We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cederberg Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cederberg Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time, the greeting, the guide, the trips, rock art, wild life and birds, star gazing, my massage and fishing, the staff, room and food were all exemplary. We both had a great time and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    22
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
273
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the hearty and personal welcome the moment we arrived, our 2 night stay at Bushmans Kloof was nothing short of amazing.....just too short! The staff are all very attentive and go out of their way to introduce themselves and welcome you to their home....and what a home it is! It must surely be one of the most peaceful hotel locations anywhere in the world but there is always something going on - the meals flow seemlessly into one another and are interspersed with really enjoyable drives with your designated and really knowledgeable ranger. The morning drive pays a visit to view the rock art painted by bushmen thousands of years ago, whilst in the evening the focus is on the flora and fauna of the area....not to forget the "sun downer" from a well stocked bar. The evenings were cool so after dinner we enjoyed retiring to our room and lighting the log fire.
During the day, we took the opportunity to walk the "mountain trail" which is a 2 mile circular walk through the mountains....if you thought the hotel was peaceful, you should try this! And finally, we indulged ourselves with a massage in the gazebo with a panoramic view over the wilderness to the sound of the stream running past - a fitting conclusion to a tremendous couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our say and wished we had booked a longer stay. We went to rest and loved the fact that there was no cell reception! We enjoyed our private dinner experience and the spa was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A return visit - this time for four nights - and again, our stay was absolutely phenomenal in each aspect!

The service. The attention to detail. The care to understand your specific needs. All just in one truly amazing package.

To got to BK, is to go into someone's home. You feel welcomed and pampered, all the time. Staff is the best we have experienced at any South African lodge / hotel.

The private dining experience out at Kodoro is a must do, when you go to BK. 12 km's from the main lodge, in the bush, there stands a beautiful stone shepherds house. Here you can expect another amazing dinner, in this room, only lit by hundreds of candles.

The cuisine is simply outstanding at BK and the high tea in the afternoons, an absolute treat!

Spend time at the spa. They have the best hands in the business. Book treatments in the Riverside Gazebo.

Lots to see and do at BK. Only a 30 minute flight from Cape Town International airport by charter carrier, and you are in the most beautiful setting.

We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for Rock Pools 2 (depending on what room you book) or if you are going all out, Riverside Suprem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most astounding experiences and an absolute gem! The staff are all fantastic and their attention to guests' wellbeing and comfort unbelievable. The hotel rooms are breathtaking, the food excellent and the game drives informative and fun. Everyone is kind and caring and the spa treatment among the best in the world. I wanted to keep this diamond hidden but do not think that it would be fair. Go and experience this!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our sixth and best visit to Bushmans Kloof. The tranquility of the Cedarberg mountains, and the opportunity to view rock paintings created a thousand years ago, are just two of the things which make this such a special venue - a place to restore the soul. Plus, the staff, all of them, are marvelous

Room Tip: Choose the Gordon room-you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had no idea that such diverse beauty existed so close to Cape Town. It is so different from the rest of the country's landscape. It reminded me of Utah/California desert. It is absolutely beautiful. There is so much to do at the lodge...relax, eat amazing food, go to the spa, see the cave paintings, go for walks with breath-taking views. The staff go out of their way to make the experience one that you will never forget. Friendly and exceptional service. I will be back!

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but our chalet provided a lot of privacy, nice veranda and stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Address: Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient landscapes of wind-sculpted sandstone and untamed bush frame this luxury retreat, 270km from Cape Town. Voted ‘Best Hotel in the World 2009’ in the Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, the malaria-free reserve is an ecological oasis for diverse wildlife, and custodian of 130 ancient San rock art sites renowned as one the ‘world’s largest open air art galleries’. Evening nature drives and exhilarating outdoor adventures offset an invigorating wellness focus, featuring an outdoor spa gazebo and spa treatments rooted in nature. Delectable cuisine distinguishes this authentic African wilderness escape, while luxurious accommodation includes Koro Lodge, the child-friendly private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat Hotel Clanwilliam
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve And Wellness Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.