We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saxon Lodge to your Saves list
Saxon Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 1 Muller Street | Gansbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% 'eSPECIALly' for you
Ranked #7 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best stay ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is all about the hospitality. Dave and Caron both made us all feel at home.

Great location great accomadation and great people to spend time with.

The owners knowledge of the area was brilliant pointing us to all the great points of interest and good places to eat.

Caron cooked us an evening meal and it was amazing i can see why they request notice because they went out and bought all fresh products and cooked all from fresh ....thanks Caron!

Amazing place with amazing surroundings I have seen the real South Africa not the South Africa the media wants us to see.

We arrived as guests left as friends.

Simon T

Room Tip: Book dinner in advance it's worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    37
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
80
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Dave, Caron and their lovely dogs made this one of our favourite stops on our South Africa trip. They were both extremely hospitable and helpful with Dave booking me last minute onto a caged shark dive which I really appreciated. The rooms are lovely surrounding a terrace and a great little pool overlooking the harbour - it was a very welcoming place to stay. The bar was a lovely touch and the breakfast was the best breakfast in South Africa!! So delicious. There are lovely restaurants nearby and Dave was always willing to make recommendations. We truly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here one night - far too short. The hospitality was amazing! Caron and Dave make you feel so welcome, it's like staying with family! The rooms are nice and clean and the pool is very inviting. There are plenty of restaurants close by and the pub at the Saxon Lodge is great, giving the place an extra thumbs-up! We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our stay at Saxon Lodge was among the best during our two weeks travel in SA. Dave and Caron are so friendly and the rooms were excellent. The pub (especially the wine) gave the place an extra dimension. The view over the bay was magnificent. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We used Saxon Lodge for a company getaway combined with a shark cage dive. It was the perfect venue in Gansbaai. The owners are just so friendly, helpful and professional. Everything is clean and neat. Nice views of the harbour. Really fresh and tasty food. Brilliant pub including and excellent selection of local craft beer;-).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The Saxon Lodge is centrally located about five minutes drive from the shark cage dive operators. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The staff were very friendly and there is ample parking. This is a good place to stay with several good restaurants close by.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the review. Such a pity you could not stay longer and see more of Gansbaai. We wish you a very blessed and happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I can't say enough about the wonderful owners of Saxon Lodge!! They went above and beyond to ensure we had the best stay not only at the guest house but also in the activities we did in the area. We had a problem with our shark diving booking and they went out of their way to help us. By the end of our stay we felt sad to leave them as they are both such great people!
Breakfast is big and wonderful, the best we've had the whole trip!
The rooms are clean and simple- no frills but this is a no frills type of town. My only tiny complaint is it was a bit warm in our room due to it's summer and there is no a/c. But overall a great stay, we would stay here again and recommend this GH to anyone!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Lodge

Address: No 1 Muller Street | Gansbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saxon Lodge is situated in Gansbaai, the world's Great White Shark capital, in the Western Cape, a short, beautiful, 2 hour drive from Cape Town and Cape Town International airport and an hour from L'Agulhas, the southern-most tip of Africa. This makes Saxon Lodge a great central point for exploring the Cape Overberg and its natural bounty.The lodge boasts 9 spacious en-suite rooms, most of which have private view verandas with great sea views. All the rooms have just been repainted and individually redecorated to create a tranquil and restful ambiance - a "home from home" feeling. We have double and twin rooms and 2 family suites for families or groups travelling together.A private, well stocked residents' bar and restaurant (pre-booking essential) provides privacy and exclusivity for guests to enjoy and share their experiences and space with each other. Other facilities include a plunge pool, central lounge with large format TV, FREE WIFI, ample parking and a viewing deck with spectacular views over Walker Bay and the Overberg mountains. It is commonplace to see the Southern Right Whales frolicking in the bay from June to December and the sunsets are something to behold!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Saxon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.