We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising little gem on Route 62” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrydale Watercourt Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrydale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrydale Watercourt Lodge
11a Tennant Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Surprising little gem on Route 62”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Having been on the road for six hours, all I had wanted was a room for the night. What a lovely surprise! Situated right on Route 62, it might not look like much but pleasantly surprised with size and cleanliness of rooms (stayed in room #2), EXCELLENT food from the little kitchen and .... at last .... the South African hospitality that had been missing whilst I'd crossed the country. Inexpensive and really worth a stayover!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a great find!
Awesome location, scrumptious food, friendly service and a very cool New Year's party! All at a very reasonable price.

The perfect stop to break up your travel along the famous Route 62 in the Klein Karoo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped in Barrydale for the night and were looking for a good place to eat and to spend the night. We found Watercourt and it offered very quiet rooms, excellent service, good food, drinks and most of all some very nice people that really make an effort to help you. We would recommend it for sure.
Marton

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stopped in en route and found the place welcoming and friendly staff. Good value and I would stay again. Food was holesome but plain. Barydale is not an exciting place - but as a stop over in this B&B - we enjoyed it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Lisle-Anne, and throughout our stay she made sure we were always happy! All her staff were very friendly too. Bed was most comfortable and the room very quiet and cosy. We had a lovely weekend and were looked after very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We experienced the most caring and personal service at Watercourt lodge from Lisle-Ann and her family. I am following a gluten free / vegetarian diet and Lisle-Ann provided everything I needed - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very comfortable and on a cold night we had an electric blanket and extra blanket on the beds made up with fresh good quality linen.
We noticed that Lisle-Ann does all the work herself and makes sure her guests have everything they need and want - such personal service is rare. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask Lisle-Ann
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We received such excellent service from Lisle-Ann and Barend, the owners of the Watercourt Lodge. They went absolutely out of their way to make us comfortable. The room, although very simple, was very clean and comfortable. Lisle-Ann is an excellent chef and prepared a meal that was as good as any meal in a top class restaurant. I can definitely recommend staying at The Watercourt Lodge

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barrydale Watercourt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrydale Watercourt Lodge

Address: 11a Tennant Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty lodging in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private world in a beautiful, well appointed, traditional brick local stone work, rural Cape vernacular style building. "A Beautiful Surprise in the Klein Karoo." Well appointed guestrooms with en-suite bathing and shower facilities, clean hot and cold water, fresh crispy linen on international standard beds. Bellafonte Restaurant on site serves all the meals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrydale Watercourt Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barrydale Watercourt Lodge to your Saves list