We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for one or two nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saxon Lodge to your Saves list
Saxon Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 1 Muller Street, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Stellendam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for one or two nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The saxon lodge is a perfect place to stay for one or two nights,the bed was very small I fall out of it but that is the only thing ,the spot and the staff where very friendly also dave and caron who really will do every thing for you to make you feel home,two dogs and a cat welcome us that makes it feel even more than home, the room was very clean and had every thing in it and it all works what you can not say about some other b&bs breakfast was good not to much choice but also not bad at all, to bad the weather was not good so we did not see the sharks maybe the next time and than we go to dave and caron again bud only if we get a room with a bigger bed ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonLodge, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you felt the bed was too small, had I known this whilst you were here I could have moved you to a suite with a bigger bed on the second night.

I would appreciate suggestions on how to extend our breakfast buffet beyond the juice, cereals, fruit salad, whole fruit, yoghurt, bread selection, muffins and toppings. The only thing I can think of would be to add some cold meats perhaps. We have found that most of our guests tend not to eat the cold meats and cheeses which creates such waste. Mostly guests go for our full South African cooked breakfast after a light buffet starter.

I do hope you had good weather in CApe Town and managed to get some fishing in before you returned home.
Best regards
Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
64
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Caron and Dave made us feel like being at home. We stayed for 3 nights. The purpose of the trip was to dive with the white shark, but thanks to Dave's recommendation we discovered in addition beautiful places in the region. The best of the trip was the walk we did with Caron and Dave to watch wales on the cost. We saw almost 15 wales just few meters to the shore. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Dave, Caron, the two dogs and the cat were absolutely great. They were helpful in organizing the events I had planned and gave me tips for the rest of my journey that were spot on.

The room was comfortable and clean. Wifi didn't work in the room I was in but was easily accessible in the common area. Not only was a great breakfast provided, but Caron cooked up an exceptional dinner for the group of us that were staying there.

This is the town where all the shark diving and whale watching occurs. Why would you stay in Hermanus and have to get transported here? Just stay here. Everything you need.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Dave & Caron made me feel very welcome and looked after me like one of there own, my room was fantastic the hotel was clean and homely, the food was spot on and it was great value for money. I will be staying there again highly recommended. Jason Fisher.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Saxon Lodge in April 2012 with the 9th Italian expedition on the white shark. We were received very well, and pampered every day! Being in 4 vegetarians, Caron has done everything possible and impossible to offer us different dishes every day and always very good! Eaten very well, rooms very nice and clean, Dave and Caron always kind and friendly, as long as the last day we all went out together! Absolutely recommended to all!!! Book in advance because the rooms are not many!
Ester and Carlos

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight in Gansbaai before we went cage diving. Didn't fancy the 4am pick up from Cape Town. Found Saxon Lodge, and it was perfect. My wife and I were on our honeymoon, and without knowing it Dave and Caron had made up the Honeymoon suite for us.
The room was lovely. Big bed, plenty of space to open bags, and a lovely big bathroom with a huge shower.
Once were settled, we went down to the bar. We sat talking to Dave and Caron with a cold one in our hands. there were lovely people, and it could so easily have turned into one of those nights where you just stay up chatting, and before you know it, it's 2am. They were so welcoming, and a lot of fun. As it was, we needed to eat, and having previously said we would go out, they sent us off to a local restaurant where we dined on local traditional food.
All in all. A lovely place to stay, and it's a stone's throw from the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We recently wend shark cage diving in Gaansbaai and chose to stay at Saxon Lodge in Muller Street. We found the perfect mix of reasonably priced, spotless and comfortable accommodation, incredible food, friendly and helpful staff, amazing views and my favourite, ice cold draught beer on tap! Dave and Caron are always available if you need their advise on local spots to visit, the local bird life or any other information on the town and its surroundings. Dave so kindly took us to an amazing, unspoilt nature reserve between Hermanus and Gansbaai in his Land Rover.

Many lodges and hotels around South Africa can really learn from Saxon Lodge. They got it together, Well done Dave and Caron. We will see you soon!

Room Tip: The Albatros room has the BEST views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Lodge

Address: No 1 Muller Street, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saxon Lodge is situated in Gansbaai, the world’s Great White Shark capital, in the Western Cape, a short, beautiful, 2 hour drive from Cape Town and Cape Town International airport and an hour from L’Agulhas, the southern-most tip of Africa. This makes Saxon Lodge a great central point for exploring the Cape Overberg and its natural bounty.The lodge boasts 9 spacious en-suite rooms, most of which have private view verandas with great sea views. All the rooms have just been repainted and individually redecorated to create a tranquil and restful ambiance – a “home from home” feeling. We have double and twin rooms and 2 family suites for families or groups travelling together.A private, well stocked residents’ bar and restaurant provides privacy and exclusivity for guests to enjoy and share their experiences and space with each other. Other facilities include a plunge pool, central lounge with large format TV, FREE WIFI, ample parking and a viewing deck with spectacular views over Walker Bay and the Overberg mountains. It is commonplace to see the Southern Right Whales frolicking in the bay during their season here and the sunsets are something to behold!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Saxon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.