We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Cliff Str | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We recently went back to Cliff Lodge for the second time and again had a fabulous experience even if there was a lack of whales to watch this time round. The views from all of the rooms are just breathtaking and the hospitality excellent. We'll certainly be going back for a third time at some point.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
275
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed at the Cliff Lodge for the last 2 nights of a 3 week tour of the Garden Route and thought that we had stayed at some pretty special places on route.
But this was in another league - we had booked the Ocean Penthouse Suite and both the accomodation and views were exceptional. We had an enormous bedroom and sitting area both with bi fold doors that opened out onto an enormous private balcony that overlooked the entire sweep of Walker Bay. The accomodation was spacious and beautifully furnished and equiped. Every detail had been considered down to an honesty bar and a telescope to spot the dozens of whales that floated just below the balcony. The common areas had another equally impressive balcony and this was where a super breakfast was served. Gill, Gideon and Nico proved to be perfect hosts and a mine of local information.
They now serve meals on the balcony 3 nights a week and we took advantage of this - super food, beautifully presented and a sunset to die for!
An underrated area with loads to do, Cape Aghulas, Arniston, Struis Bay, Elim to name a few.
Our only regret was not staying for much longer!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

A wonderfully small and intimate hotel with just four rooms. Our fabulous room had spectacular views over the bay where the mother whales and their calves were relaxing when we opened the curtains in the morning.
The young chef employed by our wonderful hosts, Gill and Gideon produced a mouth watering dinner, and the breakfasts kept us fuelled for the day. We liked the idea of the honesty bar whereby we were able to have a drink or snack without having to rouse our delightful manager, Nico.

A definite high spot of our first trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

An absolutely idylic retreat, highly recommended to anyone... Gideon, Gill, Nico and the team were such wonderful hosts, wish it could have been longer

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

This guest house is quite a find. Located right on the cliff edge in De Kelders you're guaranteed wall-to-wall whale watching in season and spectacular views the rest of the time. The staff is fantastic - Gideon, Gill & Nico are extremely hospitable and very friendly. We stayed in the East Room which had a side balcony where we could sit and watch the whales with a glass of wine. The pool on the lower deck also has views right across the bay.
Food was lovely and as I was ill whilst there they brought me a tray of food in to the room. They don't offer dinners but the local eaterie is a small and intimate affair which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth in Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We couldn't believe our luck in finding this beautiful guest house! From the minute we set foot in the house we were made to feel welcome and like part of the family. Gideon, Gill and Nico cannot do enough to make your stay as perfect as possible.
Gideon welcomed us with the best cappacinno ever and homemade biscuits and told us all about the area and 'introduced' us to the whales swimming in front of the lodge!
Our room was beautiful (South room) and very comfortable and the lounge area is great, but the best place to be is sitting at the tables overlooking the ocean - where you eat breakfast - watching the whales right in front of you - the most perfect view!
On our first evening we were offered a meal at Cliff Lodge - they have a cook who comes in 3 times a week to cook an evening meal for guests - this was easily one of the best meals we had during our 2 weeks in South Africa. On the second night Gideon booked us a table at a wonderful little restaurant about 10 minutes walk from the lodge.
During the day we were so happy just to explore the wonderful coastline on foot accompanied by Finn and Murphy the 2 red setter dogs who will guide you wherever you go!! The beaches and coves are fantastic and we saw so many whales so near to us. A perfect place to stay - go there if you can - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I agree with previous excellent reviews. However, choose the Ocean suite, which has has superb panoramic views of the Bay and whales.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Str | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Lodge is a stylish seafront guesthouse, superbly positioned on the cliffs of De Kelders, with breathtaking views. The four luxurious bedrooms have ocean views, satellite television and sea facing patios. The spacious penthouse suite has unbeatable sea views with a huge balcony and glass-fronted living room for whale watching in true style. This is one of the best places in the world to experience land based whale watching and Great White Shark diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.