We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Save
You added Marebella Seafront Guesthouse to your Saves list
29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cupertino, California
1 review
“A delightful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I began our vacation in South Africa with two nights at this wonderful place with a stunning oceanfront view. After traveling to Cape Town from California via New York and Johannesburg, we were delighted to relax and unwind in the beauty of this area, at this warm and inviting B & B with incredibly friendly and knowledgeable hosts. Our two nights here gave us the R & R we needed to continue our fabulous visit to South Africa. They booked our shark cage diving, which was great, and our dinner reservations at small nearby dining venues which we would not have found on our own. Their wine country recommendations are also top-notch! Don't miss an opportunity to spend time with Gerhardt and Shalene. Thank you again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ron and Mary,
Thank you again for your email report regarding my recommendations for the various wine estates. I have enjoyed reading your experiences very much, you have truly become a South African wine expert! It would be wonderful if you would return again to us, I would enjoy many more discussions with you about wine and who knows, maybe I would join you on a wine excursion!
Everything of the best to both of you,
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
170
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful place.The view from our room and from terrace was absolutely magnificence.Gerhard and Shalene are very hospitable.Their advises were great help for us.Brilliant accomodation with brilliant hosts!We hope for coming back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Irina and Alexey, it was great having you from so far away where the temperatures at the moment are quite different to De Kelders. We would look forward to see you again, maybe during the whale season. Thank you again for staying with us, we wish you both well, Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! We were touring along the coast during December. Having camped the past few nights and not having made any bookings, I was sure that we would not be able to find a nice place to spend the night... taking a WELL DESERVED break from camping. The hospitality AND great value for money was a wonderful surprise when we arrived at Marebella. Great view, lovely people, awesome! Thanks a million!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

From the balcony of the room or the spacious terrace of the guest house you have magnificent views over the sea and of course the whales that play right in front of the guest house. When we were there beginning of November there were at least 10 whales constantly present making jumps out of the water, flapping their fins ... The hosts of this guesthouse made the experience even more enjoyable as they will take the best care of you with genuine tips and support where needed. They know the best restaurants in town and will help with planning a walking trip along the shore. Truly superb! Oh and don't forget to ask Gerhard about his wines, you can find some south-african gems in his cellar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottrop-Kirchhellen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It was our third stay at Marebellla and we wouldn't come here so often if we are not sure to have a marvellous stay with two charming hosts.
Gerhard is a very, very experienced man who can give countless tips for an exciting stay at de Kelders.The rooms are well furnished, with a balcony with direct views of the Atlantic Ocean where the whales frolicking around in November on the way to the antartic.
Shalene is the soul of the House and takes care of all things a guest has on the heart; the breakfast is excellent with everything included served on the patio.
With both, Gerhard and Shalene, you will get an unforgetable hospitality and warmth and it was awful hard to say goodbye.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Helmut and Ursula, your kind words have touched our hearts. It is always a pleasure and it so much fun to have you with us at Marebella. You are a very special couple and we are already looking forward to your next visit. We just know that you will return. Best wishes for 2013 and may your favourite soccer team continue to prosper.
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neufahrn bei Freising, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our first deKelders experience but surely not the last stay! The guest house is directly located at the shore. It is just a short walk to beautiful beaches along the cliffs.
The guesthouse is very modern with a familial atmosphere where you directly feel you are at home. The terasse is the perfect location for a sundowner and when you are lucky (as we were) you can have a drink and watch the whales swimming into sunset.
Gerhard and Shalene know nearly everything about the region, restaurants and "must sees" in south africa sharing this to their guests.
We spent a wonderful time at their place and can recommend it to any other who wants to travel to gaansbai area.
We will be back!
PS: don't miss the spare ribs at lighthouse tavern:-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Jens and Andrea, It would be lovely if you both could return and continue to explore our paradise. We promise to have the spare ribs ready for you upon your next visit. Stay well and everything of the best.
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

for the third time we stayed some days in Marebella Guesthouse and we allways enjoy the marvellous, luxuary, cosy 'room -with-a- view' on
the sea and the sound of the whales in the background! Their breakfast- under- the- sky is unforgettable! Shalene and Gerhard make you feel special! And we allways want to go back!

Room Tip: it's the best place to spot whales, much better than Hermanus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Annie and Edwin,
It was wonderful to see you for the third time and we hope that you will still come back to our little piece of paradise. The walk with you and your friends to Die Plaat was most enjoyable and to share the nature with an artist like you, Annie, is most inspiring. Pity your studio is so far away. Till the next time, dear friends, all the very best.
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxury guest rooms on the seafront with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from June to December. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.