We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay if you are in Gaansbai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umnenge Lodge & Charters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Umnenge Lodge & Charters to your Saves list
Umnenge Lodge & Charters
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Eden &15 & 17 Smuts Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay if you are in Gaansbai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in October 2012. From the minute we arrived we were very comfortable and felt at home. Richard, Mary and the boys are gracious and entertaining hosts. Dora the dog is really lovely. Breakfast is really superb.
the rooms are.... wow!
It's a shame the overhead telephone line across the street spoiled the photos of the bay taken from our balcony. That is my only complaint and Richard and Mary can't do anything about this!
Thank you both for a super stay.

Room Tip: If the quality of a place is judged by the bathroom then Umnenge Lodge is 6 star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

we had a great of this very luxuyious guest house.The bedroom was very spacious and comprised balcony.With great to the sea and the whales.The location is nearby the bat caves.Richard and Mary do everything if you ask them for activities.They are simpley the best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nazaire, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stay three nights at the Umnenge Lodge last july and we had a perfect time!We had a very nice welcome by our host Richard an Mary,they was ready for to help and show us some interesting things all the time whene we need.Our room was great with a very beautiful view on the sea,we saw some whales jumping sometimes,incredibale!!!From the lodge it was very easy to go eat somewhere by walk too by the sea front and it's possible to see some smal animals in the rock and again some whales,sometimes 5,only in few minutes walking!!!We will save a very good souvenir of this time at the Umnenge Lodge and whant to say again Thank you so much at Richard and Mary again for Their kindness.It's sure we will come back next year!
Sébastien and Gee.

Room Tip: A very good room with a sea view,it's possible to see some whales from the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Boer
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I just returned from Cape Town from a business trip. I spent 2 nights at Umnenge Lodge. And I must say, it was great. I wondered what makes Umnenge such a special place and to me the answer is the great hospitality shown by Richard and Mary and their sons. From the first second I felt home away from home. A lodge that I can recommend without any hesitation to rest seekers and marine life enthousiast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The owners, Richard and Mary, have created a charming lodge in Gansbaii. They are a most hospitable couple, who can provide lots of information about the various activities the area offers. We found the rooms to be large and beautifully decorated, along with a private balcony facing the sea. In addition to a delicious breakfast, they offer a home-cooked dinner, if so desired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

What a find! Richard and Mary have created (and literally built) a welcoming, beautifully appointed and charming haven in a fabulous location. They are enterprising and attentive hosts and Richard is a mine of information to ensure you get the most from the area. The rooms are spacious with great views and a private balcony for a relaxing sun-downer. Breakfast is copious and cooked before your eyes as you discuss the prospects for the day. Unlike many parts of SA the area is very safe and any security needed is at a minimum. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights, Jan 3-5 in this beatiful lodge in De Kelders. View from balcony of our room was breathtaking. De Kelders is really the most beatiful sea coast of SA we exoerienced during 2 weeks. Unfortunately whales were not there((

Special words I have to say to Richard and Mary. Their hospitality was so pleasant for us. Thank you guys! It was real pleasure and good memories.

We did not make fishing with Richard. I wish we did.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umnenge Lodge & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umnenge Lodge & Charters

Address: 1 Eden &15 & 17 Smuts Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Umnenge Lodge & Charters 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umnenge is a family friendly luxury African lodge situated on the rugged cliffs of De Kelders near Gansbaai in South Africa. Umnenge Lodge is a member of Guest House Association South Africa and has received 4 Stars from the Tourism Council South Africa. "Umnenge" is a Xhosa expression meaning 'whale in the bay' and refers to the Southern Right Whale which can be seen from Umnenge Lodge, frolicking in the waters of Walker bay from June to January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Umnenge Lodge & Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umnenge Lodge & Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.