We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Supreme Sharks

Supreme Sharks
Klienbaai Harbor, Gansbaai, South Africa
+27 (0)28 384 2316
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

What a great tour, they explain everything very well what you can expect. Captain is one very funny person. It is a long drive from Capetown but it is very worth it is so amazing that you dont care that water is only 10c. A definitely must do thing if you are in south afrika.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    3
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Day Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

I have always wanted to cage dive with sharks, so on our holiday to Cape Town this year we decided to look into it. This company were highly recommended by a local contact so we booked up.
The day was fantastic; we were collected from our local area, shuttled (in a minibus) to the location of the port and taken home again all for a very reasonable price.
The running of the day was well organised; the main guy had a great sense of humour and rapport with the attendees and of course the actual activity itself was breathtaking.
One of the best experiences of our trip.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most amazing experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I was not expecting it to be so good! We had to report at 8am and a full English breakfast was available for the guests!
We got our wetsuits and waterproof bag and walked to the boat. After a 30 minute boat ride we got to the spot and after a briefing the first group of 8 went into the cage. The lure with the fish heads attracts the sharks and within minutes we saw a shark. And not 1, but in the end we saw 8 different sharks. The crew was professional, took the time to get everyone in and out of the cage. One of the crew was taking pictures and an other one was taking a film for us to purchase later.
We spent a good 3 hours and everyone could go in the cage more than once.
The crew was enthusiastic and talked about the great whites and kept everything under control.
Drinks and sandwiches were supplied and when we returned there was hot soup and a chance to shower.
My boys and I loved every minute of it.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thought i would be disappointed..... but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Being a south african you're generally sceptical about being ripped off, and the possibility of not seeing anything was always at the back of my mind....we met at their offices for a brief and a good breakfast before heading out to sea. The visibility was only 1 meter in the water and the sea temperature was ice cold but that did not stop me from putting my hand up to be part of the first group of 4 to jump into the cage. Yip the sharks did not disappoint in fact we saw 7 different sharks on this trip. After our fair share of time in the water the next 4 got in and were also happy to see the great whites up close. I must say i preferred it up on the boat as one had a better view of the awesome size of these creatures but am glad i braved the cold to feel them brushing past the cage. The team were very professional and answered all my questions and more. Another hilight was the bird watching as the boat approached the dive site. Our boat had a photographer and videographer on board and i purchased the disc which cost R400 (be sure to inform the cameraman of your intentions to buy the discs afterwards so that they take extra pics of you with the sharks) we were given a second chance to get into the cage and most of the tourists did. Be sure to take a gopro with that has a string attached to it cos once u in the cage and holding onto the bars its easy to let go of it and becomes shark bait. We paid around R1200pp including the vid and photo discs but some foreigners got the trip for less and others for more... A quick tip try booking a dive and stay trip in gansbaai as it works out cheaper. Gansbaai backpacker lodge has a special on at the moment... enjoy..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Good morning out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Started with a good breakfast, followed by a safety brief and then out on the water before the majority of the other companies. This worked out well as we saw a lot of great whites as they weren't too distracted. We were a group of eight and had more than enough time in the cage for viewing. Note that the visibility in the water during the Autumn isn't great so viewing is just as good on the deck! (We were made aware of this prior to the trip by the company). Snacks and drinks on board and return, good morning out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supreme Sharks also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Supreme Sharks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Supreme Sharks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.