We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small boat but close look to the whale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dyer Island Cruises

Dyer Island Cruises
5 Geelbek Street, Gansbaai, South Africa
+27(0)28 384 0406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 attractions in Gansbaai
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: "Discover & Protect"Dyer Island Cruises is a world-recognized 5-star boat based whale watching company operating in Kleinbaai, WC, South Africa. Our exclusive tours of a maximum 24 passengers offers everyone the same experience of personalized service, exceptional views, and only the best.Our team of guides/skippers/marine biologists is unique to whale watching in South Africa. Our vessel, Whale Whisperer, is custom built for boat based whale watching and superior in safety and comfort. We pride ourselves in our passion for conservation as well as customer service. And we also live by our boat's motto: "Life - an adventure to be lived, not a problem to be solved!"
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Small boat but close look to the whale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We did get very close to the whales and also see the dolphins as well. The boat is small, so be prepared to endure the tough sea. I think half of the people on the boat ended up throwing up as the sea was really rough the day we went in. If you are prone to sea sickness, be warned.
However, if you are ok with rough sea, you are able to see spectacular whales, plus thousands of seals (they are stink though).
The warm soup at the end was what we needed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! If you are prone to sea sickness we advise you to take your motion sickness tablets before going out to sea. It just makes the whole experience a bit easier. Thank you for choosing Dyer Island Cruises and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A very slick operation - lovely crew, welcome coffees, and boat perfect for viewing. We saw several southern right whales, one of which swam right up to the boat close enough to touch. Headed to shark alley to see the hundreds of seals playing in the water and noisily chattering whilst crowding together on the rocks, and finally ... The humpback whale, spotted by our tracker at 2.5 kilometres away. Hot soup and sandwiches ready on our return. A brilliant experience :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review!!! Our staff are highly trained and experts at spotting and locating marine wildlife. It is our passion to share knowledge and educate our clients about our wonderful coast line and everything it has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well organised outfit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fully recommend this whale watching tour for the following reasons: -

Well organised, processed people & payments quickly.
Ratio of staff on board was high (12 guests, 4 staff members).
Return soup to warm up, was just what was needed.
Modern company providing dropbox link to video if purchased (keeping costs down).
Fund raising talk at the beginning was non-obtrusive.


Plus we saw a load of animals (whales, shark, seals, penguins).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your great recommendation!!! Sounds like you had an awesome trip and also saw 4 of the Marine Big 5! We strive to make your trip as memorable as possible and educate our clients from a conservation point of view. We "Discover & Protect" and by choosing Dyer Island Cruises, your choice makes a difference. Please do visit us again :)

Warm regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“wonderful well organized professional trip ,highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were in Hermanus for few days and our hotel recommended this company.My husband and I were so glad they did. It was very well organized with welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Wind and shower proof jackets were provided to wear over our life jackets if needed, a welcome addition as weather was very blustery. The Captain, Peter and his crew couldn't have been nicer and we saw what we wanted to see Whales and seals and penguins. We were very lucky to get out as the next 2 days trips were cancelled due to weather so safety is their main concern.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the awesome review! Our winter storms has had quite a big impact on our trips in the last month with many "no sea" days. Mother Nature sure knows how to shake things up during whale season :). Non the less, I'm glad to hear you guys had a gap in the weather and could experience this absolutely stunning wild life we have to offer. Please come visit us again!

Warm regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great but no Greats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked the whale/shark and penguin watching trip.The weather always impacts on these tours so sadly we didn't see one shark which was really a shame however we did get up close to some southern right whales which was good enough to make the trip worth while and seal island was stunning to view.

A very nice touch is the owners short pre tour talk on the plight of the African penguin which we found to be very touching. You don't have to but we did in fact donate to this and have sponsored a nesting box which we found to be a nice thing to do given we had visited the penguins the day before at Boulders bay. So anyone else going do please consider this as a good cause and give them some help.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the review! We sadly can't guarantee sharks on our whale watching trips. But if you are interested in meeting eye to eye with the majestic Great Whites, be sure to book a shark diving/viewing trip with Marine Dynamics @ www.sharkwatchsa.com to avoid disappointment.

Cheers,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyer Island Cruises also viewed

Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Dyer Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyer Island Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dyer Island Cruises to your Saves list