We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food,friendly staff and lovely building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jam Tarts

Jam Tarts
Rte 62, Barrydale, South Africa
028 572 1173
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Barrydale
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food,friendly staff and lovely building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I visit South Africa every year and this restaurant is THE place to eat on the R62. It is in Barrydale- a quirky little town half way between Cape Town and Oudtschoorn. We stay in the town on Mondays as we love going for pizza there on Monday evenings and return the next morning for breakfast. The staff are friendly and fun and there is always eclectic music playing. Lunch there is always great - my favourite is chorizo and chickpeas. Make sure that you have your camera with you as the interior of the building has lots of interesting nooks and crannies. I love it and we will back again November.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place for all day breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful place for all day breakfast, lunch or coffee. Excellent service and lovely to sit outside in the sun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never drive past, you will be sorry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We absolutely love the pizzas at the Jam tarts. In fact we drive out of our way to stop over and have a meal. We have been a few times and have never been disappointed, generous portions, lots of flavour, great service and great value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jam and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great varied menu and really quirky fun atmosphere eating in the jam and pickle shop. Great friendly service and the venison stew was amazing. Highly recommended if you go to Barrydale.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun place to make a good lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I were doing tour guide market research this week.

As our usual deli was closed , I followed some trip advisor recommendations on the main R 62

My venison stew was laced with red wine and served with rice and sweet potatoes.

Topped with a good coffee, I was entirely satisfied, as was my partner of 42 years with her bean and meat soup, which was served with a home made olive Ciabatta bread.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam Tarts also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Jam Tarts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jam Tarts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.