We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooked food the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Die Dorpshuis

Die Dorpshuis
4 van Riebeeck street | South Africa, Calitzdorp 6660, South Africa
+(27)442133453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Calitzdorp
Cuisines: African, Grill
Restaurant details
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Home cooked food the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have eaten a few times over the past years at Dorpshuis. My recent visit visit was in February 2014. I can recommend the "Boerekos" (home style food) on the menu. The tomato stew (tamatiebredie) is very good. So if you like this type of food, ask the waiter what is on the menu that day. You might get lucky and get tripe (afval). Don't expect fine dining. Great atmosphere, in winter you can sit inside where a nice fire is kept burning the whole day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good hearty plain fayre, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Six of us enjoyed our meal - roast lamb, curry, lamb chops, nice desserts. Good local wine selection. Friendly service - country style. Not high cuisine, but we had a good time and felt thoroughly satisfied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

After driving around the tiny town, we decided on Die Dorpshuis for lunch. We sat on the veranda opposite the church, and watched the world go by. Inside the restaurant, the furniture and decor is very dated, and while in keeping with the place, was all starting to look shabby. The menu is very limited, but the "line fish" was grilled hake (hake is not a line fish) served with fresh chips, and was ok, but the salad and vegetables which should have been served with the fish did not materialise. I opted for the baked potato with mushroom and cheese sauce, which was also ok, but served on a foil plate. I wouldn't choose to eat there again as there was nothing special to recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and warm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The restaurant itself is a lovely cottage style restaurant with dogs who greet you at the gate. We were there in the winter and the fires burning and the furniture cozy. The food itself was out of this world. We had "tamatiebredie", the best I ever had! The staff is very friendly and knowledgable on a lot of subjects. If you visit Calitzdorp and not visit Die Dorpshuis you have missed the most important place in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calitzdorp, South Africa
1 review
“Sit on the stoep and watch the world go by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Dorpshuis, and love to sit on the stoep, and watch the going on's in the town. Marinda (the owner) has refreshed the restaurant, and it feels clean and organised.

Although not on the menu (and it should), the Route 62 toasted sandwich is fantastic, as are the chips (fresh and crispy). So if you are in Calitzdorp, and are looking for a moments reprieve, make a stop at the Dorpshuis, and enjoy a slow town pass by.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Dorpshuis also viewed

Calitzdorp, Western Cape
 
Calitzdorp, Western Cape
Calitzdorp, Western Cape
 

Been to Die Dorpshuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Dorpshuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.