We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Save
You added Marebella Seafront Guesthouse to your Saves list
29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“First rate experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Can only wholeheartedly recommend Marebella and agree with all the positive comments already posted. Such welcoming hosts and a unique whale watching experience , all contained in beautiful, comfortable accommodation. Full marks to Gerhard and Shalene for a very professional yet personal service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Sandra and Bob, comments like yours make us very proud indeed! We hope to see one day again, it would be wonderful.
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
170
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Couldn't agree more with many of the posts already posted here. Shalene and Gerhard are delightful hosts, and the Marebella on the cliff road at De Kelders is the perfect place to watch whales. We spent a wonderful morning stretching out our breakfast as we returned time and again to the balcony to snap pictures of the many whales that swam in front of us, including a rare albino calf - magical! Hermanus may be advertised as the "whale-watching capital", but we were much better rewarded watching from the cliffs of De Kelders. DO have dinner at Kloeks@home (...Shalene made the reservation for us). DO get Gerhard to give you tips on where to taste wine in Franschhoek. We only spent one nigh at the Marebella, but it was a great way to start our Western Cape holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The owners, Gerhard and Shalene are two of the most helpful, enthusiastic, welcoming people we have met. We felt very much at home and would recommend any traveller that finds themselves in the Gansbaai area to book a night at Marebella. Scroll through their photos of the house, it really speaks for itself - amazing.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheyern, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If You visit the bay of Hermanus for whalewatching, show Hermanus the cold shoulder and continue to the Marebella Seafront Guesthouse in de Kelders. There you will find clean and spacious room overlooking the bay of Hermanus. Whale watching is even possible from your room or during breakfast in the lounge. The owners, Shalene and Gerhard, are very nice and helpful (for example the tip for the restaurant kloeks@home and the route advices)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent one night at this Guesthouse. Warm welcome by Shalene. Room spacious and clean. Guesthouse is overlooking the bay in which the whales are swimming, just around 100 meters from shore. Breakfast is great.

Tip for restaurant in Gansbaai: Kloeks@home. A 5 minute walk from the guesthouse. Food is good, bring your own alcohol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabris, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you spent some time in De Kelders, don't miss Shalene & Gherard Guesthouse. The location is just Great, with whales at your feet and the owners are more than nice. Withe only two rooms its cosy and warm.

Gerard from France

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The sea was stormy and our shark-cage diving trip was delayed. Drove around, found Marebella and stayed 2 nights. Fantastic views (see picture), a very nice and comfortable room and very helpful owners. Gerhard gave us directions for a great, full day trip - Elim, the Black Oystercatcher Winery and L'Aguilhas . After the storm, Shalene booked for us a shark-cage diving trip.
The only disapointment was the fact that WiFi was only available in the lounge and in the dining room. However, Shalene and Gerhard encouraged us to sit there, offered us tea and coffee while we were using our laptops and made us feel at home. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxury guest rooms on the seafront with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from June to December. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.