We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant in Gansbaai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tolbos Bistro

Tolbos Bistro
38 Kerk st | Overlooking the Gansbaai Harbour, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
0283841560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: African, Coffee Shop, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Where you can enjoy the fusion of Overberg hospitality,fresh seafood and South African meals. Child friendly non smoking section.Dailly specials on our display boards.Local beer served at our fully licensed bar in the smoking section.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Gansbaai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Excellent lunch at Tolbos with lovely views over the Harbour of Gansbaai. Very kid vriendly (although unfortunately no changing table). Friendly and efficient enough service incl a quick check by the owner as well. The meal was absolutely great, mussels and calamari for the wife and hake and calamari for me. Very very tasty and beautifull presented served with salad or roast butternut and a vegetable pocket as well as chips or rice. Lovely way to spend a lazy afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolbosBistro, Owner at Tolbos Bistro, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We at Tolbos are glad that we could make your second visit to our restaurant an enjoyable one.Thanks for bringing the baby changing facilities under our attention.When next time we see you that would definitively be sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice taste of Gansbaai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My brother and I ate dinner here two nights. The food was very good, the location is excellent. We got to know Wayne, the owner/chef. He is great to talk to and has a lot of stories about the area. He is a fisherman and he catches and knows about what he serves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolbosBistro, Owner at Tolbos Bistro, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a revue for Tolbos.Hope the rest of your stay in our beautiful country was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Received a heartly welcome, followed by drinks overlooking the ocean view. The food was amazing, different to mass produced orders and providing a new fusion of tastes(ribs with pinapple and honey infused basting). Well done Tolbos, will see you again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steelpoort, South africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“There is a reason why there is always place at Tolbos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When all other restaurants are full you will always find space at Tolbos. Their food is not always consistent. Service was slow both times. Food was average the first time the second time around it was ice cold.
Cold chips do not taste nice. They can definitely do more to provide shade.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“To rate or not to rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to Tolbos on a morning when there was no electricity in Gansbaai. They managed to produce a fair breakfast in difficult circumstances. The service was not great but understandably taking into account what they had to work with. A few gas stoves and allot of hungry customers. Looking at the menu and setting it might deserve a much better rating. However taking into account the totally wrong order received and having to wait ages being told the card machine does not work then yes it does then no it doesn't etc ect I would normally have rated worse. I will go back and try them again!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolbos Bistro also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Tolbos Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolbos Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.