We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales at breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Whalesong Lodge to your Saves list
Whalesong Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Whales at breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment we met Stanley and Lainy we knew our stay at Whalesong Lodge would be very special. Their hospitality, the comfort of the room, the wonderful breakfasts and special ambience made for a happy three nights. The girls looked after us extremely well and the baking is quite heavenly.
We would highly recommend Whalesong Lodge to anybody and yes you really do see whales from the balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with most frontage to the sea, all the better for whale watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalesongDeKelders, Owner at Whalesong Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experienceof Whalesong & De Kelders. It was wonderful sharing our space with you, looking forward to welcoming you back....for some more whale watching & Busiswa's yummy baking!! Warmest wishes Lainy & Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
161
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I do not know where to begin, everything is just fabulous in the Whalesong Lodge!!
The house- perfect as a whole, the rooms- comfortable and beautiful with a great bathroom, the view- MAGNIFICENT, the breakfast- over the top delicious , the staff- attentive and kind- it is a very special place, made very special by its owners! The interior decoration is fantastic, so very well designed and stylish, yet very comfortable and cosy. We expanded our stay for 2 more days, because we loved it so much! Thank you very much Lainy and Stanley for this very special stay- you have created the very perfect hideaway!! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalesongDeKelders, Owner at Whalesong Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for the stunning review...without wonderful guest like yourselves, Whalesong wouldn't be the special place it is! Looking forward to welcoming you back...soonest!!! Warmest regards Lainy & Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Whalesong Lodge is absolutely amazing! We fell totally in love with the stunnig view of the suite. Layny and Stanley are great hosts. We loved the breakfast and the whole surrounding. We will come back for sure. If we do so, we will spend some more days!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Since the reception you can feel how much the owners care for the guests, the suite is fantastic, with great views of the wales and with excellent decoration. The breakfast exceeded our expectations. We are looking forward to return and spent at least three nights in this piece of paradise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Lainy & Stanley and the Whalesong Girls (Bongi, Busiswa and Zanele) are the perfect hosts. Whalesong Lodge itself is in a fantastic location and beautifully-appointed (loved the extensive breakfasts by the open fire, warming those winter mornings). We stayed in the suite with its big bed and candle-lit bath, BOTH affording fantastic views of the newly-arrived whales enjoying themselves! De Kelders is the perfect place to enjoy the beautiful coast line and nature reserves; as well as the Southern Right whales, the White Shark cage-diving is compelling and the privately-guided beachcombing fascinating. Walker Bay at its best!

Room Tip: Not sure about the rest but you can't beat the suite with its 180 degree view of Walker Bay from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great hospitality, comfortable and clean rooms, individually styled. We were surprised about the delicious breakfast and the familiar athmosphere in the house. The sundowner on the terrace is unforgotten as well as the walk on the coastal path.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forchheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

very good hospitality with a warm welcome, nice decorated rooms, superb service, selected wines, various breakfast, view to the sea, sometimes with wales, it is a calm area, sitting on the terrace and have a sundowner, it is a place to relax.

Room Tip: every room has a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whalesong Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.