We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra ordinary place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kelders Private Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added De Kelders Private Villa to your Saves list
De Kelders Private Villa
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   35 Main Rd De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extra ordinary place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Neil's house.
Beers by the pool, long walks by the sea, talks in the inspiring house and a more than welcoming host.
You can't dream of a better place to kick back and just take in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Anne

thank you so much for your review. it was wonderful to receive you in our home - next time you must stay longer.

warm de kelders wishes

neil + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
86
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Well to start with,I had no idea where I was going,which made the suprise all the more intriguing! Nothing could have prepared me for the peace and tranquility of De Kelders Private villa, Scrumptious hearty dinners and a breakfast set for Kings and Queens, prepared and served by Neil himself,all freshly made with produce from the area.A most engaging host if ever you will find one.Luleka spoilt me rotten!!Neil also asissted my partner with organising a massage and horse riding excursion which blew me away and adviced us on were to go when we left De Kelders.Attention to detail,exellent service and the most beautifully designed house make this a haven we will definately be returning to! Enjoy and many thanks to Neil,Luleka,Fara and Taluna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Imaan

thank you for your review - it was so special to receive you in our home and to see how much you loved the house and de kelders.

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at De Kelders for 2 nights in March 2013 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Had a wonderfully relaxing weekend in this amazing house. Neil, Samkelo and Fara and Tuluna made us feel very at home. Neil cooked us the most amazing dinner and the breakfasts were also fantastic. Many thanks to Neil and his staff for a great stay. Hope to come back and see you soon.

David and Cindy Willcock

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
dear David and Cindy

thank you for your review - it was wonderful to have you as guests in our home -

we do hope to see you soon - enjoy the days of autumn

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked the private Villa the 2nd time within 4 weeks for another night on our Roundtrip. And everything was just perfect: the beautiful Mansion, our stylish Room with Spa, the cool pool, the Drinks, the Food & Dinner (which was served by the owner himself - many thanks to Neil and his stuff, also to Fara & Taluna)... We went to the wonderful Beach nearby and Neil gave us on our arrival a carebag packed with Towels, Food & Water! It is such a lovely place to stay - a real Gem for Body & Mind...We felt like Honeymooners! And we will return for sure! Therefore - Thanks again, Neil for your kindness!!

Room Tip: Room with the Spa is excellent! But also the other 2 Rooms are quiet nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
dear Michael

thank you so much for your kind review, it was wonderful for us to have you.

the beaches await you !

please visit us soon - best to Kristine

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a fantastic 5 night stay at De Kelders Private Villa, over the Xmas period, in December 2012. Their staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was scrumptious. Dinners are served on special request and cooked by the resident owner/chef himself. We enjoyed the views from the patio and the relaxing and calming atmosphere of the house.
There are plenty of things to do in Kelders, wine tasting, scuba diving, whale watching, shark diving, wine farm visits and beach walks, to name but a few.
My favorite activity are beach walks.
We would love to do it again.
J & D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
dear Jurgen

thank you for your kind review and highlighting all the activities that one can do in our immediate area.

warm wishes to the family

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this place for two nights in Februari and we had some mixed feelings about it.
Let's first mention that the house itself is gorgeous, that the rooms are amazing, and that the decoration is something special!
One of the surprises was that we were expecting dinner to be served at the villa. However, this turned out to be a reservation at a quite fancy restaurant across the street.
Something else that made our stay less enjoyable is the fact that there is really nothing to do in De Kelders and almost nothing to do in Gansbaai. When there are no whales you can watch, you can only go out on a shark trip and that's it...
Furthermore, the fact that the house itself is beautiful, also makes it feel a bit like you're in a museum and that you have to walk on your toes.
Another comment I would like to make; on their website the place is being sold as "Private beach villa", which is over-selling the place a bit. The villa is not on the beach (it's 100m away from cliffs and the nearest beach is at least 1 km away) and the place is not private (as there are in total three rooms).
The main reason for my lower "medium" rating is that the value for money was not extremely high comparing the place with others in South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Michiel

Thank you for your review – we value all feedback from our guests, and take it very seriously.

We run one the smallest guest houses in South Africa with only 3 large bedrooms, and ¾ of the house is dedicated to comfortable, beautiful guest spaces with ample lounge areas; terraces with views; the secluded private pool area and a serene private garden. Guests do not share living space with the owners, and each room has a private deck and sitting area. For this reason we consider the guest house to be exclusive and very private - hence the name PRIVATE house.

We are not a budget destination and feel that we offer good value for money to our guests. The privacy and style of this house, as well as the attention to detail and service justify the price. We run wonderful slow season specials offers that will make it more affordable for you, next time you visit South Africa.

De Kelders is a traveler destination, not a tourist destination. Your comments about the area being quiet and perfect for relaxation are true. Travelers frequent De Kelders and fall in love with the stillness of this beautiful village. You can do so many hikes, spend days on the private beach that is 1km from us, do many wine tasting farm visits, quad bike or walks through the fynbos, horse riding on the beach, enjoy one of the most beautiful sunsets in the world. Nearby you find the historic village of Elim, the hamlet Stanford which is known for bird life, small town markets, its own brewery and many other small town delights. We make it clear on our web site that De Kelders is quiet and relaxing, and therefore our guests know what to expect when they choose this area. If it’s hustle and bustle you are after for your holiday – this is not the area for you!

We are proud of our achievement to have been voted as one of the top 25 B&B's in South Africa for 2013. The Tripadvisor achievement award was awarded, by the reviews of our guests whom have loved De Kelders PRIVATE house.

Thank you for your kind words in our visitors’ book which read as follows:

“We had a lovely stay in your house, enjoying the interior decoration & exterior views of the bay & the mountains. The ladies and Chris received us very kindly! “ Michiel Dekker

Warm De Kelders wishes to your family

neil + staff ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay at De Kelders private House was to experience the best of everything. The owner, Neil Stemmet, placed his home in our hands. We enjoyed the eclectic decor, the sumptuous accommodation and the breathtaking view of Walker Bay. Samkello, of the laughing eyes, laid out a selection of her home made bread, and served us splendid breakfasts, she is a gem. We were fortunate to have a meal cooked for us by Neil which was startlingly unfussy but incredibly delicious and which we appreciated greatly. Unfortunately, we had golf to play and wine tasting to attend to otherwise we would not have left this haven of tranquility. Angela and Godfrey Allaway

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
dear Godfrey and Angela

thank you so much for your kind words - you have made our day - Samkelo is reeling with pleasure for your compliments on her breakfast and i am humbled by your accolades

we do hope to receive you, back here in de kelders, soon

warmest de kelders PRIVATE house greetings

neil + Samkelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Address: 35 Main Rd De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2013 Joint winner of the top 25 B&Bs and guest houses in South Africa. 2014 No 1 in the Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration and Conde Nast House&Garden the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Kelders Private Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.