We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
Cliff Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Cliff Str | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It has been some time since we visited this wonderful place, but we talk about it frequently and with great pleasure! The B&B is absolutely incredible! Our room was very nice (just the fridge was a little bit too loud during the night), with a wonderful view to the bay - as we stayed in late November we were able to watch the whales with their calves from our room. The service was extraordinary, very attentive but not in the slightest importunate. Breakfast was very good, dinner outstanding: Gideon had a young and excellent chef cooking in the house a couple of times per week - we can highly recommend staying at the Cliff Lodge for those evenings!
The location is fantastic, directly on the cliff with a perfect view over the bay. The two dogs will give you an insider tour over the cliff if you want to! :) The surrounding is very quite and the neighborhood felt absolutely safe for us.
We can highly recommend the Cliff Lodge for a romantic stay at the Garden Route!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
311
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It's difficult to know how to even start to describe this wonderful place and people who run it! My husband and I visited South Africa with another couple--friends of ours. Gideon was very kind to help us secure the Ocean Suite and the North Room for all three nights of our stay. The views from these two rooms were phenomenal!!! I cannot say enough about the Ocean Suite--it was the kind of place that one never wants to leave! Chantelle was also extremely kind and helpful to us. She worked with me concerning bookings of activities and even baked a birthday cake for our friend who was celebrating his birthday during the visit!
Gideon was a wealth of knowledge about the entire area. His restaurant suggestions were spot on....in fact the best meal of our entire South Africa trip was the result of one of his recommendations! He also mapped out routes of interest for wine tasting and scenic drives. I really didn't need to do much research at all for the trip--all I really should have done was wait and let Gideon and Chantelle take care of all the ideas for activities! They really knew what guests want to see and do. It was so wonderful.
Chantelle suggested a walk along the beach to a nearby cave. It was such a lovely walk and we got some great photos.
Nico was all smiles and such a pleasure to see each morning at breakfast. And speaking of breakfast....oh my goodness!!! Delicious!!! The omelets that Gideon made were simply out of this world! The mushrooms were sautéd in worcestershire (I think) and I have never tasted anything so great in my life!
We plan to return again and stay much longer. Maybe a full week...I don't think that I could get tired of the view and of watching the whales from my room even if I stayed an entire month.
We saw so many whales from the lodge....even a baby whale who was white!
Spectacular place....outstanding staff....I cannot recommend this place highly enough!!!!

Room Tip: Take the Ocean Suite if you can afford it and it is available. If not, go for the North Room. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took the Ocean suite for 2 nights in this amazing B and B , on the cliffs in De Kelders and we sooo wish we had had more time there. Gideon and his staff have thought of everything you could possibly want and as a result you have the most fantastic experience.
The ocean suite is vast with views to die for. The windows open to the sound of ocean and you can lie in bed ( with the electric blanket on) looking at the amazing views.
The breakfasts are exceptionally good , with free range eggs and wonderful breads , cereals and fruits.
Gideon arranges your reservations for dinner and you can walk safely through the dark to the restaurant listening to the whales blowing ( during whale season)

We will definitely be back to such a marvellous place

Room Tip: spend a bit more and have the ocean suite :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We sadly only spent one night at the Cliff lodge. We were greeted by Chantelle who welcomed us warmly and provided information on the surrounding area. Unfortunately due to the weather we were not able to do the shark cage diving we had booked for the following day. We had requested ocean view rooms and had spectacular views over the cliffs. The Ocean Suite is spacious and comfortable. Gideon and Nico provided an amazing breakfast the following day and the service was second to none. We were a group of 4 and felt really pandered to. Gideon gave us tips on the route to take to get back to Cape Town. This was a far more scenic route than we had planned although we did not get time to take in all of the suggested sights (will have to come back). We did visit Betty's Bay and the Stoney Point penguin coloney which we would have missed without Gideon's guidance. Without reservation I would highly recommend Cliff lodge - and would suggest at least a 3 day stay

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra request the Ocean Suite. We were 2 couples and also had the room below the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perfect location, rooms, views, staff, facilities and thats just the tip of the iceberg. Gideon and his staff were fantastic as was the more than ample fresh breakfast each day. The views from the terraces of the ocean and the right whales were amazing and something that gave this place a unique feel. Restaurant recommendations (excellent recommendations at that!) and bookings were made by Gideon and the team on our behalf and our 3 days there were spent in restful ease. Sad to leave and will go back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed for one night during our honeymoon in SA. Cliff Lodge was a great find, and we are so pleased we choose to stay in de Kelders as opposed to the much busier Hermanus. The location is perfect overlooking the bay and our hosts were really helpful, having already made a booking at a local restaurant before we even arrived. The breakfast was amazing, the best we had in South Africa (where standards are very high!). Just wished we had stayed longer as the weather was very poor during our visit and we were unable to go out on a whale boat. Suggest booking for a minimum of 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was told 4 nights in De Kelders is too much… no way, I could have stayed much longer!! It is such an incredible place with such nice people. Started with the West Room which is nice for a couple or people who like to have their privacy because the entrance is downstairs at the outside, near the pool. When I came back from dinner Chantelle (the one who bakes delicious carrot cake) had already lighted some candles and lights in my room because she knew I didn’t like the darkness. Breakfast is delicious with the best cappuccino and carrot juice, fruitsalad and of course many other things, all fresh. This all comes with an unbeatable view over Walker Bay (no street in between) where I saw many whales and dolphins. Moved than upstairs to the North Room which has a beautiful private balcony. On my last night there was such a storm that Nico was so kind to put a second heater in my room. Nothing is too much and everything is done with a big smile. Had a flat tyre and Gideon had already arranged to have it repaired and also found somebody to take me to Gansbaai that morning. Hiking, just step outside of the door and you can walk for hours through a beautiful landscape (if you manage to get out of that chair on your balcony staring at the ocean!)… hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Str | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Lodge is a stylish seafront guesthouse, superbly positioned on the cliffs of De Kelders, with breathtaking views. The four luxurious bedrooms have ocean views, satellite television and sea facing patios. The spacious penthouse suite has unbeatable sea views with a huge balcony and glass-fronted living room for whale watching in true style. This is one of the best places in the world to experience land based whale watching and Great White Shark diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.