliging making us feel really at home.
The lodge is fortunately child friendly with our daughter appreciating and enjoying the kind hospitality and my wife and I appreciating the child watching facility.

The lodge is well located in a fynbos reserve over looking the maginificent Walker Bay.
This area is rich in activities including the renowned great white shark experience, whale watching, superb coastal vineyards with wine tasting.

The eco sensitivity of the lodge and staff including various self sustaining enviro, horticultural and viticulture projects were encouraging to note.
The social upliftment project educating and training qualifying local people as well as assisting with job placements on course completion sets the vision of Grootbos lodge management apart from others and should be a blue print for other lodges in the sector to follow.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    39
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
109
243
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The most beautiful place on earth. Stunning location, Fantastic Food, Amazing staff ! what can i stay . I was so sad to leave. Just would also like to stay " Thanks Jo " your love for your job and beautiful Grootbos really shone through. :)

Room Tip: Must Visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This place is really good. Overlooking the beautiful Walkers Bay, it provides the perfect mix of luxury accommodation, fabulous food and courteous staff. Loads of activities to suit everyone. Don,t miss it! We,re coming back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a wonderful two-nights stay at Grootbos. After a mere 2 1/2 hours drive from Cape Town, we were greeted with beautiful smiles and a glass of sparkling wine at the Garden Lodge. Taking in the beautiful views of the Walker Bay, we enjoyed some delicious lunch before settling into our luxury suite. We enjoyed the vast space of the rooms and the wooden deck overlooking the bay. An outdoor shower or bath would be the icing on the cake. ;) The staff was incredible, the food was absolutely superb! Sam, the very knowledgeable and fun horse guide, took us on outrides on her beautifully trained horses. We also very much enjoyed our trip down to the caves and a splendid picnic on the beach.
All in all, a wonderful stay which was over way too quickly. We want to go again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Grootbos. The Garden Lodge was superb and food was brilliant. Enjoyed all the activities and went to see Forest Lodge which we will stay at next time. The views from both lodges are to die for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Everything about this place is incredible. The view is stunning. The building is a design masterpiece. The rooms are incredible and the staff were perfect - barely noticed they were there but everything was done when needed.
Just the best place I have ever stayed...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

What a wonderful experience in the most awe inspiring setting. The views across Walker Bay from our accommodation on the Forest Lodge side of the hotel were simply breathtaking, with pristine white beach, a beautiful ocean and the most wonderful sunsets. But what makes Grootbos special most of all is the tranquility, underpinned by immaculate, attentive service that is always first class, but never intrusive. Michael Lutzeyer has a team that works so well it would be sometimes easy to overlook the finishing touches. It always seems unfair to select any single member of staff for praise - especially amongst a crew of this exceptional calibre, but Bennett the bartender is a real star who has his business down to a fine art. As for the food; well the Chef is clearly at the top of his game. We stayed four nights and were delighted with every meal. A wine list focussed on some of the local vinyards works well and we were very pleasantly surprised by our selections each time. Didn't engage in any of the activities on offer - this was a purposely restful break - but there is plenty on offer and since we know we will be coming back, we can save it for next time. Grootbos is a real gem; we are already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Address: R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.