We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and decadence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beauty and decadence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

All you can expect from a Relais & Chateau retreat - exceptional meals (and endless, including a great high tea!), awesome rooms, large bathrooms with decadent products, excellent service and friendly faces everywhere. I liked the sharp attention to detail everywhere: interesting art, watercolour paints, brushes and paper for the inspired guest in the room, a good selection of books in the library. We went on the Bushman Painting trail - a short drive and walk - and found it really astounding. Our guide was most informative and vast knowledge of plants and birds in the area. The flora is amazing - more than 750 species. Walking really is the way to appreciate this place, and we went on a short (about one and a half hours) circular walk that was lovely.
I do think that this is probably one of the places I've stayed that has offered the best value for money. Very decadent and extremely beautiful - a perfect combination!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    22
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
273
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As usual service excellent and position you can only dream of, when you want to relax from the stress of the world. Rooms are big and very well equipped with everything you need. safaris are interesting and especially in flower season. Meals are plentiful and of good quality - except the lucn packets are putting them to shame.Don't forget - no lunches on day of arrival or departure, therefore full board is out of question.We requested lunch packets, which has been the worst from any hotel I know. One sandwich and 1 apple and fruit juice.If you pay this kind of money you expect more. adice - go for lunch somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

While Bushman's is unlikely to be conveniently located to where you are coming from/going, it is well worth the trip. Gorgeous surroundings and superb staff with impeccable attention to detail make Bushman's a truly unique and outstanding experience. I highly recommend hiking both trails you can do without a guide (we didn't do the 3rd trail to the pools). Note that the Ravine Trail might be a bit more rigorous than the average trail - definitely give yourself time and don't do it if you're not prepared for some scrambling up and down rocks. The views and landscapes are stunning though - I loved this hike.

We stayed in the RP rooms, which include a bedroom, a living room with a very comfortable couch and a fireplace, and an incredible bathroom with huge bathtub and high-pressure shower.

This is not a place you come to for wildlife adventure - they bill themselves, somewhat comically, as being "predator-free." So while you won't be seeing lions, this is one of the few places you can hike around and explore on foot without fear of being eaten by something. And the nature drives are still great - beautiful birds and plants and cape zebra and antelope like elands that you can't find in other areas.

Room Tip: RP1 and RP1, which seem identical, are beautiful options with lots of room and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bushman's Kloof is an exceptional hotel. The team are warm, friendly and efficent staff. The hotel is well hidden in the beautiful Cedarberg mountains. A real chance to relax and find one self. The quality of food was outstanding and attention to detail indescribable. Activities on the lodge are wide and varied , incorporating the history makes it a really interesting stay. Very few hotels will be able to compare to this standard. HIghly recommend this for a truely luxurious and relaxing get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family was fortunate enough to stay at this tranquil gem of a place for two nights. We celebrated a dear friend's 50th birthday and the whole weekend was memorable. The service was professional, friendly and impeccable, but never intrusive. The food was exquisitely prepared and delicious. Although we visited during winter time, the huge fireplaces, outdoor heaters and underfloor heating kept us warm and cosy.
Our children especially enjoyed their night rides (geared with ponchos and hot water bottles) with the ranger, their swimming in the heated swimming pools and being offered hot chocolate drinks with marshmallows whilst watching a DVD on a big screen....sheer indulgence!
I must commend the staff on being extremely helpful and friendly, every single minute of the day.
We relaxed, appreciated the beauty of the Cederberg and had time to enjoy the company of wonderful friends.
We dream to return to this beautiful oasis again soon.

Room Tip: The Niven suite has two rooms and two bathrooms, perfect for two adults and two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked a weekend at Bushman's after hearing so much about the place and we were not disappointed. Wonderful, friendly service, fabulous food and great scenery. It is certainly not a cheap destination but the service is outstanding. We had a wonderful day exploring the reserve on a mountain bike which was very special. Seeing antelope from a bike is very unique. We highly recommend that they build more mountain bike trails and improve the map so that people can explore the roads on the reserve as there is great potential here. We also very much enjoyed the walks to the paintings which were very informative journeys into the lives of the San people. Well done to the team for making it such a special place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were very impressed with the service overall. I found the twin room quite small but it had a great view. The high tea was very tasty as were the evening and breakfast meals. We were presented with olive oil and balsamic vinegar but no bread ever arrived - just a small thing but noticeable. The birthday cake was a lovely surprise and very tasty. Breakfast was good but we both felt that the hot meal was rather sparse even though the variety was very good. All the staff were very attentive.The game drive was good particularly if you like flora - not much fauna to be seen besides some springbok and bontebok. Overall a great experience even if the initial booking phase got off to a 'rocky' start.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Address: Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient landscapes of wind-sculpted sandstone and untamed bush frame this luxury retreat, 270km from Cape Town. Voted ‘Best Hotel in the World 2009’ in the Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, the malaria-free reserve is an ecological oasis for diverse wildlife, and custodian of 130 ancient San rock art sites renowned as one the ‘world’s largest open air art galleries’. Evening nature drives and exhilarating outdoor adventures offset an invigorating wellness focus, featuring an outdoor spa gazebo and spa treatments rooted in nature. Delectable cuisine distinguishes this authentic African wilderness escape, while luxurious accommodation includes Koro Lodge, the child-friendly private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat Hotel Clanwilliam
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve And Wellness Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.