We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day with the Great White Shark!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Shark Ecoventures

White Shark Ecoventures
Gansbaai, South Africa
+27 21 532 0470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Activities in Gansbaai
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Ecoventures is widely acknowledged as one of South Africa’s leading shark cage diving and viewing specialists and is part of an industry attracting over 40 000 visitors per annum to South Africa. Driven by her passion for these animals, our CEO Cindy Thornhill was co-founder of the White Shark Cage Diving industry in South Africa in 1992.Our MD, Mariette Hopley was the founder of the Great White Shark Protection Foundation in 2001 and is still the chairperson for this foundation. She wrote the constitution for the WSCD Industry and invited operators to join the Section 21 registered Foundation. Due to her efforts and input, she managed to ensure that the WSCD industry was accredited as a responsible industrial body in the non-consumptive sector with MCM (Marine & Coastal Management) and Government. Mariette has also been nominated to be appointed to the Robbin Island Portfolio Committee, as the nature conservation portfolio member. Mariette’s involvement in conservation and rehabilitation of all wildlife species over the years, have earned her an international contract with IFAW (International Fund for Animal Welfare). During the war in Iraq in 2003, IFAW deemed Mariette as the only person qualified enough to be send into the war stricken area of Baghdad, where hundreds of highly stressed, abused, injured and war stricken animals at Saddam Hussain’s palace and the Zawra Park Zoo. Her expertise with marine , rapture and water birds, as well as other animals such as bears, lions, tigers and smaller predators, made her the ideal candidate for this very difficult task. After her initial assessment of the severity of the situation, she selected and deployed various other specialist members from across the globe to come out to assist her with her tasks in this war stricken red zone. Her experience also lead to her involvement in 3 major oil spills around the South African coast line, namely the Apollo Sea, Cordigliera and most recent Treasure Oil Spills. Here she was the Logistical Co-ordinator for IFAW and was deployed to built facilities and to rehabilitate and clean more than 33 000 African Penguins. Due to her expertise in the field, she had a very high success rate with all 3 these project.. Mariette is also actively involved in the lobbying of species for international CITIES listing and have participate in various campaigns opposing canned lion hunting, large predator breeding programs, illegal ivory trade and culling of elephants. Mariette was instrumental in the lobbying of Great White Sharks to become listed on CITIES and was the Executive Committee Chairperson for SANCCOB for two consecutive years. Mariette has also designed the MH feeding box and pen divider for SANCCOB, for marine birds which are kept in quarantine. Both these inventions were specifically designed to ensure that stress is reduced to a minimum, when handling the birds.In parliament, Mariette was nominated to serve on the National Minister for Environmental & Tourism Affairs (Fishing Industry Task Team), as the non-consumptive representative for the WSCD, mariculture and scuba diving. Here she performed the task as advisor to the Minister and spokesperson for the non–consumptive industries.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing day with the Great White Shark!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I want to thank to everybody for this amazing day,the staff is great,the crew,the boat...everything!!! One of the most incredible days in my life meeting the great white shark..i saw up to 4 big white sharks..
The water was 13º but once you are in the cage with the sharks you dont feel cold at all ;)
I really recomend to do this activity with this company,sure!
Thanks again and i hope to see you again soon!!
David Vela.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    24
    5
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I never normally write reviews but it was such a perfect day and incredible value for money i just had to recommend this company. As per the review below, its not only shark diving, Wiehann gave us commentary all the way to Gansbaii about the area, townships, history. It was fascinating, They gave us breakkie when we arrived, a safety briefing and then we headed out. Now i am PETRIFIED of sharks, never quite got over Jaws, so im still in shock that i did this, but Wiehann and the team put you at ease so much so that i genuinely felt excited and couldnt wait to get in the cage.

We were very lucky with the weather and saw a large amount of sharks. One thing i loved was they make sure everyone has a great experience in the cage, its not based on how long you are in there, they base it on how many sharks you see/what u see, which is great because there can be lulls when the sharks get bored and disappear or dont come near the cage. Once back on shore we had a big dins, watched the video, then Wiehann took us to Hermanus to see the whales which was an added bonus.

This day was truly awesome and so cheap for everything you get. I would highly recommend this company for your shark diving experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

A great day out from Capetown. WIEHANN MYBURGH picked us up from a hostel in Capetown and drove us out to the launch spot. He started commentary about south Africa and the sights we saw as soon as we started driving. A great bonus. Lunch and a full safety briefing before we launched. We saw 11 sharks in total and one measuring 4.5m. Snacks and soda were available on board.We dived twice and never felt rushed. After getting back, we were given a hearty lunch and beer. Delicious. Crew on board and at the office were fantastic. Wiehann def made the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adults great, kids not so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We wanted to make this trip special for our family. We specifically asked for suits for our kids 8 and 11 and were re assured that on board it would sorted out. Sadly there was not kids suits, kids had to wear oversized, overused suits and broken boots, too cold to be able to stay in the water and make the great experience, very disappointed kids....Staff on board very kind though. After comments to the office no comments or apologies, customer service not high priorities.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The experience of a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Bad weather had forced us to put this trip off for two consecutive days. Then we were informed that the trip is on on our last day in the area. We arrived early and settled in for breakfast and safety briefing. Soon we were out to sea, in rough weather. When we arrived at our spot we mad our way to the observation deck on top whilst the drew set the cage down. Within minutes we had our first visitor. I was pretty seasick and so were most of the others but I made an effort and dropped into the cage. It was wonderful. I forgot my sickness, my fear and the cold (it was winter). See the monsters glide by us, just inches away from us was an unforgettable experience. I can still see the dark black eye of the great white shark as it swam less than 6 inches from our cage. I felt humbled by the experience. We saw 7 separate great white sharks, the largest was a 19 foot female, and whilst in the cage we had three breaches (shark swims out of the water at speed and comes crashing back down. I have no words for it. WOW!!
On our return we were given a hot meal, recovered from our sea sickness ( I forgot to take seas sickness pills and the weather was really rough, my fault). Then we collected our preordered DVD with video and photos, bought a very cherished t shirt and other stuff, and drove off, nine hours later, tired but very very happy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Ecoventures also viewed

Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to White Shark Ecoventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Shark Ecoventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.