We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a little ripped off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Trading Post

Village Trading Post
29 Schoeman Street, De Rust, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in De Rust
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Listed on facebook : Village Trading Post. Owners are Soan Jacobs and Niekie Eksteen. Also listed on www.oudtshoorn.com
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Felt a little ripped off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Driving through De Rust on previous occasions we thought we'd stop and have a look around the little town. Our first visit was to the Village Trading Post. We had some brunch and proceeded to look around the shop from which we bought various curios and articles. While our brunch was okay and the service quite friendly and pleasant, we learned later after visiting a few shops in other small towns along our trip that the articles we had bought there were wholly overpriced. Some by almost 3x. We bought by our own choice and I understand everyone needs to make a profit but ultimately, it unfortunately left a very sour taste in our mouths. Now having felt ripped off, I certainly won't be visiting this establishment again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not quite what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Travelled through De Rust on our way to the Eastern Cape. My travel companion suggested we stop at the Trading Post for lunch. The menu is interesting with something for all.

I decided on the Coronation chicken. It was very "porridgy" & the chicken was underdone. Service was slightly haphazard. My companion found his meal to be "ok" hence the average rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice little stop on the road less travelled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great little place, with a nice menu and a worthwhile stop in De Rust. It is a nice little place for photographers and people interested in art. It's places like this that make driving/touring the back routes much more fun than sticking to the national highways.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Mixed breakfast around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A breakfast should have a bit of everything and should fill the plate...not be separated by gaps and trimmings...this one has it all, from baked beans to bacon and eggs to hashbrowns! Fill that fork and then amble around in the shop that is filled to the brim with cool old stuff to look at!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great breakfast menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful relaxing atmosphere and friendly owner/chef

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Trading Post also viewed

De Rust, Western Cape
De Rust, Western Cape
 
De Rust, Western Cape
 

Been to Village Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Trading Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.