We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freaky yet amazing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warmwaterberg Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrydale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warmwaterberg Spa
R62, Barrydale 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Freaky yet amazing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the second oldest hot springs resort is South Africa. What makes this resort unique is that much of the original buildings, swimming pools and spas are still in use. Do not expect a modern resort. The purpose of your stay is to experience a historical hot spring.

Although wooden cabins are available I suggest that you book well in advance to stay in the old Sanatorium. The Kitchen converted self-cater unit is the best. Toilets are shared but bathrooms are allocated per room. Bathrooms are not en suite but are NOT shared.

Baths are old sunk cement baths used in hospitals during the 19th century. Its old. Dont expect a modern spa bath-you will be disappointed. Although bathing in the hospital bath feels freaky at first the experience becomes amazing.

The restaurant serves HUGE (VERY HUGE) portions at extremely low prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Warmwaterberg is a beautifull setting. It has a lot of potential, but sadly the owners are not looking after their investment. I have travelled allover and seen interesting places. I have never had the opportunity to stay in such a dirty place. If you want value for your money, do'nt even think of staying here, just stop take pictures and move on.

Room Tip: Can not give tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have been camping and caravaning at Warmwaterberg for many years and although it is very basic it has a charm all of its own with 2 hot water pools and 1 cold water pool. There are peacocks on the property which make it very much a farm sort of atmosphere but the views over the hills and surrounding mountains are amazing. There is a restaurant/coffee shop on site which serves delicious meals and a bar with views that stretch for ever. If you are looking for peace and tranquility and dont mind basic facilities, then this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Warmwaterberg is set in an incredible location. However, the "spa" and accommodation is incredibly basic. Shared bathrooms, old rooms, average cleanliness, and mediocre service. It feels like a very expensive hostel. We suggest continuing on to Outshoorn and staying at one of the Ostrich palaces that's been converted to a B and B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We originally discovered this little Karoo gem about ten years ago and since then we have recommended it often and frequented it ourselves. Our February 2011 visit was the first two nights of a planned three-week long road trip exploring the Route 62 and the Garden Route.

Warmwaterberg Spa is a hot mineral spring situated between Barrydale and Ladismith. The spa offers self-catering accommodation in old farmhouse buildings dating back to the 19th century, timber chalets and some parked caravans. The Lapa has a restaurant offering country fare and a bar. There are three outdoor pools, two hot and one cold. The temperature in the pools varies from 25 to 42 degrees C. For those who would like to explore the vast outdoors, there is a hiking trail on the property as well as drives to nearby mountains and town.

We need to make it very clear that this resort owns the words ‘rustic’ and their affordable pricing should be the very fist clue that you will not be getting warm towel railings and your bed will only be turned down in the evening if you do it yourself.

Surrounded by magnificent landscapes of rolling hills and mountains that turn into watercolor blues and purples in the evenings, the chief experience here is the hot mineral water; this is tested and rated by Swiss labs alongside that of Baden Baden in Germany.

We find Warmwaterberg Spa the ideal place to get away from the 'rat race' and relax in the amazing mineral water. We recommend a minimum of a three day stay if you want to see obvious positive effects of the mineral water on your skin and hair. The accommodation may be rustic but the place has always been clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private Roman Bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed in one of the wooden cottages, it was horrible, for starters there was no hot water to shower with and we were not warned of this, it was very dirty, one would expect a little more for the price that you are paying. The restaurant had the most amazing food and the bar was excellent, but there must be a problem with either the water or something there because everyone had the runs, we had terrible stomach aches and pains, and it was horrible, everyone was puking everywhere.
But it was not the food, It might have been the water.
I would not like to return to that place, me and my husband were really shocked by what we got for that price and we were rudely awoken by the duty manager who was shouting and swearing next door about some people who were rude to him. We noticed him being the duty manager as he was shouting over and over - I am the duty manager and they cant speak to me like that etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Unfortunately our visit to the Spa was not memorable. The Langeberg parked home was dirty and old and not a place where I would want to stay. I am only too pleased that my baby hadn't started crawling yet - it was really dirty! Facilities below average. Table tennis bats terrible, shop - counter service and you can't see what you want. We ended up leaving a day early.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warmwaterberg Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warmwaterberg Spa

Address: R62, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty lodging in Barrydale
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmwaterberg Spa is a hot mineral spring situated between Barrydale and Ladismith on the R62 from Cape Town to Oudtshoorn. The spa offers self catering accommodation in old farm house buildings dating back to the 19th century, timber chalets sleeping 4 – 8 persons and some parked caravans. The kiosk is stocked with basic provisions and the bottle store stocks local wines. The Lapa has a restaurant offering country fare and a bar. There are three outdoor pools, two hot and one cold. The temperature in the pools varies from 25 to 42 degrees C. For those who would like to explore the vast outdoors, there is a hiking trail on the property as well as drives to nearby mountains and town. Here we offer you country hospitality at a slow pace, tranquility, wide open spaces and steaming hot water to restore body, mind and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warmwaterberg Hotel Barrydale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warmwaterberg Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warmwaterberg Spa to your Saves list